Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
32
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2013
Wonderful book ! Fascinating level of detail & great stories within a story. Extremely well crafted story-telling Highly recommended ,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Loved its erudition and unremitting attention to the detritus of living. May not be to everyone's taste -would suit obsessives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
good book. thank you for quick delivering service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2016
Love books then you would love this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
When I started reading this book, I took it to be a parody of a certain kind of tedious French novel. But I realised, regrettably late, that it is not a parody; it is just tedious. I managed to get about five sixths of the way through before abandoning it.

I learned, some time after reading it, that its theme is based on a Greco-Latin square of order 10, discovered by computer search in 1959. Apparently the rooms of the main character's apartment block somehow correspond to the cells of the 10x10 square. I noticed no hint of this in the book. But had I known when I read it, it might have added some interest for me (though not, I imagine, for many readers).
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2000
Spend a few hours in the company of this book and enhance your outlook on life. All Perec's books are worth reading, all differ from one another and from every other book ever written and LAUM is his masterpiece. I hope that's clear.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2003
If this book changes your life there's something wrong. It is a celebration of individuality, no user's manual. Read it, take your time and enjoy... Read between your lines.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
This starts off with breathtaking originality and structure and you think you're in for a treat, but it soon becomes unbearably tedious and weighed down with its immense regard for itself. Horribly pretentious and heavy; what in the early pages seems like a wonderful rubric holding it together is a nasty little device that enmeshes a lot of posturing twattishness and saps the reader's energy.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2001
If the purpose of this book was to document in detail a possible Parisian apartment in order to provide raw data for a simulation then it scores highly. As a story or allegory, it however fails since the bitty nature of the writing can jar and it becomes hard to follow.
An interesting idea (experiment?) which is probably worth leafing through but a long term commitment is required since this isn't a one-sitting book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2007
I managed, showing great fortitude and patience, to read half of this book. However life is too short to waste any more time on what is undoubtedly a well-written but ultimately a novel(?) that is tedious beyond measure. There are a few interesting or amusing anecdotes but also a hundred or more lists of for the most part mundane objects of the kind you will see if you look around the room you are now sitting in. So much care and effort must have gone into this mountain (hill?) of a book but all that has come out of it is a rather dull mouse.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here