Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2015
Perfect fit for the Acer Aspire 5742.
Even the original fascia fitted perfectly to this drive, including the eject button lining up with the switch.
Undo the single screw on the base of the laptop, and slide the old drive out. Remove the two screws that hold the little metal bracket to the end of the drive, and fit it to the new one. Using a flat bladed screwdiver, carefully pop out the fascia from both drives. There is a clip on the side and another under the flat edge on the other side. Clip the old fascia to the new drive, and push the new drive into your laptop. Replace the single screw in the base. Switch on. Windows should take care of the driver by itself, and you should be able to watch those DVDs again. I can't comment on the longevity of this drive yet, but I reckon it will outlast the now old laptop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
This is a much better DVD drive than the one that was installed with my Toshiba laptop. If you are looking for a good dvd drive to replace your old one then i would recommend this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
My Toshiba Satellite laptop DVD drive wasn't working and this replaced it perfectly. Just had to remove the facia on the old one and replace it on this new one. Ideal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Replaced the Toshiba Samsung cd-rom on my Dell OptiPlex 755 small form desktop computer so I can burn cds and dvds. Took minutes to install once I found a small enough screwdriver to refix the bracket. I just measured the old drive to check dimensions were same (pretty standard I think). Windows 7 installed effortlessly. Visually it looks like it was built in, the outer facia exactly same size, and it works beautifully. It's only slightly noisier in operation than the fan in my computer, no issues with that at all. Excellent product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Bought this Pioneer drive to replace a faulty Toshiba/Samsung drive, which sounded like it was choking when trying to read discs and eventually refused to write to disc, It's certainly alot quieter than the Toshiba/Samsung drive, I don't understand how another reviewer is saying it is noisy, to me, it's almost whisper quiet and does not choke at all when it gets going. If anyone is looking a burner to replace the broken factory installed drive, I would recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
burns and reads data at reasonable speeds.
I've moved it to several machines and still going strong.
.
.
.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 March 2016
Bought this as a replacement for a dead drive in an HP laptop. It's installed easily with a little trip round YouTube for things like changing the bezel, which came away cleanly.

The existing bezel from the HP fitted fine, as did the retaining bracket which holds it into the chassis.

Works perfectly; fast and not noisy at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Good price, nice unit, as i have some RAM discs i needed this unit for these. placed it in a external caddy as i'm using it on my iMac, works well. and build date was with in 2 months of the unit delivery. 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Bought to go in a SFF case. Drives fits and works perfectly. Only gripe is that the mounting holes are very small so would have been nice to be supplied with a set of matching screws.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
good little drive, had bought it for a htpc build which was a waste of time so stuck it in an external case which is great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)