Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
37
4.3 out of 5 stars
Reindeer Games [ 2000 ] Uncensored
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ £1.26 shipping


on 4 February 2013
A more apt title would have been roller-coaster games. It's a solid plot with a series of surprising twists, in fact I can't say I have seen a film with more twists in it. Even without the twists, the story is juicy. Hell, they should've just called this film Lemons! Just when you think its become predictable and you have it all figured out, another twist unravels itself to blow your mind again. There are a few chuckles here and there but the whole film is somehow cleverly tinged with an air of comedy. Its full of heart-pumping action and keeps you guessing all the way to the end.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
Also known as Reindeer Games, this film by the late John Frankenheimer received poor reviews when it was first released in 2000. Starring Ben Affleck, Charlize Theron and Gary Sinise with possibly the worst hairstyle ever, it also stars Denis Farina playing a crooked casino owner (does he ever play anything else)?
Initially set in an American prison and them moving to a frozen northern state on Christmas Eve, this is a riveting heist thriller with several twists and turns. Ignore the earlier reviews, watch this film and enjoy. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Right from the get go this Rom-com has all the Rom and all the Com a little alligator like me could ask for, plus more! Deception (or 'Rainman Game' as the call it state-side) is a story of two hopelessly star-struck lovers, just trying to make their way through the snow, in order to make the nearest Santa's Grotto installation before the season ends. The only problem is - a small group of angry, renegade filipinos know something they don't...they are carrying the worlds largest cubic zirconia in their holiday stocking.

The film takes the audience on a roller coaster ride of thrills, chills, laughs and kills. Ben Affleck's performance as Desmond, a down on his luck ex-dancer from Michigan is particularly compelling and makes for a captivating watch. Charlize Theron provides equally memorable moments (one particular scene including a disgustingly diluted bottle of orangeade, six baseballs and a tear in her eye), in which she portrays the sneaky but sexy New York Entomologist, with a hidden passion for euthanasia. Viewers are also blessed by a seemingly cameo from Johnny Marr (guitarist from heavy metal rock band 'The Shins'), and a rare return to the big screen from Kenneth Williams, as mean but lovable jewel-thief henchman.

I strongly recommend this film to a wide range of viewer tastes. Though it is, in basic outline, a Action Thriller, there are many subdivisions, that will leave fans of any genre satisfied.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2001
In this movie Ben Affleck plays Rudy a convict due for release. In a twist of fate Rudy takes his cell mates place in hooking up for the first time with Ashley (Rudy's cell mates pen pal). Everything from here on in is a case of Decieve or Decease! I love action movies and this one is a good one with plenty of action and pretty good acting from a well balenced cast.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
From Start to finish this is full of lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing. I really enjoyed this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2017
I saw this film on TV one night & it was called "Reindeer Games", which I believe was the USA title of the film & here in the UK, it was re-titled "Deception" for some reason.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this film & don't know why everyone seems to be so down on it. It's a good story with a great twist at the end & the lead actors are all good.

Ben Affleck, Charlize Theron & Gary Senise all put in good performances & also too is James Frain, who's becoming one of my favourite actors, as he was great in "The Tudors" asThomas Cromwell & also as Villefort in "The Count Of Monte Christo" & he's good in this film too.

So, ignore all the bad reviews of the film & give it a go, it's actually quite good! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
A minor film by Frankenheimer (Frantic, Manchurian Candidate, French connection 2) but still great, bitter, with good twist and a cinical ending. It deserves a second chance, interesting for being a noir with a snowy setting
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
also known as ... Reindeer Games. I purchased a twin pack with "The Long Kiss Goodnight" at a cheap price years ago. The film "Reindeer Games" was unknown to me at the time but it was well worth watching. Twists and turns galore and a surprise finale. One for the collection!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2006
This film seems to have gone almost un-noticed, not heard of it before but when I saw the cast, I thought it should be pretty good. Also known as Reindeer games on region 1. The story is that a guy released from prisoner meets his cellmates pen friend played by the beautiful Charlize Theron. She has never seen the guy she has been writing to so he decides to be him. However her violent brother turns up wanting to know all about a casino he used to work in so he can rob it! So he now has to bluff what he knows because he has never worked there. There are some good ideas in the story and plot line although it does get a bit twisted towards the end. It has a slight low budget feel to it but overall not bad for a rent but far from a classic. 6/10
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Well made film with some neat twists. Perfect for an alternative Christmas viewing which I'm planning this year along with the likes of Rare Exports, Die Hard, Silent Night, Deadly Night and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)