Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2012
i had the great fortune to go to thula thula in december. i urge anyone who can to go it brings to life these books. lawrence an immensely pasionate and brave man will be sorely missed . this book changes your perception of conservation and makes you realise how difficult it is and how dedicated anyone who is involved is. a brilliant book which i could not put down . praise for graham spence.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
This is another very compelling story by Lawrence Anthony (with Graham Spence). His first book, 'The Elephant Whisperer' was an amazing account of how he acquired Thula Thula his private reserve in Kwa Zulu Natal and helped a herd of rogue elephants recover from their traumas. The Elephant Whisperer: Learning About Life, Loyalty and Freedom From a Remarkable Herd of Elephants

African rhinos are the victims of mass murder by ever more sophisticated and well financed poachers who gain untold wealth from the new rich in east Asia fuelled by the superstitious nonsense they espouse about the magical effect of rhino horn.

In 'The Last Rhinos' Lawrence Anthony has periods of recuperation in the restorative environment of Thula Thula but the main storyline of the book is worked out in North East Congo and Juba, the capital of Southern Sudan. That's because the last rhinos of the story are the final remnant of the northern white rhino species which are isolated and waiting a poacher's bullet in a nominal reserve in Northern Congo. That reserve happens to be home to other 'wildlife' in the form of the military command and foot soldiers of the Lord's Resistance Army who have been engaged in a savage war with the Ugandan army for 20 years or more.

In his effort to rescue the last remaining rhinos, Lawrence Anthony is drawn into the role of 'Godfather of Peace' for the LRA in the efforts to bring about a peace settlement between them and the Ugandan government. It is a remarkable account of how he became a trusted intermediary between the LRA and the outside world and is tasked by them to get the message across that they really want peace and to return home in peace to Uganda. First he meets their political leaders forming the delegation attending peace talks in Juba. He gains their confidence and support for protection of the rhinos in the region they occupy. That leads to a difficult and dangerous journey to meet with the military leaders in the jungle of northern Congo.

It seems incredible that any conservationist should find himself in this role, meeting alone with a group remowned for their barbaric warmongering. It would be wrong to say that he paints a sympathetic picture of the people he meets but he does believe that they are war weary and want it to end, though on the basis of African justice.

In the end the forces of militarism on both sides win out over the attempt at peace. You will find out what happens to the isolated population of rhinos when you read the book. It ends with a happy picture of two orphaned baby rhinos introduced into Thula Thula and some little hope for tomorrow.

Sadly, before this book was published, Lawrence Anthony died in March 2012 following a heart attack. His voice for conservation of the rhino and elephant is now silent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I simply couldn't put this book down. I have read Lawrence Anthony's previous books and knew this would be exciting - I just never knew how much! This brave man did what no other person would do, go into the jungle in DRC to talk and negotiate with some of the most wanted men on the planet to try and save a species. I can't think of a more selfless act.

RIP Lawrence Anthony - he is an inspiration to many.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
One of the best written books on the Conservation struggle I have read. It provides a very good insight to the struggle we face in trying to protect wildlife in Africa for future generations. The apathy and lack of political vision motivated by greed and power are potentially creating a barren wildlife wasteland such as now exists in many other countries. Lawrence Anthony Graham Spence collaborate very well together and make for a compelling read. A book all politicians and adolescent school goers should read. Sean Kelly
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
I really do not know what to say about Lawrence's book. I feel like I know the man, I wish I did. His three amazing stories show how wonderful and how terrible humans are. Lawrence is a guy that the World needs more of and hopefully his legacy and his mission now continues to go from strength to strength. This book is an unbelievable story of courage, determination and suffering. His other two books - Babylon's Ark and The Elephant Whisperer are equally as beautiful. I don't really know what to say. The man was, is, a legend. If I had more money I would invest it in anti poaching measures but I don't, so I can't. All I can do is raise awareness and make people become interested and make people read these books. Somone somewhere needs to stop the likes of China and Vietnam poaching. They have already made the Northern White Rhino extinct in the wild which is truely sad and shocking. My hope lies with Prince William and the charity 'Tusk' who have Beckham and the Chinese superstar basketball player Yao Ming as ambassadors. Yao Ming has an incredibly important role to spread the word around his country that ivory from elephants and rhino have absolutely NO magical healing powers. I only hope that he realises the sclae of his task and the impact he could have in saving the animals that we take for granted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
"The Last Rhinos" written by Laurence Anthony,a man with a great love and passion for all wild life is sending a message to all peoples that if we don,t stop the illegal trade of ivory and Rhino horn then these magnificent beasts will be extinct in a very short time and other species will follow.
"The Last Rhinos" is written with a great deal of empathy and understanding of the animals in the park, as shown in the relationship between the author Laurence Anthony and "Nana" the elephant, brought into the park when orphaned by poachers who killed her mother for her ivory tusks. Nana was then fostered by the team at Thula Thula Park until she was able to be returned to the wild. Nana showed that she had not forgotten him by coming to say "Hello" whenever she caught his scent.
Although this is a serious subject and there are many dangerous incidents, it is told with humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
The late Lawrence Anthony has written this book with grace, passion, knowledge and guts. I was more than surprised to read about his dealings with the LRA to such extent and fascinated by the story of what red tape he had to go through within African Government and African Parks just to try a save the Rhinos. Lawrence writes his story through humble eyes but with a edge of passion that puts into perspective how important the conservation issues are to him but should be to the world. I learned a great deal through this book about the Rhino issue and of all the key players involved in it's conservation and poaching. Lawrence doesn't sugar coat anything for the read as that helps no-one and I only wish i had read it sooner so that i could have contacted him before his passing. what a great loss to the conservation world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
I have all the books of Lawrence Anthony.
They are fascinating to read.
What a miss he is to conservation. He did so many brave things and got things done that not many people would be able to
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
This book is about a man who is passionate about animal conservation and his love for Africa. His previous book "The Elephant Whisperer" was far more localised to his Safari Lodge experience in Kwa Zulu Natal, whereas,this book "The Last Rhino" ties politics into how animals and animal conservation are affected. It is done really well with very personal experiences highlighting the issues that the author is passionate about. Written with passion and humour, the author's "larger than life" personality comes through. A "can do" person - who really loves what he does for a living, Lawrence makes the reader aware of the agony and the beauty of living in Africa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Yhis authors excellent book is badly produced by an incompetent publisher as there is no table of contents,no index, no list of abbreviatons but critically no maps which are esseential for a proper understanding of the issues.
The story discuses the authore failed attempt to save the northern white rhino because of petty feuding between conservation groups but amazingly he enlisted the help of the Lords Resistance Army but by this time it was too late as the northern white rhino had become extinct in the wild.
Very vwell told with fascinating stories of anmal behaviour.
A highly recommended book even with its deficiencies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)