Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Worms Collection (PS3)
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£129.00


VINE VOICEon 30 September 2012
Worms Collection contains three great worms games on one disc. You get the best of both worlds with Worms and Worms 2 Armageddon featuring the classic 2D game play and then you get the fantastic Worms Ultimate Mayhem which is in 3D.

Worms, a remake of the original game and Worms 2: Armageddon, the 2009 sequel to the worms remake are basically the classic 2D style turn based worms games in full HD with beautiful visuals, sound effects and all of those classic weapons.

Worms Ultimate Mayhem is basically a HD port of the fantastic PS2 game Worms 4 Mayhem and consists of all of the same features plus the campaign mode from the first 3D game Worms 3D. For me worms Ultimate Mayhem is the rue selling point of this collection, with the game play simply being fantastic especially with friends.

A must have for old and gamers new to the series. You'll be hooked.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
Playing this with friends today is the same as playing when the games were originally released. From the varying battle plans between players, the manipulation attempts to draw attention to your rivals instead of your own team, and the guaranteed ridicule when you mess up your shot and damage yourself more than the others. Thankfully the developers have decided not to 'improve' this game by trying to modernise it, this is one classic that's better left alone. The only thing missing from the originals is a few mediocre weapons.

Worms 2: Armageddon is the best of the 3 games with the original Worms close behind. The only let down of the package is Worms: Mayhem (awkward controls and navigation) but the 6 free DLC packs more than compensate for this.

All 3 games allow you to earn coins by progressing through Campaign Mode in order to unlock items from the shop to customise your team but in my opinion the est way to play any of the games is to get a few friends round or play online.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
It's great to be able to play these classic games on a newer system, and they have ported over well, with no problems that I've spotted, plus your achievements are viewable over PSN, which is a nice touch, and you can play against others (although I've not tested this yet so not sure how fast/reliable it is).

The only thing to note is that all the extra DLC referred to is already built in to the game, and includes things like hats and voices, rather than any of the additional DLC that you can see in the PSN store. I found that very confusing at first as there's no mention in the booklet of what the extras are, and had assumed there would be a code for downloads from the store, but that's not the case.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Fantastic edition to the franchise hours of fun and playability and really good value as each game comes with all DLC installed and each game has it's own individual trophy set . An absolutely essential buy to any worms fan!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
Purchased this for the PS3

Worms, and Worms 2 Armageddon are great party games, and having them on disc is fantastic.

Worms Ultimate Mayhem (aka the 3D worms) is a mess, framerate is atrocious, game is almost unplayable as a result, not worth your time.

There are 2 Worms collections for the PS3, the other has Worms 2 Armageddon and Worms Revolution, however Worms Revolution also suffers from the same framerate problems as Worms Ultimate Mayhem making this one the more worthwhile of the 2 packages to purchase, as you're not only getting Worms and Worms 2 Armageddon, but you're also getting more DLC than the Worms Revolution Collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I was honestly a little hesitant about buying this on-line, let alone from "across the pond". But my boy loves the game so I thought it was worth the investment. The game and shipping costs together were extremely reasonable, it was shipped very quickly and arrived in plenty of time for Santa to deliver it. The game was in perfect shape, basically just missing the factory wrapping. Wish I could give more than just 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Very nice game, lot's of fun for parties for ex. My sister's kid visiting me again next weekend and we're planning to have "tournament" again. Loads of fun for the whole family and easy to learn. We mainly play the original one as the 3d version is too hard for us "grown ups"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
A bundle of the classic old Worms games on a new platform; ideal if you're a fan of the original games, and fun to learn if you're new to it. A game of strategy, surrealism and downright cartoonish violence... great for kids and adults alike!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
A series of games everyone who was growing up during the nineties/early noughties loves. There are few things more fun than a well place Holy Hand Grenade or Banana Bomb. Only downside is you have to install it (~0.5 Gb iirc). Great fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
I've always been a fan of worms, but this collection of games has to be the best! The classic version, as always is great to the 3d version, which takes some getting used to but it's wicked!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)