Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 30 October 2011
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It is the true story of a horse Warrior and his friend Jack Seely and their adventures together. It is a beautifully written book about a time and way of life which does no longer exist. I would say read it and weep - in the sense of the bond between Warrior and Jack and the empathy between them and also for the story of Cinderella (Warrior's mother). I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone horsey inclined or not.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Very special account of a very special horse written by the man who bred him. Humbling to think how Warrior and other animals gave comfort and courage to men fighting in such appalling conditions. I am so lucky that I was born after both world wars and my family was saved from the devastation experienced by so many families.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Anyone who is close to horses and has had a horse that will go the extra mile for them will be able to identify with this book. It is written in a straightforward manner and personally, I don't agree with the editor's view that this original text is dated. I think that Sealy comes across as modest, not bombastic. He attributes the heroism and success of the key cavalry charge, not to himself, but to his horse.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Great story. Bought this as a birthday gift for my friend. She is very pleased with it, being a horse lover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
I really enjoyed this book. A wonderful account of a true soldier and his relationship with the amazing horse Warrior. It is simply written, obviously not by a professional writer but makes wonderful reading giving a true insight to conditions in the First World War.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
The book received was in mint condition and tells the unique story of the original `War-Horse' depicted in the film made about the same courageous horse `Warrior based on the account written by the talented children`s author Michael Murpurgo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
It's a long time since I've read a non-fiction book that is so completely unputdownable. 'Warrior' is first-hand WW1 history but is so much more than that. It is an incredible account of a man and his horse's experiences on the battlefields of 1914-18 and their against-all-the-odds survival. General Jack Seely writes in a down-to-earth but moving way of the many incidents that made his horse, Warrior, a legend in the trenches. The sensitive illustrations are by the renowned artist, Sir Alfred Munnings who had a huge respect for Warrior. Many accounts of war horses are sad and depressing but this one is not. Warrior's courage, intelligence and his close relationship with Seely, plus at times unbelievable luck, enable their survival and return to the Isle of Wight at the end of the war. This is my favourite book of the year. A 5 star strong buy.
0Comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2017
not as good as the book written by his grandson. Lacks some detail. An extraordinary story nevertheless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Brilliant read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
This was an amazing horse truly loved by its owner and I am sure by those who have read about it .It was a loyal and true friend to Jack Seely during and after the war.He was saddened by it's death as iwas even after so long
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse