Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
187
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2013
History and humanity. Loved the descriptions and insight into a way of life that no longer exists. I would thoroughly recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
I thought I might have been disappointed when I realised this wasn't a novel and I had bought it erroneously, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I enjoyed this very much. It was not all Dancing and romance, disease and death was not far away/ Such snobbery I could not believe it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
This was requested and bought for a friend. As far as I know she likes it. Delivered in perfect condition and on time. Thank you again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Fascinating subject with obviously huge amount of research, but it read rather like a list and the stories did not flow one to another.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
Anne de Courcy's social histories are always impeccably researched and most readable. I became completely immersed in British India.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Very interesting historical background, I have learnt and now understand the life my family had in India in the early 20th century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Interesting times for the ladies who made up the Fishing Fleet ,well researched and the times are brought to life in a vivid way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
If you like India and want to know more then this is for you. An amazing and interseting insight into the workings of the Raj
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
An excellent read, and a great window into life at the time of the Raj.This was an important time for many British families.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)