Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2013
First watched this on the tv as part of the 100 year aniversary era. So many things were shown on the tele that this one wasnt really that well advertised to begin with. (but it should have been!).
The director really brought this untold story alive. Completely detached from the 'whats happening on board' theme as many other films and documentaries have done, this is set inside the hull and the various parts of machinery used to run the Titanic, were all the workers desperately try to stop the ever rising water through the time of the collision.
It's brilliant to watch with great actors to fill the roles of some memorabal charcaters from the ships crew.
Its part movie / part documentary based.
Learnt some things i never knew of the Titanic story, which really opened my eyes!
All i can say is that i was haunted by this after watching.
Pure Gold!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
This informative fact based film is ideal for the viewer who wants to enjoy a flowing well directed adaptation. Liam Neeson provides perfect narration as his Northern Irish brogue adds to the realism of the film. Saving the Titanic is a great alternative for anyone who has an interest in the Titanic but could do without the fictional drama that permeates other Titanic movies.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
I've been a titanic buff for a very long time now and thought i new near enough everything about it, but this film covers a subject not really covered in many films documentarys or books. It concentrates on the engineers and the bravery they showed keeping the boat alive and giving precious time to ensure the survival of over 700 people. It is well acted the settings are very realistic and the narration by Liam Cunningham is extremeley informative.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
If you want to watch something a little different on the Titanic story that has not been "rehashed" over and over again, this may very well be for you. It is a poignant story about the brave & "nameless" men who worked in the "bowels" of the ship right up until the time the Titanic foundered. Not one engineer survived to tell his side of the story, they stayed at their posts till the very end so others would stand a chance of survival. It is to their credit the lights on the Titanic stayed on till just before the Titanic plunged to her icy grave, with power to the very end Jack Phillips & Harold McBride, the Marconi operators, were able to send out distress calls to attract nearby ships and to keep the Carpathia updated on their plight as she rushed to their aid. Along with the help of the firemen & trimmers, the engineers managed to keep the pumps working effectively to keep the ship afloat longer than expected.Highly recommended DVD for people who like more quality & "substance" in their viewing of the Titanic story.
(edited to remove statement made that the welin davits needed power to operate; thank you Mr S. Frost for bringing error to my attention)
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Missed this when it was on ITV1 due to being ill with a heart attack, it certainly is different from most TITANIC fodder stories, according to my family who watched it with me(poor them having to watch it again!!) the DVD version is much better as they swear they have puts scenes in that did not appear on ITV1 aired version!!, they also say the episode lengths are slightly longer in build, I only have their say so as I was else where at the time!!, I am impressed so far with the DVD collection that I have watched so far I may do another review at a later date when I have watched more of the DVD's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
A must for anybody that needs to see the tremendous courage shown by members of the downstairs crew of this manificent ship. The men who did not shirk their duties, knowing full well they are about to die, to ensure that others may live.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
I thought I'll buy this because everyone knows what happened while the ship was sinking a.k.a. lifeboats being loaded half full, band playin etc but I don't think many people remember how the ship was working which was down to these hard working men which is why I bought it - to learn more about them and so they wern't left out! Glad I did it was really good. I questioned the scene of the men climbing up the funnell though as I'm pretty sure that funnel was for steam and fumes from other places and materials but I suppose we can never know the truth on some things. Other than that brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
After watching other films in regard to the Titanic disaster. It is is nice to watch a film that deals with the actual people who kept the ship afloat for as long as possible before it went down.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
shown on c5or c4 in april 2012 tells of the struggle
by the engineers , stockers , electricians etc
to save the ship, many films tell you of the rich ,
and the officers and the passengers who died , but the
but little is said of the forgotten heros downbelow

Titanic - Saving the Titanic [DVD]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
The story of the engineers who worked tirelessly to keep the electric power running as the Titanic sank. Their selfless actions kept the lights on and the electric lifeboat winches operational to facilitate the survival of others.

I was glued to my t.v, brilliant :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)