Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 8 July 2017
My introduction to the Feelgoods was via singles collection. If that was a paddle then this is a full-on dive into the band's early years with Wilko Johnson.

So what do you get? 2 CDs containing the band's first 4 albums, 1 CD of b-sides, outakes, etc and 1 DVD of live performances culled from regional TV and in concert. Oh, and if you get the Dutch import you also get a bizarre full-on legal 'parental guidance' insert!

This is a superb collection which puts most other 'archival' collections to shame. The DVD alone is worth the price of admission and you can actually see the passion, sweat, menace and sheer spirit which you only hear on record.

Do yourself a favour and go get it!
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2017
Excellent package of 3 discs and one DVD and great little booklet about the band. Discs 1 and 2 contain 4 albums - the contents of which you can read in other reviews here. Disc 3 is a kind of odds and sods affair possibly for completists only but does contain one or two gems. The DVD is brilliant and captures the raw energy of the band live. Yes, there too many repeats of certain songs but to be fair we are really lucky to have any footage of this wonderful band so we should cherish it. I went to see them live a few times and those gigs are etched in my memory (may they never diminish).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2013
Ah, those were the days, my friend! Hastings Pier Ballroom's bouncy floor giving that vital extra spring to our heels as we boogied on down to the electrifying sound of Dr. Feelgood. Lee Brilleaux growled into the microphone, occasionally slashing a barbed harmonica across it, cutting through the thundering rhythm of bass and drums. And then there was Wilko, taking Chuck Berry's duck-walk and turning it into an armed assault course as he rocketed across the stage, one arm flailing wildly but purposefully at the strings of a guitar that seemed to be welded to his other arm, part of his angular, jerky body. They made a style out of having no style. Charity shop suits and boots ... cheap'n'sharp. The music was similarly unfussy, two-minute R'n'B anthems, some cover versions, many written by Wilko, with no way the uninitiated could tell one from the other. Simple, uncluttered by excessive solos, explanations or other muckin' about. They came onstage, got their heads down and, armed with no more than drums, bass, guitar and vocals, made us all feel five times more alive! I miss 'em. They were great.
The Feelgoods themselves were reputedly never too happy with the sound that made it onto their albums. The rest of us wonder why not, since they still sound amazingly good. 'I Don't Mind,' 'Back in the Night,' 'All Through the City,' 'Hog for you Baby'... they're all here and lots more besides. All the studio albums with Wilko, plus the live stuff, plus the extras and out-takes. Brilliant, brilliant stuff. You can keep your rap, your boy bands and your prog rockers. Gimme the Feelgoods any day.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2013
This is a no brain essential buy for anyone who has even the vaguest interest in Dr Feelgood during Wilkos tenure with them.

The audio part collects all of the essential album and single material together in superb quality remastered sound, along with a good dose of live stuff that really captures the raw essence and sweat of a Feelgood gig.

The DVD is just pure gold. Seeing the band in action is an unalloyed pleasure. Lee Brilleaux looks like he is ready to explode, menacing and strutting around giving 110%. Wilko looks like he is possessed with a manic energy that dare not be interfered with.

An absolute essential purchase.
33 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2013
The only reason I have given this 5 stars is because I can't give it six!

A superb set and great value for money. You get the first four Feelgood albums in their entirety, plus a CD full of demos and live tracks, including the original doo-wop version of Roxette which I had never heard before. On top of that there is a DVD with clips from TV shows and the same 1975 footage of their Kursaal concert that is on the Going Back Home DVD. Some of the clips have been seen before many times on music documentaries, but usually they are cut short or have loads of captions all over them, and it is always the same couple of clips. Here you also get the ones that are not usually shown.

On top of all that there is a booklet with the usual photos and track listings, plus a lot of words from Wilko himself about the history of the band and the story behind a lot of the extra tracks. It really helps to be able to read about a particular session and then listen to the results of the session.

I already have the Going Back Home DVD and a couple of the LPs on CD and this is still good value for me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2014
Saw Dr Feelgood live many times mesmerised by Wilko looking like a psychotic insurance salesman with his black Telecaster and HH Combo chopping away like a maniac, Lee Brilleaux playing lewdly with his microphone and adding a bit of slide guitar here and there, Sparko rolling on his back while playing his bass guitar and the Big Figure being Big. Somehow I didn't buy a Dr Feelgood album until Private Practice was released in 1978 by which time Gypie Mayo had become guitarist after Wilko left.

Now I've found this fantastic package and perfectly for me all the albums with Wilko presented in chronological order and not 'mixed up or selected by a fan'. Plus the extra tracks and DVD.

One of the best live bands I've ever seen and I will always remember the controlled chaos as these characters did their thing, funny riveting and powerful.

Bargain price too. Thanks Wilko and the band.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2014
What an excellent value box set this is covers all the Doctors LPs/Albums and a DVD thrown in with lots of great performances and unreleased stuff. Nice booklet full of info too. Fits nicely in my CD case too unlike some box sets which are too large. It would have been nicer to have the original sleeves and one album to one disc instead of just chucking 2 albums onto one disc but am sure some will like this idea but I grew up with this band seeing them live and buying the LPs. I love the idea of having them all in one place though. Not one bad track here at all, all gems and great stuff if you like Rock and Roll or R&B. What a band they were. RIP Lee
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2013
I suppose it will only be when the music world laments the passing of the unique Wilko Johnson that the long-overdue recognition of Dr Feelgood will be accorded them. If anyone wants creative music with a simople premise, the nlisten no further. This album will appeal to those who want something to remember a great band by and that offers a complete retrospective. Stupidity is a fantastic live album, you can almost feel the intensity and the sweat of the band. Sadly, the live performances captured on the DVD do not do justice to the bands presence - though there are performances that show you haw good they wre live. It's not the fault of the band, they were just a little before technology advanced. Having seen Wilko and Dr Feelgood in performance on stage, I don't think anything will replicate the astonishing sesnsation of watching them live; this is about as close as it gets. Treat yourself to guitar music before punk came along, as Dr Feelgood were the forerunners of the punk musical style with their aggression, straightforward lyrics about reflections on everyday young working people going about their lives and hoping for a good time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 June 2012
All you need from the original, definitive, and by far the best Dr Feelgood incarnation (i.e. before the departure of guitarist and force of nature Wilko) is here in this fantastic and obviously lovingly compiled set. The Feelgoods took classic R'n'B and added aggression and pace and made what was effectively UK's most influential stunning proto-punk which still sounds staggering nearly 40 years later.

All four Wilko-era albums are included in remastered form, 2 on each of the first two CDs, with track listings as per the original vinyl release. Things like bonus singles originally included in the LPs are contained in the 3rd CD of B sides and (more interesting for the Feelgood collector) unreleased tracks. The DVD contains both studio-bound performances in front of polite audiences as well as, in complete contrast, sweaty and riotous gig footage.

The set itself comes in the form of a hard-backed book containing original press clippings and PR shots of the Feelgoods, a lengthy piece on the band by Hugo Williams in the New Review of 1975, a Dr Feelgood comic (Tales of the Feelgoods) and the 2011 recollections of Wilko himself.

Highly recommended, both for the music and the package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2013
Bought this to replace old vinyl copies of Down By The Jetty and Malpractice which I've always thought had a "mushy" sound that has been considerably improved with this remaster. CD2 has the peerless live Stupidity album with Sneakin' Suspicion, which I'd not heard before - not the greatest but a nice footnote to the Wilko era. CD3 is a pile of out-takes and live recordings which certainly include some gems. The DVD I haven't yet watched so cannot comment.
All in all an excellent value collection and heartily recommended. Very sad to read (in Mojo Sep 2013) that Wilko has contracted terminal cancer - his guitar playing was always exciting with bite and attack, making mid-70s Feelgoods peerless in the pre-punk era and beyond. For anyone who loves this, I'd also recommend the "Live at the BBC" set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)