Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars
25
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2013
If you read the manufacturer's description of the movie, you know it is going to be bad. The question is the degree of bad, and does it make for a decent zombie film? Derek Miller (Jasen Wade) is a conspiracy buff who goes to Afghanistan to kill Osama bin Laden because he believes he is still alive. His sister Dusty (Eve Mauro) takes off after him. In all of Afghanistan they manage to both meet up with the same special forces unit killing zombies. One of which is a cute blond named "Tomboy" (Danielle Chuchran) who shoots zombies and lops their heads off with her sword while wearing a ponytail. They are the front line against a world zombie infestation. There is a scene which describes the zombie creation, i.e. "acute biological mutations".

That is pretty much the entire film, hunting and killing zombies. Some of the zombies are fast moving, while others are leg "drag-ers". There is no consistency. While they are supposed to require head shots, some fall down from a sword to the chest. The special effects are CG: helicopters, gun fire, blood splatter, and even the camp fire. The zombie make-up was decent. The plot could have used a little more variation. The dialouge was solid "B" grade which included a series of bad, somewhat politically incorrect old jokes. I used the punch line from one of the jokes as my title. The Afghans speak in Arabic and the film uses subtitles in case you forgot what "Allahu akbar" means.

No sex, nudity or F-bombs that I recall, just some good old fashion blood splatter. Don't spend too much.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
It's well worth the .32 pence plus postage that I paid for it. Osombie is not anywhere near as bad as you would imagine. Certainly not in the 'so bad i's good' category. Battle Earth is just about watchable. It is Canadian and looks a bit like thise films that re-enactors make to show off their stuff. The other film I did not get past the titles before giving up on it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
ozombie starts out reasonably fresh as a zombie movie.... but quickly loses the plot! fun after a couple o' beers though.
battle earth did absolutely nothing for me. poor special effects, characters that i didn't have any reason to care about, waste of beer.
haven't watched hiroken yet, but not expecting any cinematic genius...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2016
Do not waste your time or money on this. It is actually funny when it is not even meant to be that is how bad it is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Pure entertainment! And I thought Germans made the 'best' zombie movies, I laughed, I cried (with laughter), I drank, I ate jelly babies- if only they would make Dead and loathing in Las Vegas as a movie, my collection would be complete! Seriousness is not an option.PS. I love bad Zombie movies, this does not under any circumstances include the ghosts of Sherwood!! Guys DON'T do it!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
You'd think a film about a zombie Bin Laden would be a really good horror-comedy. Weirdly though, they're playing it straight and as a consequence it doesn't entertain as much as it could have.

It's a watch, but there's nothing to make it worth repeat viewings.

I found my tolerance for the film disappear at around the half hour mark when one of the characters tells a story of why her brother is in Afghanistan and we find out that he was a fire-fighter and was off sick when 9-11 happened. His friends died and he doesn't believe that Bin-Laden is really dead and has now made it his personal mission to kill him.
In a comedy, that daft plot idea might have worked but when it is being taken seriously, it just comes across as extremely stupid.

The characters spout off some stories about their past but to be honest I couldn't care less. I mean, why should I care about some guy having problems with his wife or whatever? It has no real bearing on anything and just feels like filler to pass a few minutes.

The zombies themselves look ok but aren't anything special and there are some weird moments with the cgi blood that sprays out whenever they are shot. Sometimes it seems to drift lazily into the sky before disappearing like a blood version of a dandelion clock.

The film feels like an above average syfy channel movie but just doesn't really stand out in any way. The soldiers have the uncanny ability to be in combat against the undead and humans but generally look surprisingly dirt free and shower fresh.

Oh and as for the Osama zombie, well it probably gets about 30 seconds of screen time at the beginning and end and just ends up as a missed opportunity.

This should've been like Dead Snow, only set in a desert or better yet, it should have been an over-the-top Troma movie but in the end they've taken a good idea and made it mediocre.

Still it is watchable, it's just a shame that it didn't do anything to warrant a purchase.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
crazy films but fun
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
So bad it was funny in some places but still good value for money even though not good fils
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Cheap B-movie. Worth a buy if you're into that sort of thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
Thank you recieved quickly and as described. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)