Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 9 December 2012
If you're looking for an inexpensive television that has good visuals and options to tweak it to your liking and you don't suffer from hearing issues (I'll go into this more in a moment) then this is a fairly good pick.

Pros: The energy rating is very good and generates very little heat, if you were to put your hand on the back of the television you'd barely feel any warmth - that's how good it is.

Has it's own freeview hd box built in and dvd bay too.

This tv has a large selection of input devices that can be used for you including a SCART, one AV placed on the side, two HDMI ports and VGA for the connection of a computer.

Potential for the televisions firmware to be updated in the future. However this model currently does not show up on the Toshiba website (at the time of writing this).

It's light, thin and when you get it you make think it's rather small but bear in mind it's borders quite slim giving it the illusion it is small.

The remote is simple and easy to understand.

The freeview box signal strength is rather good, at least compared to my old Alba one.

Not overly complicated to set up.


The majority of my annoyances i have think this television is down to it's firmware.

The reaction speed of commands like changing the channel or going through options can be terribly slow so you must be patient with it.

It's lousy at picking up the remote's infra red signals.

There's a idle timer set to 4 hours as a factory default - this can be turned off (it took me ages to find it though (menu->settings->other settings->auto tv off)), which can be quite annoying if you intend to use this display for a computer monitor as well.

It can be pretty damn lazy at picking up input channels. At times I've left my computer on, switch over to watch a bit of television and then switch back to HDMI2 only to find it won't actually recognised the signal, even replugging the HDMI wires won't refresh it!

The speakers are tiny! As i said earlier if you do suffer from hearing difficulties then you will either need to get some exterior speakers or look for an alternative tv because these will not suffice. They produce very little bass as well.

Make sure you position the television at a level so it is at the same height of your eyes, because this is a LCD display if you have it higher than when you're sitting you will find the display won't offer you the correct brightness or colour depth as it should.

Conclusion: If you're looking for a simple inexpensive tv for it's basic functions that's lightweight and thin, and won't be set up in a particularly noisy environment then this is a good option.
44 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2012
I ordered this on behalf of my Mum ... The delivery (with prime) was as expected, on time and with a polite & helpful driver who carried the box indoors for her. The TV itself is excellent value, it's smart looking, easy & straightforward to set up, it took me around 10 minutes to unpack, screw on the stand and tune it in. I was able to leave her happy with a TV with a very clear and true to colour picture quality. The DVD player is located towards the top of the left hand side of the TV and is responsive and she's not experienced any problems. The remote has enough buttons without having too many that are little used, and the buttons are clear & easy to press. The sound quality is also very, very good it has a good range (a must for elderly ears so I'm told !!) Satisfied Mum / Satisfied customers :)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2013
I was at first sceptical when I ordered this model for its sounds. Many of my friends have purchased TV's from various manufacturers in the last few months and the sound system was tinny and high pitched. I can not say that about the Toshiba.

The sound is rounded and full and required no further adjustment from me at all. The picture is very clear and crisp, but I needed to adjust the screen to Dynamic, tweaked a little to suit my eye sight and switch on backlt. The reason for this is that it is only HD ready and not truly backlit. This means it runs mainly on 780 instead of the 1020. It will run on 1020 if the TV program or DVD is sending out on 1020, otherwise

I wanted the TV with the build in DVD, but there is a 26" Toshiba available which is full HD and Backlit. If one does not need a DVD with the TV than go and buy the full HD backlit version, as the picture will be superior.

Overall I am very happy with the model, in particular as they have deployed a decent sound system with this TV.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2012
The strange thing about this TV is that it is described everywhere as an LED TV. Everywhere except the packaging and TV information label that is. It is actually an LCD TV according to this information. It is all very confusing to be honest!
That apart, this television has a perfectly acceptable picture and sound. If, like me, you are buying this TV as a second or third TV, chances are you won't be using it in your main living area so do you really need outstanding cinema style output? Probably not. Mine is going to replace an old analogue TV so there is a marked increase in quality over that one!
Whether it is LED or LCD, one of the main selling points must surely be the power consumption. At only 29W it is less than my old 19 inch analogue TV/DVD Combo. If you are looking to reduce your carbon footprint, this TV is "A" rated and will take a small chunk from your electricity bill.
As ever, Amazon delivery and customer service are second to none.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2013
Very pleased with this replacement for an old tv with separate dvd player. Very clear picture and my daughter is delighted with the ease of playing the dvd's (she has learning difficulties so this is a great big plus for her). Swift delivery and up to the usual quality of Toshiba.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2013
very nice tv bought this model for sound as have hearing problems and not disappointed
very sharp bright picture,easy to setup sound for a flat screen is very good.one small criticism
the remote could be larger as the buttons and writing are very small,
will be using this in dining room in winter and caravan touring round all summer
so hope it stands up to the frequent moving. only problem is the EPG which is nearly unreadable being grey writing
which is very dim why this is so i do not know but can not be changed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2012
I purchased this tv for the bedroom. I read the reviews which stated, great tv, pity about the sound. The reviews were spot on. It is a great tv easy to set up and function. The picture quality is SUPERB. Unfortunately the sound is quite poor, very tinny. Adjusting the settings does help, but I just think for this price Toshiba should have put a bit more into the sound. However it is only for the bedroom and with adjusting the sound settings it has helped and I will be keeping the tv. Again the picture is brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2012
Unfortunately this TV which was bought as a secondary for the bedroom has proved quite disappointing.The EPG programme guide is virtually unreadable because of colouring, background black and lettering faint on dark blue colour. Also programmes that show night scenes where the background is dark are not very clear or sharp and when retuning this TV I have found that I have lost some programmes that I could receive with my previous Toshiba TV that I had in the bedroom ie, yesterday and ITV4. So all in all a quite disappointing buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2016
I must be one of the lucky ones as it still works after four years although the DVD player is broken. The screen picture is superb. I would definitely buy from Toshiba again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2014
Brilliant picture quality. Very useful to have the DVD player combined. No problems in setting it up, easy to do. Use product in bedroom for hubby who is disabled and in bed. I find the picture better than the plasma screen we have in the living room. Make sure you get a good HDM cable. Would recommend this LED TV.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)