Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

  • Ram
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
140
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2010
This album just cheers me up every time I hear it! From opening Too Many People to the rocking romantic Back Seat of My Car! All the bits in the middle make it a complete ex Beatle masterpiece!
While John was groaning and moaning in America Paul was hoppin' and boppin' in Scotland enjoying the great British countryside!! And it shows on this album!
'How do you sleep' was Johns nasty bitter tune written about Paul (if I was McCartney I'dve been well ***** off with that one) and I'm sure 'Smile Away' is a very funny take on Lennon with his backing vocals there as well!
And who's ever heard of a butter pie? Obviously the butter wouldn't melt so he put it in the pie!! That always makes me chuckle!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2002
This is my favourite McCartney album, it should not be compared to Beatles albums, because it is not the Beatles! The album opens up with 'Too many people' this is a great song with the hooks Paul is king of, this song has a few hidden messages towards John eg "Too many people preaching fantasies". 'Three Legs' is an exellent blues workout. Ram On is has a beautiful melody and sound, and a reprise apears later on the album. 'Dear Boy' is fantastic. 'Uncle Albert/Admiral Hansley, is an experimental track that has severals songs in one, and is arguably the highlight of the album. Smile away is the rocker of the album and is quite bluesy. 'Heart of the country' is a bouncey country number reminiscent of Johns 'Crippled Inside' written a year later. 'Monkberry Moonlight' is a fun song and has an exellent vocal from Paul. 'Eat at home' is in the same vain as ' Too many people' and is just as good. 'Long haired Lady' is a fantastic tribute to Linda. 'Back seat of my car' is a fantastic prodution number and is right next to 'Uncle Albert..' That is the original album in full, but now it contains the coinciding single, the beautiful 'Another day' with the B side ' Oh woman why' which is a weak track, and is the only song on this exellent album that is not brilliant. If you expect a slick produced album, then you will be suprised. This not an album full of 'Let it be' and 'Yeserday' type songs, this is a raw sounding album, full of Pauls versitality as an artist, this represents his life at the time. If you buy it with an open mind for music, you are in for a treat.
33 Comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 May 2012
This has always been my favorite album Macca made after the Beatles. It's not as commercial as Band on the Run, but its far more real. In many ways it's like a diary entry and tells the story of what Paul did following the Beatles break up - and that was take to the country and become content in marital bliss. It's a happy album and although it'll take a few listens it will get you in the end. I love it and couldn't wait for the new remastered edition.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2010
Strange how Band on the Run is always cited as the best album Macca made after the Beatles - this is better, far better. I admit it sounds a but twee at first but stick with and you'll be surprised. There's no filler on the album which works as a whole. Man, I love this this and could write reams and reams of how good it is but instead I'll just say, fabgeargroovey! Ram on, Baby.
55 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
This is my favourite of all the Paul McCartney deluxe editions. This is so well made and the quality is brilliant. In this set there is so much included and depending on what price you can get it for it is worth every penny. If you have other Paul McCartney Deluxe editions then you know roughly what you get with each one. You get a hardback bound book with brilliant photos from Linda McCartney, interviews and a whole bunch of extras that you can't get anywhere else. Not only that though in this set compared to the other deluxe sets you get a whole bunch of extra things. There is 5 prints in a photographic wallet, which are really nice and you could frame if you like. There are facsimiles of hand written lyrics which for a fan of McCartney are very cool. Included which is quite nice is the mini photographic book of outtakes from the original album cover photo shoot.

The album itself is a brilliant one with some great songs and I honestly can't understand why some people say it is a poor album.

What I would say is that this item is for people like me who are big fans of Paul McCartney, there are loads of things in here that any fan would like but probably wouldn't mean that much to a casual fan. And in that case you may just want to stick to the normal audio cd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2005
This is a wonderfully zany offering from someone who in 1971 needed no introduction and this very zaniness managed to draw some of the most viscious and one has to to say amusing put downs in the history of rock journalism. Somehow, after the masterpiece that Abbey Road undoubtedly was, with McCartney's supreme talent effortless to the fore there, it appears that anything less than a repeat performance over the ensuing years invited ridicule and utter contempt from the critics.
Not from the record buying public though. This album was a massive seller and is revered by McCartney fans and many more besides 34 years later. But at the time, no less an authority than Rolling Stone dismissed this album as 'unbelievably inconsequential....and monumentally irrelevant'.
As I said....amusing.
But seriously misguided. I don't know what the world was exepecting Paul to produce in 1971 but the fact that he for one couldn't care less and put out this set, which although carrying many Beatlesque trademarks, not least in the melodies of course, is also a bold statement of independance complete with honest remarks on how bitter he felt about the Beatles break-up.
No one enjoys (or enjoyed) I hope the public slagging match between Lennon and McCartney in the years 1970-1, which did its best to destroy all the love and peace that the Beatles music had done so much to uphold and stand for throughout their short 7 year career of recorded output. But that doesn't detract from the quality of this album. The opener 'Too Many People' takes a sly dig at Lennon for 'preaching practices'....'don't let them tell you what you want to do'. Quite reasonable really, and certainly insufficient provocation for the tirade of nasty abuse (aimed squarely at McCartney) that was Lennon's scathing reply 'How Do You Sleep' on his 'Imagine' album of the same year. The second track, likening the Ex Beatles without Paul to a three legged dog is perhaps more provocative, but pretty mild and quite amusing all the same. And these first two songs are wonderfully distinctive and original, Paul has produced nothing like either since. That goes for the whole album really, it is Paul being original and creative and sub consciously distancing himself from whatever image he may have created for himself during the Fab Four years. He has tried this in the years since, somewhat more consciously usually . And more often than not less successfully as a result. Paul has always been best just doing his own thing, which is what he does best.
Anyway, back to the album: 'Ram On" is an evocative and charming piece of his ImHappyInScotlandThankyou period. 'Dear Boy' is an off the wall number featuring mad harmonies, the lyric possibly aimed at Lennon...but who cares? 'Uncle Albert' is about the most Beatleque moment on the album, a quite ecsquisite melody in the verse and a rousing chorus which brings happiness and a feeling of release on every listen (just as the title track of 'Band On The Run' was to do 2 years later). Even John Lennon was kind enough to comment favourably on this track, and this was in the depths of The Cold War between the two. Or should I say 'Thoroughly Public And Childish War'?? Which achieved Nothing and was a real sadness to most genuine Beatles fans.
'Smile Away' is slightly throwaway but engaging all the same. Then we come to 'Heart Of The Country", again evocative is the word that springs to mind...rural peaceful domesticity and contentment, away from Showbiz and The Big City....something that may have enraged Lennon at the time. But he came round to see what this was in the end, even giving up 5 years of his career in he process.
Monkberry Moon Delight is a raucous rocker with mad lyrics. Can you imagine this one sitting comfortably on a Beatles album? I think not. But then again who knows what might have become of the Beatles had they not split up when they did? Endless triple albums, just to fit in all this zaniness, eclectic and magical as ever?!
'Eat At Home' is a superb rocker, and quite possibly the best song on the album. Again the lyric is all about Home and Love. And as Wings sung 5 years later: 'What's wrong with that?' 'Long Haired Lady' is good in places but is perhaps the weakest song on the album. Was it really necessary to do the Hey Jude style ending? With Linda's vocal so much to the fore?? She's not bad at all at harmony singing, but here she is presented with virtually the lead vocal in the chorus. About the only mistake on the album. And if it was done just to get back at George for imitating a Hey Jude style ending on 'Isn't It A Pity', it was unnecessary.
And so we come to the last track 'Back Seat Of My Car'. Well the melody is among the best Paul has ever produced. Most of it is inspired, especially the verses but if I'm honest I can't help thinking that Lennon might have added an idea or two to turn it into the absolute classic it deserves to be. The ending for example is too long as if Paul can't decide how to finish the song.
But at the end of the day we must accept that Lennon was in no state to help his partner at this time, and not much on the last three Beatles albums either. So be it. These solo albums are still mighty fine...and interesting...and thought-provoking...and moving. All four Beatles produced much work after the split which is a vital and illuminating part of the Beatles' story. And this album is that more than most.
22 Comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
This album is just full of both moving and feel good songs. What I mean is on one hand you can feel the bitterness of what could have been (Beatles) the rock lion dying to burst out of his cage (wings) and you can almost feel the love he had for his late wife (Linda). Sir Paul has already recently admitted that during this period he had "hit the bevvies" but his song writing here is just sublime! It's like an experimental album. The chemistry just works! I won't go into the song list, because if your a true fan then you will buy this anyway. I will however pick out Back seat of my car, as my personal favourite here, it's up and down and makes you feel warm and happy inside! Linda? You can hear her all over this album! God bless you my love! Your vocals were perfect on this album. Arguably Paul has made better albums since, and I don't need to go into them. But, this one is just for sir Paul and the lovely Linda! Brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Back in August last year I had the privilege of visiting the Abbey Road studios and saw this album being remastered. The attention to detail in that work is quite remarkable. So this is definitely an improved and repackaged version of a very good record.

Not that it was recognised as very good when it was first released, when it was fashionable to knock McCartney and praise Lennon. But that was too simplistic then and even more wrong now. McCartney has a gift for writing memorable melodies and here is a record full of them. This album has stood the test of time and many, many people will be buying it and smiling as, in effect, they revisit an old friend.

McCartney has a strange ability to write songs which, on first hearing, sound light and on second hearing you say 'I KNOW that track'. So it is with RAM, and many of his later works too.

Stand out tracks? 'Too Many People' is a good rocking opener. 'Uncle Albert / Admiral Halsey' is up there in the 'hum along' nonsense stakes alongside 'Yellow Submarine'. On the bonus disk, 'Another Day' was brilliant single at the time and 'Oh Woman Oh Why' has its fans too. Most of the remaining bonus material, to be fair, I would expect to be of interest mainly to collectors and 'completists'.

The repackaging is good: a double fold-out cardboard sleeve approach with the original photographs and more, plus the lyrics in a booklet.

Definintely worth buying in this two-disk package. Five stars.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2011
I'm not sure enough praise could be heaped on this. It's neck to neck with Band On the Run (and probably a couple of inches ahead). It's got a joi de vivre that's utterly disarming. Couldn't be more genuine and stripped down. Macca's finest hour tossed off like so much whimsy. Not one filler track, yet none even seem to be taken seriously!!! The genius of the man.

Imagine the ultra-mega-mammoth record that would've come out if the Beatles had played on it!

A copy of the album should come with everybody's birth certificate. There, that should do it.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Great album. I haven't listened to a lot of Paul or Linda McCartney's stuff and I'm not a Beatles fan either, to be honest, but I love this album.
The songs are all a little weird and very different to one another, with lots of experiments in terms of sound and composition which all really seem to work. Dear Boy, Heart of the Country and Monkberry Moon Delight are my favourite tracks.
The vinyl is the classic black style (basically, it's lighter than most modern records) and my copy seems to have been used many a time but the sound is still clear with minimal popping and it seems to have been a very good pressing.

It's also worth having a listen to Percy Thrillington, which is the instrumental version of this album which I heard first and fell in love with before I realised this version existed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.40
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)