Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
30
August & Everything After Live [VINYL]
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£27.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 October 2017
Great bargen thank
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2011
For people that know the band, everything is here that you would expect. Alternate lyrics, extended solo's and Adam singing each song slightly different to the recorded version or the last time that he sang that song.

For those people that don't know the band, this is the best live album that I have ever heard. If you like guitars, piano and hearing band that has played together for more than 20 years and are musically so tight then give it a try. The Rain King and Sullivan Street versions on here are 2 of the greatest things I have ever heard.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2011
In a word Amazing i remember this gig being announced and i was going to new york the day after this concert i even looked into changing my plans so i could go which did not work out,well at last i have the next best thing the live album. August is my all time favourite album this will stay in my cd player for a very long time if you love Counting Crows like i do buy this album it will not regret it
nick
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2011
If you haven't heard counting crows before, buy the studio version. Then, once you have fallen in love with that (which you will) buy the live version (this one). You'll love it.
If you already have the studio version. But this now. One word: amazing!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2013
Counting Crows are a phenomenal live band. I'm tempted to say that these versions of the songs from August and Everything After are the best. But the truth is they are different, not just from the original album, but also other live recordings. The upbeat version of the Rain King medleyed with Thunder Road is amazing but is it better than the tender, sweet version that opens New Amsterdam: Live At Heineken Music Hall [Australian Imp.]? On that recording Adam Duritz's voice sounded often tender and fragile, which gave the songs a sense of poignancy. Here he thunders like a rock god. And I can't say which I like better.

All the tracks from August and Everything After are present, including Raining in Baltimore which, although not mentioned on the tracklisting, is medleyed with Round Here and the Sordid Humor song Private Archipelago, to form one epic raw nerve of a song lasting just short of 12 minutes. They use the same strategy with Murder of One, blending in Red Hill Mining Town by U2 and Dorris Day (also by Sordid Humor), and Perfect Blue Buildings, which contains Miller's Angels and Sometimes it Snows in April by Prince. So there is a lot of material presented here.

If the vocals are raw, the music is polished with piano and organ providing a framework filled out by guitars, mandolin, pedal steel guitar and underpinned by bass and drums. The sound is never overbearing but it always feels full. And Dan Vickrey's guitar work, which I'll admit I'm not always 100% convinced by, is spot on here. This album has an amazing atmosphere, the crowd joining in the choruses and giving rapturous applause. The band must have been enjoying it, because they respond with passionate performances, Adam Duritz in particular brings out the drama in each song sometimes letting the band fade out while he repeat a single phrase in a tender crying voice, letting the effect become hypnotic. At other times he'll launch into a thunderous versions of tunes we know, extracting pure joy from Mr Jones, and haunting menace from Ghost Train.

His digressions between the songs are amusing too, he tells us how he missed out on getting the key to the city in Omaha, and how a girlfriend who lived a long drive away inspired a Counting Crows classic. (And kudos to whoever did the tracklisting on the CD because the intros are on tracks of their own if you feel like programming them out.)

So, if you are a Counting Crows fan, don't hesitate. They seem to be one of the last few bands who aren't afraid to mess with their songs live and present something really different. Consider how many epic bands (like Muse) just devote themselves to recreating their albums in perfect detail. Every live recording from the Crows is worth having on it's own merits (especially New Amsterdam), but this should be on your list.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2011
This is exactly what I like about the counting crows. Performing well known tracks from a nearly 20 year old album, sticking in some alternate lyrics, and just creating some excellent music.

For me, this is one of the greatest albums of all time, and this album is a great live version of it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2014
I just cannot stop playing this - I already had the DVD but wanted this for the car.! Brilliant performance from beginning to end; especially dropping Springsteen's Thunder Road into the middle of Rain King. A rare example of a live album that captures the magic of a studio album and makes it even better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 March 2012
Excellent live album - took me a while to order it, I dont know why really - but glad I did as the concert is superb, great sound. Looking forward to their new albumUnderwater Sunshine (Or What We Did On Our Summer Vacation) released in a couple of weeks time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2013
Having gotten into CC back in 93 with August and everything after I wasn't sure about this live venture , the end result is brilliant and I now like this better than the original .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2013
This is a classic live album and captures the moment just right. Great songs sung & performed equally well if not better than the studio versions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse