Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2017
I bought one of these thinking it was the ideal way to get files from my iPad and iPhone to my laptop or GPS devices and back. On paper it sounds great, but a BIG WARNING for all you people thinking of buying these - THESE ARE NO LONGER SUPPORTED by Airstash.

My device doesn't work with any SD Card. I need to update the firmware. The problem with that is that Maxell have stopped supporting these and Airstash themselves have also stopped supporting these as of 2016. So I now have a useless USB paperweight.

Airstash themselves state on their facebook page "Maxell stopped selling it in 2013. Do not purchase units in a Maxell labeled package as they have 2011 firmware that can no longer be updated"

In terms of build quality, great
Cost, great
Use - useless. It doesn't work and even the manufacturer states we should not buy these as they've stopped supporting them.

So what seems like a bargain on Amazon is not. This is worthless!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
This product only supports the FAT 16 and FAT 32 file systems.

I bought all my films off iTunes in HD 1080p and the file sizes so far are often larger then 4 GB.
So the 128 GB SD-Card I bought for this is now unfit for it's intended use.

Email from Airstash.

AirStash Support, Mar 22 22:32 (CDT):
Hello ,
You are right. Currently, the AirStash is only compatible with FAT32 and not exFAT. We realize that as video files grow, the demand to support exFAT will also grow tremendously. We are planning to implement it in a future release of our firmware. But for now, unfortunately files over 4GB are not supported.

~
Best Regards,
Kim
AirStash® Team
Wearable Inc.

Thought I would highlight this so no one else gets caught out.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2016
The product is discontinued in 2015. This version is from 2011 with firmware version 1. It can't be updated through the app, and requires loading of the file onto the SD card. However, Maxell has removed all files from their website, so one can't update the firmware to the latest version. The basic functionality is still there but this is now a very handicapped version of once truly great product.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
If you've done your reading you will have seen that this particular model has been discontinued, but that shouldn't stop you buying one if you think it will fulfil your needs. There is a new firmware to install on the device - it takes about 2 minutes all together - but then everything is sorted. It works flawlessly with the Airstash+ app (I'm on iOS) and provides loads of useful features. While this model has been superseded the newer ones don't have the ability to change out the internal storage, they aren't SD card based. If that's a feature you need don't hesitate to get this older model. It works brilliantly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Great gadget for the price it is at now for apple users especially (with no ability to upgrade memory)
The connection to my wifi is at times ropey but direct connection to my phone is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Amazing price. And despite other people's concerns about the need to update the firmware, the item came with some brief instructions on how to achieve this, and these worked without issue. Well done iZilla.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
I love these! I bought two of them and think they are really handy for people with kids on any long journey or if just you don't have enough memory on you phone! Or needing to transfer information and want to access it easily! Easy to use! highly remomended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
Prompt Delivery, Good Product that does as it say on the tin!
Very pleased with the service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
Great piece of kit many plus points, the only few bad points are that the software does not support a wide range of video formats, for me the main gripe is the lack of support for 'flv' which in my opinion is the preferred medium when you need to strike the balance between file size and quality.

FAO developers please include this functionality in future firmware updates!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 July 2017
Very good device, particularly to use with a phone or tablet that can't have its memory expanded (no SD card slot).

Device didn't work at all, out of the box, as the stock firmware does not seem to be compatible anymore with the apps, so a firmware upgrade was necessary. However, it was just a matter of putting one file on the provided SD card, and restarting the device.

Search for "air1105.df2" on Google.

Once upgraded, works well with the Android Airstash app. The app also has some built in video viewer, meaning it's able to play a lot of video file formats, such as mp4 or mkv.

There is also a built-in web server, meaning the files are also accessible from a web interface,/web browser to be downloaded and viewed/played with any third party application. Web access would be also an option for older Android devices that can't run the app.

Battery life seems to be reasonable (up to 7 hours), and device can still be used when battery is being charged, via a standard USB charger.

The device creates its own wifi network, and range is acceptable. The android app automatically disconnects the phone/tablet from its normal wifi network, and connects to the Airstash wifi network instead.

Only drawback I have identified so far is that writing files to the SD card via the Airstash device on wifi is very slow. Much faster to put files directly on the SD card, particularly large ones like video files.

Also, I haven't actually managed to copy files on the device via USB, as it's apparently not compatible with Windows 10. Therefore, files have to be copied directly on the SD Card.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)