Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2012
After loving the books and thoroughly enjoying the film, I was eager to download the score. James Newton Howard has done a fantastic job and created a perfect score for the film. As a massive fan of movie scores however, I was a little disapointed that some of the tracks were so short and that there was not more of this incredible score. Still gets 5 stars though as I can't stop listening to it and it has become the perfect background music to re-read the books to.
Notable favourites include Rue's Farewell, Healing Katniss and Horn of Plenty.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
Like the film, this soundtrack can be noticeably differentiated by the setting. Music from district twelve is often minimal strings, the capital is rich and loud and the arena music a mixture of the two.

Particularly standout tracks include "Horn of Plenty", the capitol anthem which plays over the chariot ride. This is a triumphant, loud choral piece that truly captures the moment in the film and is great listening on its own, Searching for Peeta, which makes good use of a motif established for Katniss as a hunter in the track "Katniss Afoot" and Muttations.

There are only a couple of tracks that lose something without the images of the film to back them up (Reaping Day doesn't quite induce stomach clenching nausea the same way as the moment on screen, although perhaps this is a benefit!), but these are easily overlooked by the quality of the remainder of the album, which is one I'd recommend for fans of the books and film alike.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
The Hunger Games isn't an action epic and those looking for a dramatic, LOTR style soundtrack will be dissapointed. That said, I think that this score is utterly perfect for this film. Some of the tracks are a little like wine - complex, deep and such that I don't want to listen to them too often for fear of devaluing them. Every track perfectly complements the part of the film that goes with it, helping to accentuate the emotion and tension in every scene.

My only gripe is that several pieces from the film have been borrowed from other sources and are thus not present in this CD; however that's no fault of people who put this CD together.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
Bought this soundtrack as I am a huge fan of the franchise but the music I found was a high point of the films. I'd listened to it on Amazon Prime Music originally but I took the plunge and decided to buy a copy of the CD as there is nothing like owning a physical edition!

'Rue's Farewell' is the stand out track for me personally but other notable mentions are 'The Countdown' and 'We Could Go Home'.

If you liked the music from the film and want some background music which isn't too imposing and is rather relaxing then I recommend this soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
The CD itself was very good, perfect to listen to for all students working on coursework and needing some music to listen to.
However, the case was badly damaged, probably due to the postal service this company uses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
if you loved the movie you will love the music is very true to the movie to the point where you can be listening and almost imagine the movie playing in your head, always good for some relaxing background music too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
James Newton Howard is one of my favorite music composers and he yet again delivers! I havent seen the movie yet but this score is very good to listen to. My favorite tracks are Katniss Afoot, Entering the Capitol, Preparing the Chariots, Horn of Plenty, Learning the skills, Searching for Peeta and Muttations. Two words come to mind as i listen to this score again and again: Poweful and Moving!! This is a must have album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2012
This score is everything you could want from a movie score - action, emotions and that warm fuzzy feeling of reliving a movie through music.

just go buy it, okay?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
its really good loved it. the soundtrack its really good it goes well with the movie perfectly the movie was really good but made it better by the music this cd was really worth buying loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
The quality of this album is very poor the horn of plenty track sounds like it's underwater even when downloaded. I checked on youtube for the same track and that was fine. Not at all happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse