Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2013
Excilent better then the tv show !!!
im now up to date with the last issue waiting for the next with baited breth
The cliff hanger endings of each issue will drive u to whant the next at each issue i cant recomend this enough!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Fantastic value for money, perfect condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Perfect companion to the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Wicked but gonna cost me loads by the time I've finished them all!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2007
If you have been a fan of this series so far you are unlikely to be disappointed by this latest instalment.

Kirkman's zombie apocalypse storyline has reached a point where the zombies themselves are almost just an incidental backdrop to the main story of the survivor's descent into savagery and tribalism.

The violence depicted over a number of consecutive pages in this book goes far beyond what has been depicted in previous volumes and is all the more disturbing as it is difficult for the reader not to feel that the victim is deserving of the fate that they have bought upon themself.

What follows these scenes is easily thrilling enough to get the story moving along again and leave you eager to find out what will follow in the next volume.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
Enough said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This volume contains the original comic editions 31 - 36. Review is pretty spoiler free but makes reference to previous book.

Well, Volume 5 was (in my opinion) the strongest since the initial book - and the quality is maintained through Volume 6 which is a genuine thriller. The last book saw Rick, Glenn and Michonne locked up as `guests' of Philip or Brian, or whatever his name is - though everyone knows him as `The Governor'. He's a sick individual, depraved beyond anything we've seen in The Walking Dead yet, and that's saying something when the world is full of zombies and we've seen hammers through skulls, guts hanging out, and an emergency amputation. The plight of the three is at the Governor's whim, though perhaps not everyone in Woodbury is happy at the behaviour of their glorious leader.

This is even more violent than the previous volume, more gruesome - but this time you watch it with glee rather than a grimace. Volume 6 is frenetically paced but the plot doesn't feel forced or shocking for the sake of it, in amongst the blood and gore there are bits of conversations - we voyeuristically eavesdrop and the dialogue is natural. Particularly touching are the interactions between Sophia and Carl who really do sound like two kids who are growing up but still enjoy playing juvenile games. Given the carnage surrounding them, it's nice to see kids just being kids, it helps you, as a reader to invest in the group - to want to see them succeed, you worry about them. It heightens the sense of peril. We start so see more evidence of people coming to terms with the consequences of their actions, there's some time for self-analysis in this volume - be it Michonne debating how warranted her actions are, or Rick questioning his own ethics; does he have the right to condemn a person to die or deny someone access to life-essential resources such as food and safe shelter? Rick is becoming more afraid of himself and what he's capable of than the rotting monsters outside, at least they don't have an agenda.

The walking Dead once again proves that it's not a typical slasher story, it risks getting bogged down in some scenes of horrific violence but the story as a whole transcends the visuals of the genre by underpinning it with continuing, solid character development. There's less time given to it here, but we're made aware of how the actions of the survivors are effecting their impressions of themselves, how not just witnessing atrocities but actively carrying them out is affecting their minds, the volume even ends with a sense of unease.

In a nutshell: All thriller, no filler. Moral compasses are spinning with no sense of direction, and as the body takes hit after hit, it's the mind which is becoming more fragile. Surely something is going to snap.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Rick, Glenn and Michonne remain the captives of the sadistic Governor, the leader of a small enclosed community. But help is on hand as one of the Governor’s guards helps them escape and head back home to the prison. Will they all make it back – or die trying?

I really, really enjoyed this one! I flew through it in one sitting, and it’s a cliché but the pages couldn’t turn fast enough. Everything from the lead-up to the breakout, the escape through the forest, the drive back to the prison, and finding out what’s happened there since they’ve been gone – wow, what a journey! Excitement and danger were there at every turn and made for a genuinely thrilling read. Robert Kirkman may not be much of a writer but he’s a really excellent storyteller.

That said, it wouldn’t be The Walking Dead without some questionable scenes thrown in to unnerve the reader. Last volume it was the repeated rape of Michonne – thankfully Kirkman and Charlie Adlard decided against showing us those images – and in this volume it’s a very graphic torture scene as Michonne gets her own back on the Governor.

While the Governor got what he deserved, did we really have to see every little thing Michonne did to him? I’m guessing Kirkman/Adlard are fans of the Saw series and were doing their own version of that in this book, but it’s more than a bit distasteful and gratuitous.

By far the biggest complaint about Kirkman’s writing is the way he writes – or, rather, can’t write – characters and it’s becoming very clear now that he only really cares about developing one or two over the rest of the extended cast. The main character Rick isn’t the greatest creation ever but he is developing and this volume shows how far he’s gone from the character we met in volume one and the character he’s become six volumes in.

So while characters like Otis get killed off-panel and make a brief appearance as a corpse on the floor of a panel, Rick gets a splash page while he looks out moodily at a field. Another character dies along the way but, like Tyreese wisely says here, introductions only if you survive. I also really like how Michonne’s character is slowly unravelling, especially after the trauma of Woodbury. She was already talking to herself when she first appeared but now the voices seem more insistent and desperate – when will she crack? What will happen when she does? I’m interested to find out!

Kirkman’s also not good at conveying time. It doesn’t seem that long since Lori revealed her pregnancy but in the space of 2-3 volumes she’s gone from flat stomach to massive baby bump. If I had to guess I’d say the series has taken in just a few weeks but by the looks of Lori’s belly it looks more like 7-8 months!

I assume the absence of marking time is to mirror the characters’ perceptions onto the reader’s – during the zombie apocalypse nobody’s sure what day of the week it is, what month, etc. – but still, are we supposed to believe they’ve been at the prison for months? They’ve barely begun searching the place and only just started planting vegetables – either they’re the laziest people ever or Lori’s going through a super-fast pregnancy!

Anyway, the series has come to life with this and the last volume, and I’m really getting swept up in the story now. I’m gonna guess the Governor’s not dead – they left that detail open-ended – because he’s too nasty a villain to do away with so quickly. I’m also looking forward to the impending fight between the prison and Woodbury, probably in the next couple volumes - by which time Lori will probably have given birth and their kid’ll be starting puberty!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
This is an excellent series - definitely worth buying - but there were parts in this episode that were pretty much torture porn. It's a difficult area - I wouldn't pretend it's black and white. Zombies biting or attacking the living - quite thrilling, but a rape victim taking her revenge in graphic detail with drills and diy tools - gratuitously unpleasant. It's maybe not logical for a reader of a zombie epic to criticize some of the violence, but nonetheless in this comic I think it goes too far. The writer tries to build the moral questions of the limits of revenge into the victim / torturer's character, but, personally, I think that doesn't wash. That aside, the story is as excellent as the others in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)