Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
65
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.64


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2017
I'm writing this review about four weeks after reading the book and it's vey much a faded memory. Whilst it was a decent enough read at the time, and the socio-historical subject matter interesting, there was not enough to make it stand out for me..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
I found "Mukiwa" fascinating, extremely well written, and easy to read. In some ways it brought back many memories and presented a well-balanced view of life in Rhodesia/Zimbabwe and Southern Africa. I found it hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
Another excellent Peter Godwin book about Rhodesia / Zimbabwe. It portrays a happy time in the country before it slips into despair and chaos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2001
I have never read a more heart-felt, poigniant, passionate and interesting account of the situation regarding the transition of Rhodesia to Zimbabwe. The initial flavour of this book takes that of Roald Dahl at his very best, but the writing develops and matures with the authors recollections of his childhood/teenages and early adulthood. It really is a book that you cannot put down, and I am sure many white Rhodies and Zimbabweans can relate to Godwins work in more ways than one. If there is one book you buy whilst surfing for things to read, make it this one, and you won't be dissappointed.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Informed and personal experience of the childhood in Rhodesia as it transitioned to Zimbabwe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
an older book which I reread - eagerly…but these days go back to the beginnings of destruction - Smith has a case to answer; Mugabe should have paid dearly for his part…perhaps he still might.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2001
This is a real read! How Mr Godwin remembered all the stuff from his childhood beats me but he has put it together in a very readable format. I brought this book on holiday and never lifted my head. He gives a very good perspective on Rhodesia as he grew up and developed into an adult. It is brutal in some aspects but is well balanced with nice touches of family life. The Author is not bitter even though he lost his sister during the War and he has some good stories about Black and White relationships.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2002
This book gives a true insight into what it was like to grow up in africa as a 'Mukiwa' - white man. It also shows the events leading to the current situation in Zimbabwe. If you are Zimbabwean, white or black, or if you want to know more about what it's like to be a Zimbo, this book is a MUST!
Enjoy
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2000
A brilliant book -- I am surprised how few reviews there are of it here. Split into three sections, each one is a gem in its own right. For anyone who has been a child of Africa like Godwin, the first section is a must read. Outsiders might think it a trifle idealised but white Africans of all ages will recognise some of the magic of Godwin's childhood in their own.
The second secion moves on to Godwin's period as one of Mr. Smith's soldiers, conscripted into the BSAP during the war in Rhodesia. It's not judgemental - one of the book's major strengths. Instead of writing a liberal or conservative tract the author just tells what he saw with his own eyes, and he tells it honestly. He shelters neither side but also does not apportion blame -- something for which I have heard Godwin criticised. In response I say that if you are wanting a history of that period, as the author himself says, this is not the book for you. This is a memoir, and an intensely personal one.
The final section deals with Godwin's quest, on behalf of the Sunday Times, to uncover some of the atrocities committed at the hand's of Mugabe's elite butchers in Matabeleland. Some harrowing stuff but a fascinating insight into what it is like to live in a land of tribal repression, something even "enlightened" Zimbabwe certainly did not escape. A damning indictment of the Mugabe regime which, for his pains, led to Godwin's expulsion from Zimbabwe.
This book was given to me as a birthday present and I would certainly describe it as the best readable present ever given to me. Many will enjoy the first third because of its childish innocence and might be disconcerted by the gradual deterioration of the book's happy tone. But that is Godwin's point. The book is about loss of innocence, which is what makes it so poignant. As another reviewer has said it makes us all, white Africans as well as Black, realise the shameful way we treated this beautiful continent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
Having grown up in Zimbabwe at the same time as Peter writes about, I found this book entertaining, funny, depressing, sad, traumatic and disturbing all at the same time. He is a fabulous writer and all his books I have read so far are very compelling and beautifully written. I highly recommend this book and also his Crocodile Eats The Sun if you want to understand better the confusion and emotion that the White population of Zimbabwe went through. Of course there is a deep tragedy he describes from the Black Zimbabwe population, but his story and books are about how the white man struggled to both feel and be part of the country while also finding he was no longer welcome. I eagerly await his new book due out later this year
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)