Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2012
Tom Bosley makes an unlikely parish priest and Tracy Nelson an unlikely nun in this excellent detective series. Father Frank Dowling is a Catholic priest serving a district of Chicago. How he finds the time is anybody's guess, but apart from his parochial duties, he likes to involve himself in the solving of murders which happen all too often in and around the area in which he lives. Aiding him in his investigations is a young streetwise nun called Sister Stephanie who was brought up in a tough neighbourhood and is all too familiar with criminal behaviour.
Bosley and Nelson make a great team and have an excellent rapport.
Other members of the cast are James Stephens as Father Prestwick, an amiable but somewhat ambitious young priest who tends to get on everyone's nerves, veteran actress Mary Wickes as grouchy cook and housekeeper Marie, and Regina Krueger as Police Sgt.Clancy who invariably arrives in the nick of time when Father Dowling has got himself into a tight corner.
Great stuff in the same vein as 'Murder She Wrote' and 'Diagnosis Murder'. At times, the series ventures into fantasy, and in some episodes you get two Bosleys for the price of one when he plays not only Father Dowling but also his twin brother who, unfortunately, has criminal tendencies. The superb theme music was composed by Dick DeBenedictis.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
I love this classic show since I watched it for the first ti e on the family channel (became Challenge Tv) years ago on cable full of action & comedy (and snow!) Tom Bosley is excellent as father dowling and his twin brother one good and the bad a much different role then happy days exceptional versatile actor and with Sister steve a streetwise past criminal played by Tracy Nelson but this series is worth a watch for any crime show fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
A collection of lively and interesting murder mysteries. Tom Bosley's portrayal of a parish priest is extremely authentic...Sr Steve provides a wonderful side-kick, with a marvellous array of skills and wisecracks. I've never been disappointed in any of the episodes and am delighted to now own at least one series that I can enjoyed time & time again. The Chicago location is much more innovative and looks great - whether in snow or sunshine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
I gave this dvd 5 stars as I really like this series, the quality of picture is so, so, definately not as good as when it was shown on television, I was referring to the pilot episodes, after that the picture quality gets better, it is nice to see these episodes again and wish the rest of the series was out in the uk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
I got this dvd box shortly after ordering ist. Unfortunately some other dvd boxes about the Father Dowling series is not available for Region 2 (Europe) but only for Region 1 (USA and Canada). Hopefully this will be the case some day soon. Nevertheless I am happy that at least this dvd box was made for Region 2.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
This is so lovely to watch. It makes me feel all warm inside. I want the other series too! The number of surprising and un-nunlike skills that Sister Stephanie has grows every episode.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
Classic series and good to watch after long shift at work. Well written and loveable characters. Good quality picture and sound. Well pleased.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
Simple, honest entertainment, which is probably considered dated, but is a good contrast to the violent rubbish produced in 2012
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Got box 1 - great nostalgia. Would love the other two box sets but surprisingly not compatible for UK dvds...what's the point of selling them on amazon .co.uk then......?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I all way love this it is the best ever but i can never get series 2-3 in the UK why not when will i get it please
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)