Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2016
I really enjoyed this book, as others have said it isn't particularly well written, but the girl is a dancer not a writer and she was looking back 15 or 20 years so it may be a little disjointed in places. Having said that I really enjoyed the telling of her life.
She was 13 when after having passed an audition for a Russian ballet school in Perm she goes to live there, a very brave and dedicated decision for such a young girl, very few Irish girls get the chance.
I was surprised at how hard the teachers were on their pupils and how disorganized it all seemed to be whilst traveling to different countries.
I have never seen her dance but would love to after reading her story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Enjoyed it very much.
It's always good to get a behind-the-scenes view of such things as ballet. The whole point of the art form is to present an image of effortless perfection, and it's great to get to see the dancers as real people with real lives and real issues going on.
Monica Loughman is an inspiration to anyone who is determined in what they want out of life and also to anyone who has ever been consumed by doubt. Although she down-plays some of the more trying times, it is quite plain that she went through some true difficulties to get to where she did. I confess to being humbled by comparing what she was doing with what I was doing when I was at the same age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
A very interesting account of life in a Russian ballet school. She was extremely determined to succeed and did so against many odds. You will look at ballet dancers in a different light after reading this. Guts and determination as well as being prepared to leave home at a young age.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
A fantastic book. After reading about Monica Loughman's life of ballet training in Russia, I was amazed by how she carried on with such determination. As a relatively newcomer to watching ballet, I really appreciated the hard years of her training. This is a great insight into one persons devotion to be the best, faced with endless challenges including learning a foreign language and trying to fit in to a different culture. I would love to see Monica dance. Next time I go to see performance, I will watch with awe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
As a ballet dancer myself, this book provided a good and interesting insight into the life of s foreign dancer in post-Communist Russia. Once you get past the nauseating phrase "I couldn't believe...", which although clearly an amazing experience for her is a tad overused to say the least! It is a good read and brutally honest about conditions and competitiveness in a school and Company. A very easy read too, I finished it within 2 days. I'd recommend this to anyone interested in ballet or Russian/post Cold war culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Very interesting going into the world of ballet behind the scenes. Would recommend to all ballet lovers. It's not all glam out there in the real world, opens up the eyes a bit wider x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Enjoyed this book. It gave an insight behind the scenes of the hardship that is required to become the best ballet dancer& being in competition for the solo parts. Pleased i read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Was myself a ballet dancer so was able to relate to all the ups and downs. It is extremely hard work but so rewarding. I really enjoyed the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Great reading for an aspiring dancer!
Monica is a very courageous lady and truly deserves her success in the ballet world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2015
Loved this book. A true indication of the dedication, hard work and realism that goes into becoming a professional ballerina.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)