Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
83
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2001
This flm has to be one of Hepburns' most classiest capers, alongside such gems as Paris When It Sizzles & Charade. Her hair barely moves a strand out of place even whilst she undergoes some of the most cramped conditions of her acting career!
Peter O'Toole, (elegantly dashing when not decked out in his Lawrence of Arabia garb) is perfectly cast as a fraud investigator in the art world who turns crook to win the heart of the daughter (Hepburn) of the fraudster he is currently investigating.
The costumes are chic, the wit finely tuned, the plot enjoyably absurd & the growing attraction between the two main characters builds to a wonderful finale in a broom closet, of all places!
This is Hepburn at her comedic best & O'Toole shines through as a wry burglar with a soft heart for a suffering dame!
Watch it over & over, with or without the entire family & I guarantee you cannot fail to thoroughly enjoy yourself each & every time...
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2008
I first saw this film on sky recently and loved it! The only other Audrey Hepburn Film i'd seen was of course, Breakfast At Tiffanys, and i'd never seen Peter o'Toole in action as a young man, only as the old man i know him as today. Im a sucker for romantic comedys and this was right up my street. The storyline being, Audrey Hepburn is a heiress who lives in Paris with her father who is a master art forger, as was his father before him, and one night, home alone she hears a burglar downstairs. She investigates and finds a rather dapper Peter o'Toole attempting to steal one of her father's Van Gogh. After injuring him with her fathers pistol, she finds herself talking to him and discovering he's very charming! So charming in fact she ends up driving him home! Soon After, her father sells a "priceless" statue to a museum and its only after its taken both Audrey and father find that the museum are going to do test on the piece, which of course be discoved as a fake and the rest of his "collection" will be under suspicion. Audrey decides the best thing for them to do is to try and steal it back from the highly guarded museum and theres a certain gentleman she know's who's just right for the job....
Audrey Hepburn is cute and quirky as the heiress and Peter o'Toole is very handsome and very funny, clearly enjoying himself. There were a quite a few moments that had me laughing out loud. If your a fan of romantic comedy's, this ones for you.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2003
I absolutely love this movie. It's a perfect combination of romance, comedy and quirkiness. Besides, who could fault a movie that sees its stars kissing in a closet surrounded by frantic police? "How To Steal A Million" was entertaining, engrossing and endearing from start to finish, and it is definitely a movie that could be watched again and again. Audrey Hepburn was as adorable as ever, a perfect combination of deceptively innocent wide eyes and sweetly sarcastic remarks. This was the first time that I'd ever seen a Peter O'Toole movie, but I hope that it won't be the last. You could instantly fall in love with him from the second you saw those bewildered round blue eyes peering over the top of the "Van Gogh" painting. He is very funny in the film, and pretty darn spunky too! They make a very likable couple, and I didn't find one moment of this film boring. I loved watching them rob the museum, equipped with, among other things, a bucket, a magnet and a boomerang! This is a fabulous movie - I think it's my new favourite Audrey Hepburn movie - and I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
William Wyler's "How to Steal a Million" is the very best Stanley Donen picture that Stanley Donen didn't happen to make--just as Donen's "Charade," also with Audrey Hepburn, is the very best Hitchcock picture that Hitchcock never made.

This is a truly stylish film. "How to Steal a Million" looks like ten million ... a hundred million ... aw, in this inflationary era, let's call it a billion bucks on the screen. Hepburn's roughly two hundred costume changes, her preposterous little car, her hats, her chateau, and everything else shout that this is what the (expensively) good life looks like. In one scene, O'Toole invites Hepburn--for once looking a bit dowdy--to come as she is. "Give Givenchy the night off," he says.

A quick glance over the previous Amazon US and Amazon UK reviews shows that those who know and care about this film use the language of people discussing a classic. And yet, whatever its considerable merits, "How to Steal a Million" was not a particular success at the box office when it first appeared, nor is it widely remembered today.

I can only speculate why this should be. Perhaps it was the proximity of "Charade." Good as this film is, "Charade" was better--a tighter script, a better balance between thrills and comedy and the overwhelming presence of Cary Grant. O'Toole has always been excellent in comedy, but his part in this film is unquestionably a Cary Grant part and nobody did those as well as the old master, Archie Leech, himself. On the other hand, it may be that "How to Steal a Million" is a Willy Wyler film and it doesn't feel right or entirely at home among that director's works. Somehow I doubt that Wyler's many admirers are likely to list this one high among his masterworks. Or maybe it came out when the public was satiated with well-acted, lavishly produced, well-made films and it just fell between the cracks.

Whatever the reasons for its present semi-obscurity, "How to Steal a Million" is a gem and highly recommendable to anyone who believes that quality in movies extends beyond CGI effects and stuff blowin' up real good.

Five very fashionable stars!

A NOTE ON CHANGING TIMES:
When I saw this movie during its first run, along with everyone else in the theater, I thought a million dollars was a lot of money. Just listen to the 1960s prices quoted for major works of art; they are laughable today--and a little sad, too.

A FURTHER NOTE ON MARKETING:
This is a movie about high-end art forgery. It is filled with exquisite paintings and sculptures in almost every scene, all of which were forged for the movie. Part of the publicity campaign for "How to Steal a Million" was a public exhibition of the forged artworks.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The daughter of a forger (Audrey Hepburn) asks Peter O'Toole's help to steal one of her family's "masterpieces" - the Celini Venus, who seem to resemble a lot like her own grandmother... Audrey Hepburn and Peter O'Toole are great in this great heist/romantic comedy, one of those you can watch over and over again without being tired.
The DVD edition has no extras but has a great picture quality. Even with no extras I would not hesitate to suggest to buy this. It's brilliant.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
To begin with, the casting is good in this Hepburn film, in the sense that Charles Boyer, O'Toole, and Hepburn all play very well, all the other characters play adequately, but the film is fundamentally about O'Toole and Hepburn's relationship. Ms. Jackson's review summarises the plot well, so I shan't go into detail about that, but, having seen a few Hepburn films, I would certainly say that this is one of my favourites.

The film is charming all round, and there are some scenes which are very cleverly done and impressive. Well directed by Wyler, a favourite director of Hepburn's, and one senses the light atmosphere on set radiates through the camera lens onto the screen. The relationship between O'Toole and Hepburn takes a somewhat sudden turn to amourousness, and it all happens rather fast, but this is characteristic of older films, and is part of the quality which makes films like this so light and romantic. If four and a half stars were possible, I would certainly grant them.

Also, if you are confused by the fact that this film has been tagged on Amazon with 'lesbianism', 'teachers', and 'gay interest', this is most likely a mistake by reviewers, of this film with another Hepburn filmThe Children's Hour [DVD] [1961] which is about lesbianism and features two female teachers (Hepburn playing one of them)... 'How to Steal a Million' is however, simply a romantic comedy set in Paris, with no teachers, and no references to lesbianism... Don't worry, you are looking at the film correspondent with this review!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
A brilliant art forger has sculpted a Cellini Venus statue and he hopes too sell it as a genuine piece. His daughter is in on the scheme as well. One night a burglar tries to steal a precious painting only to be caught by her. She later employs him to steal that statue from a museum where it is in public view. A romantic comedy/heist movie. What`s not to like. I am a huge fan of Audrey Hepburn. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
A good reminder of how movies used to be, without the frenetic scene changes and action which distinguishes current film styles. High quality actors - Hepburn her usual beautiful and feminine self, but O'Toole seems not always to be comfortable in his part. Worth watching, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Audrey Hepburn is absolutely charming in this sweet comedy about art theft and Peter O'Toole has awesome comical timing and a great presence. It's a funny and rather silly little story, but I've seen it a few times over the years and always enjoyed it. Maybe it's a little long and at times a little too silly, but overall... a sweet little gem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2011
I thought this film was brilliant.
I loved the storyline, the fashion, the acting, the location, everything!

I am a huge fan of Audrey Hepburn movies but being only 18 I've been trying to catch up on watching her films and I have to say that this one is one of my favourites so far (next up is Roman Holiday)

It is such a great story, very funny but keeps you entertained all the way through.
I will definetly be watching this again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)