Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 18 September 2012
This will be a shorter review than most, only because there are already many excellent reviews here which more than cover any points I want to make (Product Reviewer's is fantastic with an extraordinarily detailed and helpful Q&A running in the comments).

So let's keep it simple. The tv is very slim, relatively light and easy to assemble. When connected up and switched on, the onscreen process quickly and efficiently takes you through the set up.

And that can be that.

You will already have a superb picture and great sound. Over time you can tinker to your hearts content with the many settings if you want to but you can do that while watching an already fabulous telly!

Smart TV works well and I've used the BBC iplayer app most of all so far but early days. My home broadband is ok, usually runs between 3-5 Mbps, and buffering has not been an issue. Picture quality via the app massively better than I was expecting so great, easy catchup tv.

3D looks amazing too but not had much time to play with it yet - great that the set comes with glasses so you can try straight away if you want to.

Happy to answer any general questions but for the detailed stuff, ask Product Reviewer!!

Overall VERY pleased with my new tv - it was bought to replace a 3 year old Samsung LCD TV damaged by a power surge during a thunderstorm recently and I had thought it was great - but this is a serious step up (and £200 cheaper than the old one!!)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
To put this review in context, prior to this Samsung I had a 37 inch Toshiba LCD which was about 4-5 years old.

First off, I was amazed at how thin and lightweight this set is. I lifted it out of the box and it was light as a feather compared to my old Toshiba. The outer bezel is very thin and hardly noticeable, and its thinness makes the TV seem even smaller. In fact I wish I had bought a larger size, but the 40" is honestly big enough for a small living room.

Set up was not as easy as I hoped. My old bracket was the perfect size but the screws were too small and too short to screw into the back of the Samsung. I had to take an emergency trip to B&Q to purchase an array of new screws and washers, and thankfully this sorted it. (A shame none come with the TV, though it does come with a sturdy-looking floor stand). Once on the wall, the second problem arose, and it's the same problem with most new TV sets: The mains power cable is way too short. It is maybe 1 meter long, and dangles off the wall and the plug is about 3 feet off the floor. I had the same problem with my old Toshiba. It's fine if you are using the floor stand, but for those of us wall mounting, it's a case of getting an ugly extension lead. OR, here's a better solution: I ordered a replacement 5 metre version of the double-pin mains lead from Amazon, however it wasn't official Samsung and appears Samsung don't supply longer cables. Just be aware that if your set is mounted closer than 1 inch to the wall, you will have problems getting a plug that fits the back of the set. (The L-shaped plug from Samsung does not appear available anywhere in a longer length. And believe me, I searched).

Once I got the set mounted and plugged in, it took me through an initial setup wizard. This was quick and easy. It even spotted my home network and let me connect straight away. I'm not that bothered about the Smart TV stuff (I have a PC for all that) but it was reassuring that it connected so easily. The picture setup was fairly simple, though I found it necessary to tweek the settings considerably once it was up and running. There are so many different settings to play with, and it can be overwhelming, but a bit of trial and error will get the picture you desire. I went for the 'Movie' preset and turned the LED backlight down about halfway.

Standard def is alright, not mind blowing, but perfectly good. HD TV is also good, but again not mind blowing. It is certainly a lot better than my old Toshiba.

And then we have the 3D functionality. Well, I must admit, I am impressed with this. My first 3D test was Marvel Avengers 3D on Blu Ray. The picture was impressive. Active 3D means you don't lose resolution, though you must tolerate some eye strain and it seems essential to use a darkened room, as everything outside the TV flickers in your peripheral vision. It should be noted, this is a general thing, not just for Samsung. However, one thing I am disappointed with is the 3D glasses packaged with this Samsung set. They work fine, but are hideously uncomfortable and look utterly ridiculous. Very cheap and plasticky, they seem designed for noses the width of a pencil and they don't even fold up like normal glasses. I will tolerate them for a while but I can see I'll have to get replacements one day.

The 3D picture itself is superb, at least on Blu Ray. (I don't have any 3D television channels so don't know about them). Also 2D on Blu Ray is very good. I found no problems whatsoever with motion blur or anything like that. Flawless really.

Sound is good, or as good as you might expect from a flat screen with concealed speakers. Perfectly adequate for normal TV viewing or fun movies. However I would recommend getting a proper 5.1 setup if you want to get the most from this.

Value for money is great with this set. But a word of caution: Track the price for a few days, as it seems to go up and down very frequently. I noticed after I placed my order, a few days later the price dropped by £20. And now, it's gone up again. So be careful to snag it when it's low if you're on a budget.

In summary: Good sound. Good picture. Difficult setup - especially 'physical' setup of wall mounting and cabling. 3D very good. 2D very good. SD good enough. HD good. Networking/smart features good enough, but I don't care that much about these.

An ideal entry level 3D tv for a small/medium living room.

EDIT: After 3 weeks of usage, a fault has developed where a vertical line of brightly coloured pixels appears in the middle of the screen. Adjusting the brightness/contrast helps to hide it, but it comes back randomly. Amazon have agreed to send a replacement so lets hope that won't have the same problem.

EDIT: This seems to have noticeable problem with vertical banding. Google it.

EDIT: The vertical banding has worsened considerably since I bought and installed this set. Internet searches tell me that it is a common problem with LCD sets but really this is unacceptable. Once you notice the stripes coming down the screen it's hard to ignore them. Lucky for me I don't watch football, apparently its terribly distracting on a screen full of green grass and lots of camera movement. I find the problem to be awful on scenes of blue skies - which show up the vertical stripes at their worst. Be aware, the set might appear great to begin with before it develops this problem after a few weeks. I am going to live with it until I get a new television by a different manufacturer maybe next year. I strongly suggest you search Google for some reviews of this television with regard to vertical banding issues - before you buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
I bought this TV after doing a lot of research. I even got a subscription to Which? so that I could have a look at their consumer reviews. At the time of this being written (Sept 2012) there seems to be a consensus among technology reviewers that Samsung are making the best TVs at the moment. The ES6300 seems to back up this viewpoint.

Firstly, the screen quality is outstanding. To be honest, at this price bracket there is probably little difference between the top makers (Sony, Panasonic etc). I have spent a long time walking through John Lewis, Currys and Comet looking at the different TVs and there has never been any that I've thought 'Thats awful!' (and really TVs in demo mode, under shop lights in a row with 20 other TVs are never going to replicate what its like in your home). However, I have been blown away by the quality of the ES6300 since I've got it home and had a chance to play with the settings. It can even make some Standard Definition TV look HD! The colours are vivid, blacks are deep and it looks incredibly smooth.

As for the 3D, I have played with this, watching a few programs in the TVs conversion of 2D to 3D, and it does add a level of depth but its not something you'd bother with every day. When you put on a 3D film though, it really is quite impressive and very immersing. I have only watched Cars 2 3D so far but that really did make it feel like objects were popping from the screen. As a point of note, I have found that its best to watch 3D in a darkened room with no shafts of sunlight coming in - only because a big contrast of light within the room while you are wearing the 3D glasses does tend to make the fact they are effectively flickering (I think about 60 times per second), much more apparent.

The Smart Hub is great and as more apps are created for it I'm sure it will become more and more useful. At the moment we only really use it for BBC iPlayer and that works brilliantly well (although we do have a slightly better than average broadband connection). The internet browsing I have just found too frustrating when you don't have a keyboard (or even the slightly faster reaction of typing using the PlayStation controller on a PS3) but I understand that hooking a wireless keyboard up is fairly straightforward and should make the internet side a lot more tolerable. The internet browser seems fine but it seems not to play videos particularly well (maybe it doesn't have a Flash player but I have found it doesn't play videos on Apple's website either!).

Setting up the TV was a doddle and after it had done a firmware update (and several software updates for the Smart Hub) it was ready to go within minutes. In terms of setting up the screen I have found a few people with several different ideas of the best way to get the best image but I strongly suspect it mainly comes down to personal preference. Personally my best piece of advice is to turn the sharpness right up as this is what turned a lot of SD images into appearing almost HD! A friend of mine has a an additional sound system for his TV and I considered one for this, but to be honest I don't think it really needs it - the sounds are surprisingly crisp, clear and deep. I also have an external hard drive attached and video playback off it is perfect. The TV seems to recognise all the major video file formats so its had no problem playing things recorded off another TV, from my camera or downloaded videos. Unfortunately my HDD was already formatted in a different way from which the TV can record too (FAT32), so maybe buy a large capacity and fast connection (above 4.6mps) USB key if you want to record off the TV. A friend has just bought a wireless external HDD and he has found that to be excellent with his Samsung TV (and older 6 series).

All in all I really don't think you can get a better TV for the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
Picture fantastic but had a hiccough installing the firmware for iplayer. So, my tips! Follow the instructions to the letter. My failures went like this. I copied the firmware that I had downloaded from the site onto a USB stick that had other files on. Wrong. It has to be a completely clear, empty USB stick. You have to install the firmware on to your COMPUTER before you think of putting into the USB slot on the TV. First you will extract the files that should be done automatically. Next you have to RUN the file on your computer. Copy the final T-xxxx file on to the USB stick and then go to MENU > SUPPORT > SOFTWARE UPDATE > USB. So easy when you know how. It is all described but you only have to miss a stage and it fails. For this 37 inch TV the latest, as at July 10th 2012, was their update ending in xxxx 23-1, but it came with xxxx 19-1 installed. Then, a few weeks later it announced on screen that it was going to update (via our wired link to our router always on), and it did so automatically with no problems at all!! Good luck as iplayer is brilliant on this SMART TV. Wish I was as smart!
Update! We are thrilled with how brilliant our photos look straight off the USB/Sd card adapter (as sold on Amazon for 1.75) in the top USB slot, using "SOURCE" to navigate to the right place. The bottom USB one is too close to the protruding edge of the moulding for anything but a lead in. Love the way iplayer is intelligent enough to go to full screen automatically when you decide to 'play' and reverts to the menu screen when it the video ends. Iplayer looks like normal transmissions and the rest is just amazing. The quality of the picture is just so amazing. (It ages people as it shows every hair, wrinkle and blemish!) 3D is good, rather too good in a way as it is not quite like the real world, exaggerating distances, but my husband hates it. Some people's vision is just not suitable for 3D. He can't cope. We get our TV through Sky in case this matters. The code that we found after trying out three from six offered by SKY is 0646. By the way, we added another for the bedroom as the comparison was so stark!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
I actually upgrade from a Samsung ES6100 32" which I bought only six months ago (gifted to mother-in-law), so I can explain the improvements in this version.

Firstly the smart menu is much faster, and easier to navigate as a result, still not super fast like I imagine the 6800 series would be, but it does me fine and it is my most used feature. I use this a lot to access Netflixs and Lovefilm, also Youtube and iPlayer etc. Here the quality is good, it depends on your internet connection of course, and that may suffer if all your neighbours are downloading, but I find I actually get a much better picture on these streaming sites then I do from normal TV. I also download films, then simply transfer that film onto a usb stick and plug into the TV to watch, it could not be simpler.

If you download Samsung `All-Share' to your computer you can also share folders. The wife loves this as I have shared the picture folders on my PC, so she can sit there viewing photos in glorious high resolution ( I also have a great camera) on the TV, it is so much better than going to boots and paying a ton for a few crappy photo print-outs. You can also use this to watch movies straight from your PC, but my BT router does not like having a non-computer on the network and falls down periodically, needing a reset. Since I have not yet figured out how to fix this yet, it is easier to watch a movie from usb than having to reset the router a couple of times during a film.

A word of warning on the size, I went for a 46". Unless you happen to live in Balmoral and sit 15 feet away from the screen you will fine normal Standard Definition (SD) TV a little crappy. Sort of 80's standard. Its still watchable, but not great. DVDs will be better, but again not great. A TV of this size sort of needs High Definition (HD) broadcasts, BlueRay, or in my case a fast internet so your streams and downloads can all be done in the HD formats. Its not really a problem for me since I hardly ever watch live SD TV. However, I do wonder if for the money I should have got the 40" and 6800 version with the faster processor, but I think its marginal. After all there is nothing like watching a HD film on a massive screen in your own lounge. Its why we bought it and saves us £20 every time we don't go to the cinema. Plus I'm sure within 5 years there will be a lot more HD broadcasts.

The only real negatives I can think about with the TV is the standard picture settings are poor, but another reviewer here gives optimal settings that can be easily adjusted to. Also the bloatware that comes installed, but actually its not too bad, certainty less then a lot of products. The other negative is the fact that some IP's and their routers don't like having non-PCs on a network, but that is something I need to fix on the BT/Router end, not the TV end. I'm not worried about it, I just need to set aside some time to Googlise the answer. Overall its a great set, just stick to 40" if SD TV is important to you.

[Edit] When I bought this set I completely ignored its 3D capabilities, was not interested. Now I have actually watched a couple of 3D blueray movies and I'm blown away, definitely at least equal to the cinema 3D if not better. From now on I get all my new movies in 3D version if possible.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
I hope I never have children, as I could never love them like I love my Samsung TV.

I am a very technical person. I love my computer, I love my technology. I had a 10 year old CRT TV that needed replacing. I wanted to buy a TV that I could keep for a very long time. That could become part of my family. I found true love and more in the Samsung UE46ES6300.

My criteria for a TV were that it needed to be high quality, at least 42 inch, capable of playing movies of various formats across my network, customisable, have a good range of apps, and be beautiful. And be less than £1000. I watch TV quite regularly but audio/visual is not a real passion of mine - you won't find me plugging in giant speakers or measuring the tiniest variations in picture quality. I wanted something that walked the fine line between being brilliant out of the box but also flexible to my requirements.

Let's talk details.

-Look
It's beautiful. Sleek, black, and understated. For a TV of its size (46inch), it doesn't feel too big in the room. In fact, my partner and I spent some time just looking at the TV before actually plugging it in. The screen is slightly reflective but not too bad. It looks like a piece of art. That's right - this TV is so beautiful you can watch it when it's turned off.

-Set-up and Networking
Screwing on the stand was very easy - there is little physical set-up required. This TV has wireless built in. It does, it does. And it works so very, very well. Set up was done within minutes. Freeview HD tuned. Network logged in. Firmware updated. Apps loaded. Streaming through iPlayer across my wireless network is a charm. I have even used the web browser to watch videos and use sites, and it's surprisingly useful - though you'll want to use your phone to help type. It's not something I would use for day-to-day browsing but it's great if you just have to have a giant version of your favourite website in front of you.

-Picture
The picture is phenomenal. Amazing. Wonderful. There are not enough superlatives to describe it. There are a great deal of settings to play with, as others have said before, and you WILL need to spend an hour or two setting them up just the way you like. The MotionPlus feature which smooths movement and gives an effective refresh rate of 200hz (I know, my mind was also blown) is so effective at making things look realistic that on standard settings it makes regular movies look like crappy daytime soaps. The movement is so smooth, the lighting so well managed, that it doesn't look like a film any more, it looks like a documentary. The 'Movie' preset is a must - it artificially washes out colours, slows the refresh and generally makes the movie look more like a movie. I do however thoroughly recommend that you enjoy this TV at its best by leaving the regular presets in place and watching Wicker Man with Nicolas Cage. (It must be a terrible film.) The TV picks out all the terrible bits of set, all the awful nuances of the actor's face, and generally makes the film look like it was made of a budget of £40. Honestly, try it. It's brilliant. Then use the Movie preset to actually enjoy a proper film.

I connected this with a Sony blu-ray player. We only have one Blu-ray disc right now (Up by Pixar) so stuck that on. Within 7 seconds of starting the film, I understand what it must be like to be on some incredible, spiritual journey. The colours were so rich, the characters so detailed, it really felt like it was just a window into a beautiful world of talking dogs and balloons. Documentaries are similarly amazing.

-Sound
I care not for floor-trembling bass or angel-like treble. As long as it's clear that's fine for me. The inbuilt speakers are perfect for my needs and will probably be for most people too. The fact that I don't actually know where in the TV the speakers are only adds to the aura of magic.

-3D
I did not want 3D in my TV - I couldn't care less about it. But this was the best TV for my other criteria so I got it anyway. And since I had it, hey, why not try it out. The 3D glasses included are fine to wear, even over my own regular glasses. I do not have any 3D films so can't properly comment, but once the glasses are turned on and connected to the TV (active shutter sorcery), you can turn on false 3D on any channel or DVD. I tried on the opening scene of my 2d, standard DVD of Gladiator. And I was really impressed. The effect worked surprisingly well and didn't give me any headache like passive glasses usually do. I can only be glad that it wasn't a true 3D version of the film, as I would have probably been screaming in terror at the horses galloping towards my face. A brilliant toy and for someone like me who doesn't really care about 3D, absolutely worth having. Looking forward to trying it properly with a 3D film.

-Apps
iPlayer, Lovefilm and YouTube are the ones I've tried and they all work excellently. Great quality stream, easy to use, quick. I have not much else to add.

-Remote control
This gets its own category on account of how incredible they are. The TV remote is easy to use and comfortable. When I was testing the TV with a DVD, I realised that I had been using the TV remote to control the DVD player - and it had been working! The DVD player is Sony. I had not set it up to do this in any way, it just had. The only explanation I can think of is witchcraft. Just to make things even more brilliant, I thought I'd try the Samsung Remote app on my Android phone (HTC Desire). I didn't really think it would work, but once connected to the home wireless, it just did. Really well. You get a full remote on your phone, you can use the phone keyboard when typing (e.g. using the browser), it gives you impressively responsive volume control etc - almost as quick as using the proper remote.

-Summary
I have not yet had a chance to check video streaming from my network drive but will edit when I have. Even if it doesn't work at all, this TV will still be one of the very best purchases I have ever made. It has made watching TV and films such a joy and even makes my living room look better. Don't think about it any more, buy this TV.

Samsung TV, welcome to the family. I love you.
11 Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
Samsung UE50ES6300 3D Full HD 1080p Smart 3D LED TV with Wi-Fi built-in and Freeview HD and 2 x glasses included (New for 2012)
Ok I don't usually review stuff but felt the need for this Samsung TV and to alay any fears from people reading some derogatory feedback!
Slow Smart TV - Simple if your broadband isn't up to the job it obviously won't be a pleasurable experience
Poor picture quality - check your aerial /sat dish if you've got a rust bucket on the side of your house don't bother purchasing
Poor Sound - The sound on this TV (Movie in sound settings) is first class I have a surround system which I use for movies but genuinely don't bother for standard TV the speakers are in the rear of what is an ultra slim bezel and literally bounces the sound of the walls behind it.
Sound issues with a optical cable - I have played through a PS3/DVD player and the TV using an optical splitter without any such problems
Clouding-again not on my set not on the main screen the corners or the edges as some have noted
Amazon - ordered on a Monday at 4.15 for next day delivery was in my front room at 9.30 the following morning all for the princely sum of £7.99!!! I have experienced Amazons return policy and it is first class other companies should take note

The TV itself is ultra slim I had been following the 46" screen for some time keeping an eye on reviewers and hoping for a price fall when I realised I could get the 50" at a price the other model was at some months earlier so at just above £1000 considering I bought a Panasonic 42" six years earlier for £2500 this is amazing value
On HD the picture is without doubt as good as anything I've seen ,watching The Great British Bake Off I swear I could of dipped my finger in Marys marshmallow (if I was that way inclined) OK on SD it depends on the original transmission some is as good as you may expect and some on a large screen isn't great but can't blame the TV for that I expected it.
On 3d some have said nothing sticks out at you like in the cinema well I watched Hugo and a scene where a guitar juts out of the screen was good enough for me I could of tuned the damn thing! And again I'm not sitting in a cinema with a screen the size of a double decker bus
Smart TV - BBC iPlayer is first class no buffering probs at all and ok the apps aren't up to much but then again I don't want to play games on it Hopefully C4 and C5 will be on soon.
Recording TV to a memory stick is simple again as long as you buy the correct one in the first place only real down side is you can't record and watch another channel but you do have the option of watching on demand TV and recording at the same time I have no doubt they will fit a dual connector in future .
All in all this is a fantastic purchase at this price and would recommend it to anyone.

NB accidentally sat on the remote the other night only to find you can pause live TV didn't know of this option when I purchased.Amazon I need 6 stars.
77 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
I've just bought the 37" model for my parents. It was simple to get going and hooked up to a Humax HDR-Fox T2 Freeview box (via HDMI) and Alba DVD player (via full size SCART socket) without problems.. in fact, even my Dad managed to do all that without assistance ;)

Here are the picture settings I used. Turning off all the motion plus stuff, that I dislike, since it gives an unnatural look to motion.. almost looking like it's been sped up.

Backlight: 14, Contrast: 80, Brightness: 47,
Sharpening: 40, Colour: 50, Tint: 50/50.
Dyn Contrast: Low, Black: Dark
Colour tone: Std, Digital Noise: Low, MPEG: Low,
Film mode: Off, Motion Plus: Off, LED Motion Plus: Off

The picture is nice and bright in a relatively light living room. Reflections aren't bad either.

Sound isn't bad.. I've used the equaliser to push up the high and low frequencies. I don't think my parents are bothered about a sound bar any more. I prefer to have some bass, so would hook it up to a proper amp + speakers.

Picture quality from the connected equipment is really good; just what I'd expect - there was a small amount of clouding at the edges, but nothing that spoilt watching films at night time & definitely not at a level where I'd particularly notice it all the time (and I'm really picky about that kind of stuff.. returning my last Samsung 3 times before I got a panel I was happy with).

We've not used the internal tuners so I can't comment on them. Nor did we look at the Smart TV services, due to lack of networking in their house :)

The thin bezel makes it look really good.. my Samsung 8000 model looks dated! Seriously considering putting that in the kitchen and getting a new 50" Samsung for the living room.

UPDATE - After a couple of years, I've downgraded this review to a 2-star rating. Just visited my parents and saw that the TV has severe light bleeding from the top right edge, even if the scene is just normally lit. Can see it happening on the right side as well, but not as bad. Very poor to have this happen only a few years into the purchase.. but of course, it's outside the warranty. Not impressed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
I am not going to mention the picture or sound quality. I'm not going to talk about the apps. All these have been fully covered by other reviewers and I fully endorse how great these qualities are. I wish to talk about 'add ons' to the Samsung Smart TV which, unlike me, may negate you buying unnecessary equipment as this TV does it all.

The Samsung SMART TV opens up so much access to entertainment that I decided to discontinue my Sky TV subscription. I appreciate this is purely subjective but I don't miss it one bit. The other good thing (for me) is that as a result of the Sky package I had, the TV virtually pays for itself in about one year as a result of the savings I have made from cancelling my Sky subscription.

I decided I wanted to use Freesat with the TV in lieu of Sky(I of course had the dish fitted by SKY). I therefore bought a Freesat module. This was a mistake because all I had to do with this TV is connect the Sky dish lead directly into the TV and tune the TV to FREESAT. This is quite easily done from the menu. Just select FREESAT from the column marked 'digital' I advise you to be careful here because other satellite options (Astra & Eurosat) are offered up on the menu. Although you are able to tune to both these satellites, the TV guide is a bit of a mess. For example, you get four or five Channels tuned into Channel 4 TV. Also, there is no BBC1 HD or BBC HD channel on the Astra satellite (at least I couldn't find it). Once I tuned into FREESAT, everything was as it should be and the TV menu guide is exactly the same as the TV guide produced by the Freesat module.

Having disconnected the Sky box, I had no means of recording television programmes. Fortunately, The Samsung Smart TV allows you to connect an external HDD drive and use that to record programmes. I just happened to have an old 500Gb external hard drive (Mains powered) handy and therefore fitted that to the TV. It works like a charm. (you can also connect an external HDD drive that is not mains powered i.e. simply connecting via the HDD's USB connector).

To record a programme, you do exactly as you would do with the Sky box; go to the TV menu and click on the programme you want to record. You will then get the option either to record the programme or schedule it for viewing. If you select record and the programme is one of a series, you will then be given the option to record the whole series or just the one episode. The TV will carry out the recording whilst in Standby mode. An one hour long HD programme uses about 38Gb of memory on the hard drive. Playback quality is superb.

The only disadvantage with the external hard drive compered to the Sky box is that you can only record one programme at a time and the TV will switch to the programme that is being recorded; in other words, you can't watch one programme and record another at the same time. However, most TV channels will re-broadcast the same episode later in the week and late at night. That is when I make recordings; while I'm tucked up in bed asleep.

There is of course various iplayers you can connect to through the apps on the TV. I don't make recordings from channels that have this facility. Frustratingly, the one that is not available to Samsung is 4oD and therefore Channel 4 is where I make most of my recordings (OK I'm a Homeland Fan).

As for movies, I subscribe to LoveFilm and for £4.99 a month (at time of writing) I have access to 'Watch now' movies, a lot of which are in HD. Also, Lovefilm has a lot of old TV series for instant viewing; 24, Lost, Greys Anantomy and the like. All the apps are connected via WiFi to the internet. It is advisable therefore to have a contract with your broadband provider that gives you unlimited broadband access.

Why did I say experiment? Well, the hard copy instructions that is supplied with the TV is very basic. You therefore have to rely on the 'electronic' guide found in the menu of the TV. This can be a bit cumbersome trying to find a solution to what you want to do with the TV.

Other devices (that I haven't tried yet)that can be connected to the TV include a computer keyboard and mouse. This connection is made via Bluetooth. I intend to purchase these in the near future to make it easier to connect with and use the World Wide Web through the TV.

The only advice I can give is before you buy a peripheral (if that is the right word) for this TV, have a look on the back to see if there is a socket that will fit something you already have (satellite connection). Enjoy the TV, I do.
2525 Comments| 478 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
I can't fault this TV...

Very easy set up
Good smart TV interface with plenty of Apps
Fantastic picture

The sound is good but I've added a Sonos Play Bar to give me a excellent entertainment system.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here