Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 5 October 2012
To put this review in context, prior to this Samsung I had a 37 inch Toshiba LCD which was about 4-5 years old.

First off, I was amazed at how thin and lightweight this set is. I lifted it out of the box and it was light as a feather compared to my old Toshiba. The outer bezel is very thin and hardly noticeable, and its thinness makes the TV seem even smaller. In fact I wish I had bought a larger size, but the 40" is honestly big enough for a small living room.

Set up was not as easy as I hoped. My old bracket was the perfect size but the screws were too small and too short to screw into the back of the Samsung. I had to take an emergency trip to B&Q to purchase an array of new screws and washers, and thankfully this sorted it. (A shame none come with the TV, though it does come with a sturdy-looking floor stand). Once on the wall, the second problem arose, and it's the same problem with most new TV sets: The mains power cable is way too short. It is maybe 1 meter long, and dangles off the wall and the plug is about 3 feet off the floor. I had the same problem with my old Toshiba. It's fine if you are using the floor stand, but for those of us wall mounting, it's a case of getting an ugly extension lead. OR, here's a better solution: I ordered a replacement 5 metre version of the double-pin mains lead from Amazon, however it wasn't official Samsung and appears Samsung don't supply longer cables. Just be aware that if your set is mounted closer than 1 inch to the wall, you will have problems getting a plug that fits the back of the set. (The L-shaped plug from Samsung does not appear available anywhere in a longer length. And believe me, I searched).

Once I got the set mounted and plugged in, it took me through an initial setup wizard. This was quick and easy. It even spotted my home network and let me connect straight away. I'm not that bothered about the Smart TV stuff (I have a PC for all that) but it was reassuring that it connected so easily. The picture setup was fairly simple, though I found it necessary to tweek the settings considerably once it was up and running. There are so many different settings to play with, and it can be overwhelming, but a bit of trial and error will get the picture you desire. I went for the 'Movie' preset and turned the LED backlight down about halfway.

Standard def is alright, not mind blowing, but perfectly good. HD TV is also good, but again not mind blowing. It is certainly a lot better than my old Toshiba.

And then we have the 3D functionality. Well, I must admit, I am impressed with this. My first 3D test was Marvel Avengers 3D on Blu Ray. The picture was impressive. Active 3D means you don't lose resolution, though you must tolerate some eye strain and it seems essential to use a darkened room, as everything outside the TV flickers in your peripheral vision. It should be noted, this is a general thing, not just for Samsung. However, one thing I am disappointed with is the 3D glasses packaged with this Samsung set. They work fine, but are hideously uncomfortable and look utterly ridiculous. Very cheap and plasticky, they seem designed for noses the width of a pencil and they don't even fold up like normal glasses. I will tolerate them for a while but I can see I'll have to get replacements one day.

The 3D picture itself is superb, at least on Blu Ray. (I don't have any 3D television channels so don't know about them). Also 2D on Blu Ray is very good. I found no problems whatsoever with motion blur or anything like that. Flawless really.

Sound is good, or as good as you might expect from a flat screen with concealed speakers. Perfectly adequate for normal TV viewing or fun movies. However I would recommend getting a proper 5.1 setup if you want to get the most from this.

Value for money is great with this set. But a word of caution: Track the price for a few days, as it seems to go up and down very frequently. I noticed after I placed my order, a few days later the price dropped by £20. And now, it's gone up again. So be careful to snag it when it's low if you're on a budget.

In summary: Good sound. Good picture. Difficult setup - especially 'physical' setup of wall mounting and cabling. 3D very good. 2D very good. SD good enough. HD good. Networking/smart features good enough, but I don't care that much about these.

An ideal entry level 3D tv for a small/medium living room.

EDIT: After 3 weeks of usage, a fault has developed where a vertical line of brightly coloured pixels appears in the middle of the screen. Adjusting the brightness/contrast helps to hide it, but it comes back randomly. Amazon have agreed to send a replacement so lets hope that won't have the same problem.

EDIT: This seems to have noticeable problem with vertical banding. Google it.

EDIT: The vertical banding has worsened considerably since I bought and installed this set. Internet searches tell me that it is a common problem with LCD sets but really this is unacceptable. Once you notice the stripes coming down the screen it's hard to ignore them. Lucky for me I don't watch football, apparently its terribly distracting on a screen full of green grass and lots of camera movement. I find the problem to be awful on scenes of blue skies - which show up the vertical stripes at their worst. Be aware, the set might appear great to begin with before it develops this problem after a few weeks. I am going to live with it until I get a new television by a different manufacturer maybe next year. I strongly suggest you search Google for some reviews of this television with regard to vertical banding issues - before you buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2012
Picture fantastic but had a hiccough installing the firmware for iplayer. So, my tips! Follow the instructions to the letter. My failures went like this. I copied the firmware that I had downloaded from the site onto a USB stick that had other files on. Wrong. It has to be a completely clear, empty USB stick. You have to install the firmware on to your COMPUTER before you think of putting into the USB slot on the TV. First you will extract the files that should be done automatically. Next you have to RUN the file on your computer. Copy the final T-xxxx file on to the USB stick and then go to MENU > SUPPORT > SOFTWARE UPDATE > USB. So easy when you know how. It is all described but you only have to miss a stage and it fails. For this 37 inch TV the latest, as at July 10th 2012, was their update ending in xxxx 23-1, but it came with xxxx 19-1 installed. Then, a few weeks later it announced on screen that it was going to update (via our wired link to our router always on), and it did so automatically with no problems at all!! Good luck as iplayer is brilliant on this SMART TV. Wish I was as smart!
Update! We are thrilled with how brilliant our photos look straight off the USB/Sd card adapter (as sold on Amazon for 1.75) in the top USB slot, using "SOURCE" to navigate to the right place. The bottom USB one is too close to the protruding edge of the moulding for anything but a lead in. Love the way iplayer is intelligent enough to go to full screen automatically when you decide to 'play' and reverts to the menu screen when it the video ends. Iplayer looks like normal transmissions and the rest is just amazing. The quality of the picture is just so amazing. (It ages people as it shows every hair, wrinkle and blemish!) 3D is good, rather too good in a way as it is not quite like the real world, exaggerating distances, but my husband hates it. Some people's vision is just not suitable for 3D. He can't cope. We get our TV through Sky in case this matters. The code that we found after trying out three from six offered by SKY is 0646. By the way, we added another for the bedroom as the comparison was so stark!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2013
The picture settings for this TV are awkward to set up and it was hard to find out a way to reset the TV fully, in order to get rid of network settings. For those of you still unable to find out how to do this, all you need do is put the TV on standby and then push these buttons in order on the remote: 'info, menu, mute, power' the TV will then turn itself on and display a menu.

The 3D is decent enough, and unlike passive 3D seen in the LG 2012 TV's the active 3D that this Samsung TV has, outputs a full 3D HD image. However, the supplied active glasses flicker on and off on each eye to create the 3D effect. This can be fatiguing for ones eyes, whereas with the passive 3D technology eye fatigue is significantly less.

Only 3 x HDMI ports on the TV, I think if you use your TV a lot you may want one with at least 4 HDMI ports fitted. There as a SCART socket in the back of this TV, so if you have any machines that still use this connection, (such as a VCR) you won't need to purchase any additional accessories.

The Smart TV feature is a little sluggish. The similar 2012 LG 3D Smart TV's features were more responsive. Saying that, the Samsung Smart TV appears to be the only TV manufacturer that offers all the TV catch-up services: BBC iPlayer, iTV Player, 4OD and Demand 5. When I tried iTV Player, it wasn't an overly smooth experience in navigating to access programmes and I did experience a programme failing to load.

The buttons on the remote are decently laid out, and the remote has a pleasant design to it.

This TV also features both Freeview HD and Freesat HD, which is unusual to see on a 3D Smart TV at this price point. Both these services were easy to set up and worked as expected.

I was pleased to see that this TV has built in Wi-Fi, meaning you don't have to purchase an expensive adapter. Two active 3D glasses are included with batteries, so you can enjoy 3D content with someone else straightaway.

The sound on this TV is very good and I was impressed with the overall quality. For me, however, there were not enough picture controls and I wasn't satisfied with the resulting images that I saw on HD content. A TV's picture quality, along with its sound, should be the most important factors of a TV. Unfortunately I found the picture quality was not as good as the sound from this TV. As such, I can't recommend this TV as there are better alternatives out there that offer better pictures controls, a faster menu navigation and SmartTV experience.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2013
I ordered this tv a couple of months ago and was delighted with the great picture quality but there was however some backlight breakthrough in the top and bottom right hand corners of the screen, a very common problem with this tv and after a couple of months it began to bug me so I sent a picture of the problem to Amazon and within 48 hours a brand new replacement turned up, one of the reasons I buy nearly everything from Amazon their customer services are the best around.

On setting the new tv up I immediately looked for any flashlighting.or clouding but joy of joys everything looked just fine BUT it was when I was adjusting the picture controls that I noticed a dramatic difference compared to the previous model. The contrast ratio appeared to have improved significantly. Whites were still bright and clear without bleaching out detail but blacks were now jet black instead of sometimes appearing a dark grey. At first I thought it was my settings so I set each tv equally but this improvement was still very noticeable. The whole picture was transformed with the better contrast ratio making everything better and more realistic with improved detail and rich sumptuous eye popping colours. It was even noticeable on the EPG where greys looked slightly darker and the black area at the bottom of the screen, which glowed on the old model, appeared as black as the frame itself on the new model. I can only compare it to a photograph which has been over exposed on the original model but correctly exposed on the new one.

The mystery was why were two identical models so different? I even checked the model number to make sure Amazon had sent me the right one but the boxes were identical and there wasn't any clue in the serial numbers either. Finally the mystery was solved when I checked the model and serial numbers on the tv's themselves. Just under the model number on the original tv it said 'Version 3' but on the replacement model it said 'Version 4'.

Only Samsung would know what the differences were but whatever they did it improved the picture by a significant margin, and that together with no backlight bleed was a big big bonus.

I gave the original model 5 stars but I would give the new one a 6+ if it was possble. Thank you Samsung and an even bigger thank you to Amazon for being so helpful and understanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2012
Setup was very easy, a wizard takes you through the process. Wireless connected with using WPA2 with no configuration beyond the passkey. Youtube and iPlayer work fine, with iPlayer looking great. Some other video services available, eg music, Vimeo, as well.

Was pleasantly surprised that the HD freeview picture was there, have had doubts about our aerial and heard that terrestrial HD needs good reception, but worked with no bother.

Freesat didn't work well, but the dish looks ancient and hasn't been used for about 5 years anyway, took quiet a battering during the last couple of winters from high winds, so not too surprised there.

The 3D is a bit of a gimmick in my opinion, but the daughter (5) likes it, so not entirely a waste. BBC HD showed Wimbledon in 3D, and the Youtube channel has some 3D content as well, handily arranged into a playlist for demoing.

Remote control is pretty much the same as the previous Samsung TV, so no trouble getting used to it. UI for EPG and options is also similar, clear and easy to navigate.

Visually, it is a very slim and elegant TV, wins the wife approval. It is a 40" which replaced a 32" model, but due to the much slimmer bezel, only takes up an extra 3" diagonal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2014
Am one who normally assumes that the majority rules but holy cow... as some have stated before unless you are watching a programme that has continual brightness then the picture quality is poor.
What I mean by this is that in dark scenes you have patches of white shade all over the place which have exacerbated over the last six months (I have had the tv for a year now). Even worse, a squiggle that looks like a large tadpole has emerged on the right hand side of the screen.
We bought this because with young kids we normally stay in and want to watch films at home when relaxing or the odd TV series... this tv is not the one and particularly disappointing as Samsung also sponsors my beloved Chelsea!
Unfortunately our window to return the item expired a month after buying the product... everything else about it is fine. Don't trust product reviews and go to a shop yourself to have a look first - this is the lesson I have learnt when buying such items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2012
I already own a [ASIN:B004ZC3JP2 LG 42LW450U 42-inch Widescreen Cinema Full HD 1080p 3D 100Hz LED TV with Freeview]but had to buy a wireless adaptor to connect my Smart TV DVD 3D Blu-ray to it to access the Apps via NetCast. NetCast doesnt really have that much to offer with only: Netflix, You Tube, Picassa, AccuWeather, BBC iPlayer, vTuner, acetrax, CineTrailer, Aupeo. I was really disappointed with this content as I was expecting to see, Facebook, Skype etc.

Anyway, I was looking for a tv for my bedroom and when I come across the Samsung with WIFI built in, and all the Apps I'd be looking to use such as Skype, Facebook, LoveFilm, Twitter, Google Talk, Netflix, Yahoo to name but a few, plus the ability to search and download much much more via Samsung Apps direct to your TV (see link for more info [...]) - so this TV was a no brainer.

I also saved myself a further £78 by ordering an Amazon Warehouse Deal - which arrived 2 days later beating the estimated del date of 4-5 days. It said original packaging damaged - but when it arrived the packaging was fine. Ok, you could tell the box had been opened previously but the goods themselves were still in the original plastic wrapping and nothing was missing or damaged in any way. So I Was extremely pleased.

It was easy to set up and the colours and sounds were amazing. I connected to the internet straight away and started exploring. In regards to content and sound I feel that it seems a better TV than my LG although the only downside to the Samsung would be that I now need to purchase Active glasses whereas my LG are passive! But thats ok, and I knew that before I made my purchase. Once I buy these I will no doubt compare and come back to you.

Only other thing I'd mention is that Amazon have this down as Energy Efficient "A" but it is actually "B"

Other than that - get buying, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2012
I bought this TV after doing a lot of research. I even got a subscription to Which? so that I could have a look at their consumer reviews. At the time of this being written (Sept 2012) there seems to be a consensus among technology reviewers that Samsung are making the best TVs at the moment. The ES6300 seems to back up this viewpoint.

Firstly, the screen quality is outstanding. To be honest, at this price bracket there is probably little difference between the top makers (Sony, Panasonic etc). I have spent a long time walking through John Lewis, Currys and Comet looking at the different TVs and there has never been any that I've thought 'Thats awful!' (and really TVs in demo mode, under shop lights in a row with 20 other TVs are never going to replicate what its like in your home). However, I have been blown away by the quality of the ES6300 since I've got it home and had a chance to play with the settings. It can even make some Standard Definition TV look HD! The colours are vivid, blacks are deep and it looks incredibly smooth.

As for the 3D, I have played with this, watching a few programs in the TVs conversion of 2D to 3D, and it does add a level of depth but its not something you'd bother with every day. When you put on a 3D film though, it really is quite impressive and very immersing. I have only watched Cars 2 3D so far but that really did make it feel like objects were popping from the screen. As a point of note, I have found that its best to watch 3D in a darkened room with no shafts of sunlight coming in - only because a big contrast of light within the room while you are wearing the 3D glasses does tend to make the fact they are effectively flickering (I think about 60 times per second), much more apparent.

The Smart Hub is great and as more apps are created for it I'm sure it will become more and more useful. At the moment we only really use it for BBC iPlayer and that works brilliantly well (although we do have a slightly better than average broadband connection). The internet browsing I have just found too frustrating when you don't have a keyboard (or even the slightly faster reaction of typing using the PlayStation controller on a PS3) but I understand that hooking a wireless keyboard up is fairly straightforward and should make the internet side a lot more tolerable. The internet browser seems fine but it seems not to play videos particularly well (maybe it doesn't have a Flash player but I have found it doesn't play videos on Apple's website either!).

Setting up the TV was a doddle and after it had done a firmware update (and several software updates for the Smart Hub) it was ready to go within minutes. In terms of setting up the screen I have found a few people with several different ideas of the best way to get the best image but I strongly suspect it mainly comes down to personal preference. Personally my best piece of advice is to turn the sharpness right up as this is what turned a lot of SD images into appearing almost HD! A friend of mine has a an additional sound system for his TV and I considered one for this, but to be honest I don't think it really needs it - the sounds are surprisingly crisp, clear and deep. I also have an external hard drive attached and video playback off it is perfect. The TV seems to recognise all the major video file formats so its had no problem playing things recorded off another TV, from my camera or downloaded videos. Unfortunately my HDD was already formatted in a different way from which the TV can record too (FAT32), so maybe buy a large capacity and fast connection (above 4.6mps) USB key if you want to record off the TV. A friend has just bought a wireless external HDD and he has found that to be excellent with his Samsung TV (and older 6 series).

All in all I really don't think you can get a better TV for the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2013
Got this TV for the sun room. I have the 52" Plasma version in my Livingroom. The LED backlight makes for much clearer and sharper images with more vibrant colours. I have a NAS drive that I use to store music, pictures and films. Connected through Wifi, HD playback is impossible. This is as much part of the 8011 standard as it is the TV so I connected via Ethernet and play back is just like watching normal TV. There are issues with some video playbacks like MKV but subsequent firmware updates seem to have resolved this.
The slim line bezel gives the TV an expensive look and the illusion that its floating once fixed to the wall. This is a great TV one which we regularly enjoy watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2013
This is my second Samsung LED flatscreen and I have been very impressed with both. This one in particular has a great picture, decent sound (although I mostly listen via an AV-receiver), good 3d and internet access. The built in HD Freesat and HD Freeview are a bonus too. Really pleased with it.

After writing the above 5* review some small parallel vertical lines appeared on the screen, over the following days they multiplied and grew from a couple of centimetres long to almost the length of the screen. You can even see them when the TV is switched off. Amazon are sending another one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here