Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2012
The Great Lake Swimmers have ploughed a similar vein with each new release, beefing up their sound each time. Haunting, acoustic numbers; simple but catchy tunes.

The new album, `New Wild Everywhere' aims to expand their sound further, with more instrumentation and a warmer reverb. It works in places, with many more upbeat numbers. - in other places some songs become slightly bland and formulaic. Musicianship is excellent throughout and fans will be happy enough with this release. The first track `Think that you might be wrong' is pleasant, with sweeping strings and harmony. The title track, beefed out with drums, is jaunty, upbeat. Banjos and violin drive `Ballad of a Fisherman's Wife'.

The rest of the album drifts by - thoughtful compositions, banjo, bass, cello, accordion and strings contributing towards a sweet, late night summer sound.

GLS have expanded their sound on this album. Indeed live, these songs may take on new life. They're certainly foot stomping, clappy tunes to please some and fans will be pleased with the `bonus disc' of extra material. At times, the quieter songs, such as the closer `On the water' capture their beautiful, delicate sound perfectly. Whilst I can't revel in this release, it will doubtless grow on me and form part of a pleasing soundtrack to the summer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
Very subtle and beautiful album, one of the biggest sleeper hits of 2012 for me. Having heard the Great Exhale once was enough for me to buy the album, but i keep finding myself going back to this album time and time again. Never really heard of this band before, but i will certainly take notice of them now. Try it, you'll like it and for 3.99, it's about the same price as a pint of beer now so well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
These guys recently toured the UK as support for Mumford and Sons. They are melodic and easy listening with an alternative folk / country sound. Ones to watch for the future, no doubt.

If you mix together some of the early Eagles melodies and Fleet Foxes, this is probably the sound that you would achieve?

Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Another excellent offering from what I think is the most underrated band out there. No great innovation from lost channels or ongiara but beautifully played, rich harmonies and tunes that stick in the mind. If you like fleet foxes or the low anthem you should love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
I have to admit i was first drawn to this by the cover as i'd never heard of the group. I'm so glad my attention was caught because I love it. Even though it is classed as folk,it's fresh. I highly recommend listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
If you're looking for something calm but a little bit different then give this a go.
I had this on my Spotify list for months and then decided to buy it as i loved it so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 April 2012
Echoing the previous reviewer's 5 star review I highly recommend this album to anyone who has enjoyed any of the previous GLS albums. The template has been tweaked a bit, the songs a bit more jaunty perhaps than previous outings, but on the whole the "if it ain't broke don't fix it" ethos applies nicely here. Having said that, there is no resting on laurels, there is absolutely no filler and all songs are immediately memorable foot-tappers or mellifluous ballads. I would say the music on this album is most similar to early Jayhawks releases with a Thomas Hansen (St Thomas) vocal style, if that makes sense. Nevertheless any fan of folk/country should invest in this which is a snip at the download price by the way.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
mellow music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£7.99
£9.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here