Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2000
selection of tail-to-tail short stories, leads the reader imaginatively from one to the next. Not classic Gierach but still better than most.Most people will be able to sit there, nodding to themselves, "Yep! Been there, done that!" Add this one to the collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2005
This is not a typical book for John Gierach. If you have read his other stuff and enjoyed it then this is definitely worthy of adding to your reading list. The book is a series of different short stories telling the reader about secret or hard to access fishing water. The title refers to the angler's common belief that on these waters the trout are all that size! It is generally humorous.P>This book does manage to convince the reader that they want to try to locate these waters and also gives them guidelines on keeping it a secret.
It is not a long book but will pass some very enjoyable time on those unfishable days.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 1998
It all started with this book as a gift -- John's stories are addictive and now I own all of John's works (save, "Signs of Life"). If you enjoy well-crafted short stories, you will not be disapointed with this work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
Gierach is my favourite modern fishing writer who combines humour, irony and knowledge in his every book.
The sort of guy I would love to go fishing with.
Any reader of this wonderful guy should start the delightful journey with "Trout Bum" I must have read this a dozen times. In a hundred years fly fishermen will still be reading Gierach and fishing with cane rods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I love reading Gierach's essays on trout fishing and have several of his other books. This book is the same high quality mixture of beautiful writing, humour and fish. However I felt that the book was much shorter than I expected, which left me feeling slightly ripped off, hence only 3 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Very fond of John Gierach fishing books. I find them very readable if you are interested in trout fishing witha sense of humour thrown in. Always receive good service when I buy them through Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
A typical John Gierach book,a mix of irony,common fishing sense and a dash of self pity.
A book well worth readiing,very well worth reading.Have a read of it soon;I'm not pulling your leg
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
Gierach is a master of the fishy tail - finally one of his great books is available on Kindle. Lets hope this is the first of many, and hopefully all, of his books to be e-readered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
A Few surprises in here too. Highly recommended read that is easy pick up, brought a few chuckles out too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
John Gierach on fly fishing- what more needs to be said? The only fault is that this is too short!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)