Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 March 2014
…it was readable. The usual mismatch of standard characters from the box marked "Military Drama".
Story is strange but a fair yarn…missing a few angles but OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
This book shows only too well the problems that arise if we get too hung up on labels. It is very difficult to categorise this books as it could very easily fit into a number of categories:
a) Naval Warfare – a lot of the book is the story of a series of naval battles
b) Sci-fi (Time travel) – the modern day Russian warship Kirov is sent on a series of time travel jumps initially back to 1941 and then forward again but to where we don’t know
c) Sci-fi (alternative history) – the presence of the Kirov does present an alternative to the established historical timeline. This is the weakest category as the alternate history is only brought about by the time travel of the Kirov

Whatever category you put this in however what you get is an excellent novel that moves along at a good pace and presents the reader with a number of different plot lines:
a) What position should the Kirov (once in 1941 the most powerful naval vessel on the planet
b) There is the tension and conflict between Admiral Volsky and Captain Karpov epitomises the conflict of ideas that result from being sent back in time – do they use the power and if so to what end or do they try and have a minimal impact on this timeline
c) The ensuing naval battle between modern weaponry and 1941 warships/ planes is well written and believable

After reading the novel I was left with the fact that it reminded me of one film and one TV series. In the file The Final Countdown the USS Nimitz is sent back in time to the day before the Pearl Harbour attack and has to overcome similar conflicts and situations. The ending reminded me of the TV series The Time Tunnel were the protagonists are sent on a series of time jumps never quite knowing where and when they would end up.

I will certainly be giving more the series a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2013
The author obviously spent a lot of time researching his subject so why does he spoil the authenticity with silly gaffes like calling Winston Churchill during his war years 'Sir Winston' when he was not knighted until 1953? And the wartime band would have played God Save The KING not the God Save the QUEEN - George V1 was on the throne during the war - his daughter Elizabeth did not become monarch until 1952. Oh Dear! It then makes you wonder how much the author has winged it in the rest of the book. That said, Schettler is a good story-teller and has had the discipline to write books that people want to read.

TT
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2013
A very enjoyable book,I once watched a film that had a similar storyline, I hope there is a follow-up.
I would buy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2013
A very good example of time shifting with a state of the art Russian battle cruiser finding itself plunged into WW2
in the North Atlantic. There is an ongoing struggle between the ships captain (Kasparov) and the Admiral (Volsky)who see differently as to what they should do and whom they should support. Looking forward to the next in the series
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2013
John Schettler certainly knows how to tell a story. He makes it so easy to be a part of the crew of the Kirov, to feel their every emotion. The story is extremey plausible, and very well researched, i would heartily recommend buying this book and any others by this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2012
Enjoyed the story line very much. A possiblity of what could happen if a modern fighting ship went back in time. Fiction with current sea warfare technology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 May 2013
I was sceptical at first when I downloaded this to my kindle as try a sample. I read it and within the time it took I downloaded it. I could not put it down and read the other three very shortly afterwoods. I am now currently reading the latest of the series. The story line is spellbinding and with stats from WW11 with position of warships it could almost be believable as real history. Very well written and thoroughly recommended. I am eagerly wating for the rest of the story to unfold with future novels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2013
i have read a few books of this ilk. to me this was by far the best and truly found that i could not put it down. the story flowed at the right pace.
having read some of the other reviews i had to smile, when details like Queen Elizabeth was queen during WWII are pointed out. yes there were a few very minor mistakes, but i would put that down to proof reading. they talk about a 15 kiloton bomb, then a couple of pages later they refer to it as a 15 megaton bomb. none of this detracted from the story. lets face it, if you can believe that a modern vessel such as the Kirov can travel back in time for whatever reason, or means, then surely a couple of minor errors in the detail can be overlooked. it is after all fiction. very enjoyable fiction. i have already bought books 2 and 3 of the series and i am really looking forward to reading them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2013
sorry but fouond this read very tedious, the amount of emotional and political detail became very boring was hoping and maybe expecting a bolder story from this subject. having been in the Royal Navy and was engaged in shadowing this ship on its maiden voyage, it was an extremely impressive looking piece of hardware of which i thought a ripping yarn could be weaved around but alas not this time.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse