Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2017
Superb value for money in this collection. The graphics and gameplay are strongly reminiscent of the Neverwinter Nights series with the added benefit of running/playing much more fluidly on even modest systems. The graphics are beautiful and can be run on the highest detail settings on even older systems. The only real fly in the ointment is the difficulty of the final boss battles in the three campaigns. I'm a completist so the extreme difficulty of these battles (in particular the two expansions) whipped the cherry off the top of the detailed and enjoyable campaigns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
good value. some problems getting games to run on windows 10 so head to the steam forums for some tech advice. The games themselves on Baldars gate/icewind dale with better graphics good plot and good introduction to the world of Dark eye
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
what a bargain to get 2 games on 1 disc for this price.tough game with a heck of a lot of depth..arrived quickly,great service..thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I truly love the Drakensang games. They are fun, and there's always lots for your character to do. The character classes are very varied, too, meaning you can play exactly to your play style. You can have up to 3 companions (so 4 people, including yourself) on your journey, who you meet at different stages of the games. They come in many different character types, so you'll always be able to have a balanced party - something I highly recommend! One warning, though, is that you can get stuck if you don't level up your character properly. Don't try to make a character that's good at everything, because they'll die in almost every battle. I had to restart the game because of that. Choose a class/type, and stick to it. Rogue? Stick to daggers, pick pocketing, lock picking, and social skills. Warrior? Focus on strength, swords, etc. Otherwise, you'll be too weak and have to start again, like I did. But, I highly recommend this game. :)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Three games in one box (the Phileassons add-on is a game in its own right). They're good RPGs, your character advances along nicely and the difficulty level mainly keeps pace well. There are some fights, though, that I just couldn't get past without changing down to easy setting and even then took dozens of tries, I almost gave up, hence lack of fifth star. The add-on is particularly challenging in this respect; it is extremely well integrated into the RoT, I didn't even realise I'd started it at first !

The games all have good main quest plot lines with scores of side-quests to add to the fun. Some of the side-quests are mini-adventures in their own right. Highly recommended; if you love RPG you'll do well with these.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
This is a great game, not so recent but the graphics are still enjoyable nowadays. The character creation system can be hard to understand to start with, but after few hours it's easy to understand, so it's really suggested to have a look at the instructions and manuals even on-line before starting the game so that you don't have to start again with a more meaningful character. The game is a party-based RPG with up to 4 characters travelling around an history-rich area, fulfilling quests and re-discovering a dark past. One of the nice feelings in this game is that no encounter is an easy one, not even in the later stages, as a not carefully planned strategy can lead a bunch of giant rats to overwhelm your party and bring to a game-over.
There is no perma-death and after each combat you can restore your party attributes without having to leave the dungeon. Some areas tend to be locked once the main quest for that area has been completed, blocking the player from revisiting areas already completed. New areas are not unlocked until the previous quest has been completed giving a quite linear play-through, still enjoyable and interesting.
On overall I would highly recommend this game for who didn't try it before (the video-game originates from the pen&paper version, The Dark Eye). To make a comparison, something half way between Dragon Age Origins (for the fun and the different companions to recruit) and Dragon Age 2 (for the limited areas to visit).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
This is a brilliant game. Put simply, buy it. I give it 5 stars because I had no problems with installing, understanding it or any of the other multitude of problems that can arise. Also it's "release age". Don't ever compare an older game with newer ones, only with similar products of the same time. Technology changes, but once a game is released, that's it. Stuck with the graphics and game play of that time.

When playing "The River of Time", the Main Menu has an option for entering "CODES" Note "NOT CHEATS". A Google search of the Internet will soon reveal these. Download them, print them out and keep a copy with your game.

One final point. I was amazed at how well rendered it was with the NVidia 3D Vision system. Yes, it works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
I am playing this game at the moment and I am enjoying it immensely. I haven't started with Dark Eye because I was disturbed during the install and hadn't realised until 3-4 hours later that I was playing The River Of Time not to worry something to look forward to. The game did not come with a manual which was bit of a downer but after an hour or so I got the gist of the game and like I say I am really enjoying it and probably will do for a long time to come. Definitely money well spent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
I had great fun with this game. I got to play the original Dark Eye again and the River of time and the phileasssons secret was a great way of sharing more of the back ground story. It is well worth exploring every nook and cranny, as there are lots of hidden stuff that is either useful for the characters or good for generating extra cash. The team have a huge inventory and can carry lots of surplus gear. If you overload too much though, the weight can encumber you and penalize your fighting skills.

The game played smoothly and I had no problems with bugs.

I would definitely recommend this game , especially to old school role players who love their stats and dice rolls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
superb game , played the river of time & the add on game, would have given 5 stars but the add on game lets it down a bit, river of
time is at times a challenge and the skill tree is unusual, all quests are good and well thought out, would recommend this game
as a alternative to the elder scrolls games , not quite as good but a lot better than some role players.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£4.36

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)