Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2013
Most manufacturers of high end optical drives have bowed out, even Sony's Optiarc division and they own the BluRay patents, given competition from from low price manufacturers and their refusal to lower standards to lower costs, that and the declining need market for desktop optical drives.

This leaves ASUS pretty much at the top of the pile, and they are working hard to maintain their good standing.

Thus far, though I've done no formal testing, the drive performs exactly as advertised, good write speeds with all of the media that I've used, playback is flawless(but remember no version of Windows supports BluRay out of the box, so you'll need third party software to play BluRays) even with BluRays.

The contents of the box are pretty much as standard, four screws, warranties/manuals and a disc of throw away software, I'd say anyone buying this has their own suite of software that they know and love(also, for the confused, and I did read about this more than once, Optical Drives are plug and play and require no drivers). The absence of molex to SATA power cable in the box shouldn't be a problem for most, unless you have a seriously old power supply, or a lot of drives already. The absence of SATA Data cable is disappointing, though that said I've never seen a drive, optical or otherwise, come with a SATA data cable.

All in all, a great product if you want a reliable BluRay Drive, and you don't mind paying for quality.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
So far, I've had great experience with Asus, but this one just let me down. I bought this as a second drive (for region 2 disks) since I already have one for region 1. Fitted that and it would work for few minutes. When I come back to using it again, it won't work and behaves like dead. Then I need to reboot the PC to make it work again. but it would die again after a few minutes. Also too much noise when the CD starts rotating. I had to return it for a full refund.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
I ordered this Asus Blu-ray writer to replace a dud LG BH16NS40 Blu-ray writer that cost me 5 expensive coasters, and returned to Amazon for a refund.
This Asus is an excellent machine. I use ImgBurn and am finishing off the fourth disc that I have run off since installing it on my PC a few hours ago, all perfect with no write errors.
However one major criticism is the fact that the retail box does not contain a SATA power or data cable, so until you buy them separately then the drive is completely useless. Considering the cost of this unit this is a really disgraceful and petty act by Asus. Hence why I rate it 4 stars only.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Reasonable read and write speeds, it is very noisy in comparison to rest of my machine but not overly so. The software bundle is very disappointing, has to be the first time I have bought a drive which does not include a player. If you're just wanting to plug and play then consider either a commercially boxed product with a software bundle including a player or take it into account that you will want/need to purchase or own software to play DVD's and Bluray's
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Having given up on the 3 failing LG writers i tried, this was my last attempt at a working writer player.

This drive is well made, has a nice finish on the front panel and comes in a very well presented retail package.

In the retail package you get the following :

- Drive
- 4x Screws
- Quick Install Guide
- Substancial software suite

In certain regions this drive has less software bundled however i purchased mine directly from Amazon UK and got the following

-Power2Go 7 (Burning)
-PowerDVD 10 with Magic Cinema [FULL WINDOWS 8 PATCH AVAILABLE UPON INSTALLATION OR DIRECT FROM ASUS WEBSITE , DOES NOT SUPPORT 7.1 AUDIO HOWEVER FULLY DTS HD 5.1, DOLBY DIGITAL 5.1, NVIDIA 3D VISION AND BLU RAY 3D COMPLIANT!]

[...]

-PowerBackup 2.5
-InstantBurn 5
-E-Green
-E-Hammer
-Firmware update utility
-E-manual

If its any help some reviewers in the states have advised that this drive struggles with BD-R LTH so if possible try not to buy too many discs, find one that works best.

Also, at time of writing this, being fully bundled with software i can upgrade to the full PowerDVD 12 for £29.99 (23rd January 2013) - so if you do seek more functionality don't expect to pay £80+

Highly recommend

Read Speed

BD-R : 8X
BD-RE : 8X
BD-ROM : 8X
BD-R(DL) : 8X
BD-RE(DL) : 6X
BD-ROM(DL) : 8X
DVD+R : 16X
DVD-R : 16X
DVD+RW : 12X
DVD-RW : 12X
DVD-ROM : 16X
DVD+R(DL) : 12X
DVD-R(DL) : 12X
DVD-ROM(DL) : 12X
DVD-RAM : 12X
CD-R : 48X
CD-ROM : 48X
BDMV Playback : 4X
DVD Video Playback : 6X
VCD Playback : 16X
Audio CD Playback : 16X

Write Speed

BD-R : 12X
BD-R(DL) : 8X
BD-R(LTH) : 4X
BD-RE : 2X
BD-RE(DL) : 2X
DVD+R : 16X
DVD-R : 16X
DVD+RW : 8X
DVD-RW : 6X
DVD+R(DL) : 8X
DVD-R (DL) : 8X
DVD-RAM : 12X
CD-R : 48X
CD-RW : 24X

Writing Mode

BD-RE : Sequential Write/Random Write
BD-R : Sequential Write
DVD+R & DVD+R (DL) : Sequential Write
DVD-R & DVD-R(DL) : Incremental Recording
DVD+RW : Random Write
DVD-RW : DAO/Restricted Overwrite/Incremental Recording
DVD-RAM : Random Write
CD-R/RW : DAO/TAO/SAO/Packet Write

Access time

BD(SL/DL) : 250 ms
DVD : 150 ms
CD : 150 ms
Interface
SATA
Data Buffer
8 MB

OS Support
Windows® 7 (I have it working just fine in Windows 8, also a Power DVD 10 patch for Windows 8 available free of charge)
Windows® Vista
Windows® XP
System Requirements
Processor: Pentium® D 945(3.4GHz) or higher
Memory:1GB or more is recommended
HDD:10GB or more
Graphics Card: NVIDIA® GeForce 7600 GT or ATI X1600 series or above
Use HDCP Compatible display and VGA card to High Definition digital output
Software
Cyberlink Power2Go 7
Cyberlink PowerDVD 10 (optional)
Cyberlink PowerBackup 2.5 (optional)]
Cyberlink InstantBurn 5 (optional)
E-Hammer
E-Green
Disc Formats
Audio CD, Video CD, CD-I, CD-Extra, Photo CD, CD-Text, CD-ROM/XA, Multi-session CD, DVD Video, BD video
Disc Diameters
12cm/8cm
Mounting Orientation
Vertical and Horizontal (+5° ~ -5°)
Dimensions
170 x 146 x 41 mm (LxWxH)
Weight
650 g
Power
DC+5V ±5%,DC+12V ±10 %
Temperature
Operating : 5 ℃ to 45 ℃
Storage : -20 ℃ to 60 ℃
Humidity
Operating : 5 % ~ 85 % (Non-condensing)
Storage : 15 % ~ 90 % (Non-condensing)

if you goto asus.com /Optical_Drives/BW12B1ST/#specifications
55 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
I just love this brought a different brand for my other pc the difference in looks and the added software is astounding well worth the investment probally change the other PC to have another one of these.
If that is not a endorsement then nothing else would certainly reccomend this item to any one,all round value for money.

Thanks for a great item
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
This keep writing the disc after disc for almost 5 years now, when it comes to a good optical unit i defently recommend ASUS they are the best, i keep writing discs and probably my children will still use it.

Best ever staff to buy for your new PC.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Bought this after looking at many others at various prices. This was competitively prices and because it is Asus should be good. Have only burned and played CDs with it to date with no problems and it is very quiet in operation. Pleased so far.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Even after a couple of years use I can't say that I've given this drive much of a test but it has worked well and functioned as expected. ASUS has always given me good service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
iv had no problems with this and it works likbuy a blue a treat with no problems at all, i would recommend this to anyone wanting to buy a blu-ray optical drive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)