Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 8 May 2013
Suranne and Lesley are terrific actresses who have a real rapport in this piece. (I'll bet they hate each other really!) Ably supported by Amelia Bullmore who also writes a few episodes and good character actors like Delroy Brown (I used to work with him in the NHS). Its a great ensemble piece with a twist in that it is more concerned with the lives and domestic situations of the police with gruesome crimes as a background.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2012
This is, hands down, the best series I've ever seen about the lives of modern professional women, trying to balance job and family and personal lives. Sometimes they do well, other times their lives are train wrecks, but they seem to me to be real women with real issues real women face -- not boys with breasts as in so many tv shoes and movies.

Unlike some other reviewers, I have no problem with the amount of time given to their police work vs their personal lives because the two areas are so intertwined and the writing is so terrific. I'm in the US and I ordered these DVDs after hearing good word of mouth from UK fans, as the series has not been shown on US TV and perhaps never will be. I'm so gld I did, and I can't wait for Series 3.
55 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2016
All series of Scott and Bailey are brilliant, yet this one captures the essential 'feel' of the show. Characters and relationships have been established and the series is able to push forward with even bigger and more exciting story lines; whilst going outside of its comfort zone as it does every series. Amelia Bullmore who plays DCI Gill Murray stands out and her character is essential in making 'Scott and Bailey' such a brilliant series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2015
Excellent scripts, wonderfully scatological but accurate language and gritty urban settings.The two leading actors - Suranne Jones and Lesley Sharp work incredibly well together but the surprise for me is the brilliant performance by Amelia Bullmore as their boss. Love the faint ambiguity of her relationship with the detective acting sergeant and detective constable. She certainly portrays power with responsible friendliness. A huge thanks to Sally Wainwright and Diane Taylor for their splendid creation and writing of Scott & Bailey. It would almost be worthwhile having a grotty city like Manchester here in New Zealand if it could serve as a setting for crime drama as engrossing as this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2013
A good follow on from series one. Good strong characters. true to the attitudes of the modern police especially in respect of women in basically a male dominated domain. I speak from experience. Good storyline well acted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2015
The story lines, the scripts and the acting are extremely convincing and compelling. These are all characters I care about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2013
All episodes of Scott and Bailey are brilliant. They have everything from good stories which are believeable and not solved
in the first 10 minutes. The characters are excellent. The best Police show for a very very long time.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2014
These two just have great chemistry together. Their characters compliment each other perfectly and that makes great viewing, funny and sometimes dark but entertaining from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2013
Get it and watch it. Love Lesley Sharp and Suranne Jones anyway but the rest of the cast is brilliant too. I have watched all series now and will watch them again. Would highly recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2013
Best women detectives for ever, good chemistry and great acting and the stories are gripping and touching at the same time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)