Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you find this review useful, it would be great if you could click the appropriate button below ;)
-------
Open headphones is designed purely to listen at home.

Setup: Dell E6420 laptop, external soundcard External Sound Card USB 6 Channel 5.1 Audio, J River Media Center.

Youtube driven playlists: mozart to "Cat Daddy"
Current favourite: Adele 19 and 21 in FLAC lossless format ripped from Vinyl.

The fabric ear cups feel clouds.
I normally find the mid-end leather headphones uncomfortable. My ears get really hot.
Fits my big head (XL size ski helmet).

Comfort
-Lightweight.
-head band is not too tight
-Semi-open -MA900 is completely open
-Ear pads is cloth not pleather, I could wear this for hours without sweat.
-I removed the grills (3 screws) to shave off a few more grams and allows the driver to "float" completely on my ear. The driver is held in the center by plastic fabric.
-not recommended for the hairless as there are no pads on the headband itself, you could get yourself tennis racket handle cushion and wrap it.

-Long and thick 3 meter cord allows me walk to the kitchen to make a cup of tea

Sound Quality
It's very flat and neutral, like studio monitors. Has no character. But this leaves you a blank canvas to play any music.
You'll need an amp with an equalizer to adjust to your tastes. People who like bass can still get the bass, it's enough to vibrate the headband without much distortion.

It's one of the cheapest non-pleather ear pad headphones available in the market (the smaller MA100 is less).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
Very comfortable but gets quite warm on ears after a long time, not breathable so produces sweat behind ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Excellent quality. More for inside use as the cable is very long and it cannot handle rain. Also cloth lining is extremely comfortable but will wear after time. I use them at work over long hours and very satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
These have great bass, sound amazing and are very comfortable. The large wire can be inconvenient for taking them outside the house but not too hard to find a way around. Not too soundproof so everyone can hear your music. Besides that, I would recommend to anyone :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
Not great unless you have first rate hearing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
These are worth it just for the excellent imaging and soundstage, the sound quality is very good , the only issue i can sight is that the bass is a little flabby , this may improve with burn in.
These are the most comfy headphones i own (and i own a lot).
I would be happy with these for anything under £50 to be honest, wonder what the ma500 is like!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
These open backed headphones were being sold for just £20, the sound quality is very impresive, the bass, mids and highs are all clear and detailed , never over powering each other. The sound stage is quite impresive, it can often sound s like you are listening to a set of speakers rather than headphones . The only negative point is that there is no padding on the headband, which can make them uncomfortable to ware for a long time.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
Needed a good set of budget headphones for pluging into my guitar amp so as not to disturb my neighbours and also for occasional use through my hi-fi system. Returned a set of Panasonic phones due to very poor sound quality and after reading reviews it came down to the Sennheiser 201s or these Sonys. Went for the Sonys and when I got them home was totaly blown away by the quality of sound they produce, crystal clear across the whole sound spectrum, they must be the best budget phones on the market, buy them, you wont be dissappointed, highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Originally saw these headphones selling at HMV in Canary Wharf for £60 and after a quick trial, I thought they were impressive but pricey.

With Amazon selling these at £20 it's a bargain with great sound quality, producing a warm sound. The bass is IMO more than sufficient.

Great value.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Very comfortable so can be worn for hours.
The sound is fairly bass-heavy which I found a problem (some people might like that though), but they sounded great after I reduced the bass slightly in the EQ.
Other reviews I read said that they didn't sound very 'open' - this might be the case compared to more expensive open-back headphones, but there's a definite improvement in openness/soundstage compared to my closed back sennheiser HD203s. Slightly harder to drive/quieter than the sennheisers as well, but not by much.
They leak quite a bit of noise (as they're open back) but not as much as I expected. This works both ways as external noises are blocked out a bit better than I expected as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)