Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Storming Heaven
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.26


on 21 November 2013
The most irritating thing about this book is the regular misuse of words. As well as the usual 'breech' instead of 'breach', which seems to be a disease with some new writers of e-books, there is a persistent misuse of other words, the use of 'infinitive' instead of 'infinite' used consistently throughout the book. In other places a word has been replaced by a similar sounding but entirely wrong one. This jarred on me and spoiled my reading. It seems as if this has been dictated using a speech to text software and then not properly proofread.
OK, apart from that, what do I think of the ideas used in the book; not much. There does seem to be a lot of logical inconsistencies to the physics. For example, at one point later in the book the alien enemy are able to squash exploding antimatter bombs so they don't hurt their damaged ships, but are vulnerable to a spaceship crashing into them. The author also doesn't seem to keep track of facts on occasion: at one point the heroes are said to regain contact with the aliens after 200 years, at another after 300 years, and at one point he says that spiders survived on a devastated earth, but later says even cockroaches were killed off. I am OK with some space opera where the science is sketchy, but here the author seems to rely on conventional ideas of physics but then gets in a logical muddle which is irritating. There is an interesting story line in here, though I'm not sure how original
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Reasonably deep plot and good writing style.
Another fine novel. I could read it again.
Nuttall has become a 'must buy' author to me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
A few grammatical errors and typos (where have all the proof readers gone) which can be irritating but the yarn itself is a mostly enjoyable journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
I really liked this book, I will confess that this is the first time I have given this author only four stars...This is simply due to the amount of spelling errors and is not a reflection on the story telling at all.
This is a desperate tale of survival against massive overwhelming odds and a superior foe. Humanity is at the brink of extinction and have to develop new and radical ideas to survive.
There are some very interesting concepts and characters in this story and I like the interaction between them, not least the entity of the Mass Mind.
Although it is possibly quite a stereotypical sci fi story it holds its own and has a lot of unique points which make it an interesting and a gripping read.
Certainly worth a read, and it is a stand alone book which is great if you need a read to break up a series
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 April 2014
Excellent book that stands by itself. There is at the end the possibility of carrying on, but this book is all rolled together from start to finish in one neat story.

Humans are fighting across the galaxy against what appears to be an impossible foe who sees them as nothing more than insects to be exterminated. It's been done before and will be done again, however Nuttal has created a great story with gripping characters, plenty of thoughtful stuff and a well rounded and not entirely expected ending.

Overall a great, well written space opera.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
So the fat lady and the horse sang at the end. In my early teens I discovered the joy of reading sci_fiction, I have read all the great U.S. authors and have with a few exceptions always thought them to be unequalled. Now sixty years on comes along an author who is every bit their equal. The author left a semi open ending mayhap he is considering a further volume?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I really liked this story but it is not without some flaws. It has a good pace with an interesting plot but the characters themselves are not particularly memorable: I can tell you the story but I can't remember the names. There is also the issue of bed spooling (sic) which detracts a bit from the enjoyment of an other wise good book. I can't help but feel that this book would be the synopsis of a much larger Alastair Reynolds novel - though that might not make it better.

Nutall is a great story teller and this book is well worth reading

Chris
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
Great book, really enjoyed, plot was fast paved and I couldn't put it down. Very interesting look ahead as well- 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
This is one of the best science fiction books I have ever read.
The shear ingenuity of this writer is astounding.
A must read for anyone who wants galaxy wide action together with aliens who are truly alien.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down. The story is brilliant and the ending equally so. I'm afraid I've become addicted to Chris Nuttal's novels and intend to read all of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Fall of Night
£2.11
Knight's Move
£1.99
Invasion
£2.17

Need customer service? Click here