Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
138
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2004
If you loved THE LION KING then you will love THE LION KING 3.This exiciting and hilarious adventure tells the story of how Timon and Pumbaa met and their point of view of the main movie.You no longer follow Simba in the story,but you follow T&P instead.You can now understand how some events and disasters happened such as the animals bowing to baby Simba at Pride Rock(Which will surprise and amuse you).There are 2 great new songs and 2 brand new characters,Timon's mum and his Uncle Max.Watch and see how Simba grew from cub to lion and how Timon and Pumbaa tried to stop Simba from falling in love with Nala.So join Timon and Pumbaa on their journey to find a new home and discover another story which is hidden within the first movie.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2004
Normally Disney sequels are awful, and I mean really awful. They aren't worth the paper the cinema ticket/case cover was printed on.
But this, surprisingly, is brilliant. The whole thing is brilliant. Of course it's not quite as good as the first film but The Lion King is after all one of the best. Still, this is a great film and should have gone on cinema release. So let's break it down. The animation is delightful, much better than in other Disney sequels with beautiful backgrounds, a wonderful colour palette and all the characters perfectly drawn. It's hilariously funny - a proper comedy. The story or central concept - that we get to see things from Timon and Pumbaa's point of view works and the mix of sections from the original film and the new animation is both technically slick and well thought out and funny. The music is great, the original songs are as good as always, Digga Tunnah is amusing, fun and memorable and the rest of it is good stuff and well chosen - Jungle Boogie, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, The Lion Sleeps Tonight and Timon and Pumbaa's inspired performance of Sunrise, Sunset are hugely enjoyable. Timon's mother and Uncle Max are good additions to the cast and the interruptions of Timon and Pumbaa from their seats in the movie theatre are just one more thing that makes this such a quality entertainment experience. The special features on the DVD are quite good - a jokey virtual safari, some interesting deleted scenes and some entertaining - if not exceptionally enlightening interviews with the cast and animators are enjoyably non-corporate - for Disney anyway, adding to the lighthearted parody feel of the film. In addition to all this, it should be noted that this is a film that never mocks the original or it's emotional resonance - this is a celebration of the first film and of course the lovable and sidesplitting Timon and Pumbaa. Buy it, it's worth every penny.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2007
Before I say anything else, I'll say that I enjoyed this 'midquel.' In fact, I think that The Lion King 1 and 1/2 (or 3) should have gone theatrical. It's sweet, funny and the animation is downright gorgeous. Timon and Pumbaa are two of my favourite characters and I can never get enough of them.

But something's missing. It's that nostalgic feel I get when I watch the first two, especially Simba's Pride. It's simply not there. And it's because this was not part of my childhood like the first films were. I have no fond memories of it, since when it came out, I thought I was too old for 'a baby movie like The Lion King,' and so I didn't care for it. It's only when I realised that The Lion King was more than just a mere 'kids movie' was when I decided to rewatch 1 and 2 and try out this new film. As I said, it's good, but it just doesn't have that impact that the first two do.

But that doesn't mean that it's not enjoyable. TLK3 is a satire of the first Lion King, but it's tasteful enough. Just remember not to take it too seriously. The songs are really fun to listen to - especially 'Diggah Tunnah' - it'll make you hum and tap your feet for ages afterwards. We have two new characters - meerkats Ma and Uncle Max. Ma is played by Julie Kavner who also does the voice for Marge Simpson, although she's not as raspy. If you enjoyed Simba's Pride, you really should throw an eye to this. There is just so much to like about it, and any fun-loving Lion King fan will enjoy it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2004
How amusing is this film?!? The idea of having a little fun with and around the original film is genius and Timon & Pumbaa are just the characters to do it.
The general idea is that you follow what was happening to Timon & Pumbaa at the time of the original film. As such you occasionally get them crashing through some geniune sections of the first film which suddenly puts a whole new slant on things.
Unlike most disney sequels, this one seems to have been well thought out and prepared rather than an attempt to further cash in on a previous success. This means the animation, music and story telling are all quite slick.
But you're most likely looking at this either to buy for your children or because you're a big kid/disney fan yourself. So you'll be glad to know that this film has humour that will appeal to both children & adults, is suitable for anyone to watch and will not get boring after a few repeat performances. (especially as I know people who have been forced to sit through Disney films a few hundred times by their children and are slowly losing the will to live)
This is a truly fantastic romp through the pridelands that leaves the original films dignity intact. Definitely a must.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2004
I bought this for my 3 year old daughter because she loves 1 and 2 but we were disappointed with it. It seems to me that Disney wanted an easy way to cash in on the success of the previous two films and have cobbled together a bit of a lame story which they have padded out with clips from the first two films. Ok - we love Timon and Pumba, but surely they could have come up with something better and funnier? This film really lacks the charm of the other two films, and the songs are no way near as good either. You can tell its not up to much because she hardly ever watches it, yet she can sit through 1 and 2 over and over again.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
The Lion King was a classic, a Hamlet inspired story of kings, romance, betrayal and standing up to fight, basically creating one of the best films and most iconic masterpieces Disney ever made. later on a direct to video sequel was made, Lion King 2: Simba's pride, one of the better sequels with decent animation, a different conflict and some engaging ideas thrown together. And then we have Lion King 3 or Lion King 1 1/2 which is not a sequel as the latter title choice indicates, but rather more of the same story but at a different angle, in this case, the comic relief of the original and sequel, Timon and Pumba, the no-worries advocates with bug arguments and enough one-liners to satisfy two movies. The concept of this is pretty simple, Timon and Pumba are taking the MST3K format of the theater arrangement and then showing a kind of behind the scenes parody by showing the events of the Lion King from their perspective. Its the first Lion King film that's aware of itself as entertainment rather than simply telling a story, some may see that as clever, others as tedious. Anyway this essentially covers Timon's early life, his leaving of his old home and meeting Pumba, before their search for an ideal home. From there they meet Simba and the rest is history.

So is this a good direct-to-video sequel? Well in some ways it is, it has its moments where it succeeds at what's its trying to achieve, the scene in Scar's assembly of hyenas despite being short is humorous, the interludes of the silhouettes in the theater of Pumba and Timon analyzing the film are often funny and insightful, however the best material is when we see scenes entirely different from the Lion King rather than the unique angle idea. Such as Timon identifying the name of the their philosophy whilst Pumba throws in a dozen dishes of synonymous names in the background. Also seeing Simba growing up with them is quite interesting, and funny as the chores of parenthood fall onto our characters. Visually it's fine and musically it works out well enough, it has fewer songs than either of the other two Lion King films and when it does they do in fact mean something to the plot, not a fault of the other movies but something missing from many Disney sequels. Now granted it does have its flaws, some bad taste perhaps as Pumba's special power is overplayed, the climax like Lion King 2 perhaps lacks something, mainly because the central action was Simba in the first place. Casting wise the duo are well voiced and the supporting cast does well enough with Timon's mother and Uncle Max perfect for their respective roles, as are of course the returning Simba and Raffiki.

Some consider this movie to basically defecate on the original, I digress and disagree on that, its humorous if a bit pathetic at times and at least is a different, cohesive whole of a film which is funny, features character development and gives character's from the original at least something to do unlike the direct sequel of the classic original.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
If you loved THE LION KING then you will love THE LION KING 3.This exiciting and hilarious adventure tells the story of how Timon and Pumbaa met and their point of view of the main movie.You no longer follow Simba in the story,but you follow T&P instead.You can now understand how some events and disasters happened such as the animals bowing to baby Simba at Pride Rock(Which will surprise and amuse you).There are 2 great new songs and 2 brand new characters,Timon's mum and his Uncle Max.Watch and see how Simba grew from cub to lion and how Timon and Pumbaa tried to stop Simba from falling in love with Nala.So join Timon and Pumbaa on their journey to find a new home and discover another story which is hidden within the first movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2004
the original lion king was a landmark for disney and it seems they are trying to squeeze every last drop of juice from it. so, here is lion king 3. you almost look upon with apprehnsion thinking how could disney possibly carry on the lion king again, but they manage to, with class.
The story follows the tale of timon and pumbaa and their pivotal role in the first movie. it provides moments of hilarity, and is a lighthearted and enjoyable movie.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 September 2015
Out of the 3 Lion King films this one is by far my favourite, just because I totally love Timon and Pumbaa, but then again, who doesn't.

Hakuna Matata is the 3rd & final installment in the Lion King trilogy. The film is a prequel/parallel to The Lion King, and focuses on Timon and Pumbaa before, during and after the events of the original film.

The original cast returns to re-voice their parts, save for a few exceptions: Rowan Atkinson (the original voice of Zazu) was replaced by Edward Hibbert; Jonathan Taylor Thomas (originally Young Simba) is replaced by Matt Weinberg; and James Earl Jones and Jeremy Irons (Mufasa and Scar respectively) did not reprise their roles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Brilliant. My great grand daughter loved it. Would recommend it for all your little ones. If they loved the Lion King they will love this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse