Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
99
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2017
Still going strong with his voracious creative envelope pushing.there's a sonic exuberance to the production, and the surge of energy transmits to the listener.Weller has always had a non compromising attitude to his career, and the recent critical success of his last two albums has given this selection extra vitality. Opening with the excellent Green,and finishing with the heartfelt tribute to all if his offspring Be happy children,the man is in the place he wants to be in life.standout tracks for me are Study in blue,where he duets on a lilting ambient lovesong with his wife Hannah that evolves into a hazy dub,and Drifters that has a guitar crashing abandonment, duelling with a fantastically busy bass line.excellent addition to the peerless Weller cannon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Weller meets Bowie on the Trans Global Unity Express..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Love The Modfather - never fails to disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2017
Belting!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Massive Weller fan, as I am, I have to give Paul a huge amount of credit for continuing to expand and explore the limits of his compositional ability and sound. This is a raw, uncompromising album and has divided fans and critics alike. It's a challenging but rewarding album if you give it time and effort. If you're expecting a "Wild Wood" or "Stanley Road", however, you may be sorely disappointed. It's a largely upbeat album, with lots of jarring guitars and attitude and combines much of the influences demonstrated in "22 Dreams" and "Wake Up The Nation" in one roller-coaster package. My favourite tracks are the extremely catchy "That Dangerous Age" and the busy, frenetic, Spanish-flavoured rock waltz, "Drifters". Not the best album Paul has ever released, by any means, but there's something about his willingness to experiment and the bang up to date sound of this album that really appeals.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
found it difficult to listen to the lyrics, sounds like Weller is mumbling and the music in my opinion is not his best work. thinkk he's went too far trying to reinvent himself. he should stick to what he's good at. n if not retire!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
I was worried that after the genius re-wiring of the Weller muse on'22 Dreams' and 'Wake Up the Nation' this might be something of a disappointment. Another 'Heliocentric' or something. Wrong! Wrong! Wrong! Apart from the dreadful cover he doesn't put a beat, chord, riff, or note wrong. More listener friendly explorations into the further reaches of his musical know-how, very much of the quality of the previous two LPs, with extra dub.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
I'm almost totally obsessed with Weller, but this is horrid. I during one interview I remember him saying there were some songs he shouldn't have made. Please let it be this whole CD. What I respect about Weller is he doesn't sit on his backside where musical avenues are concerned and every album can offer variety in an amazing timeless way. This album if garbage. I love Weller, but hate this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2012
Never in a million years when i purchased the "in the city"LP back in 77,would i have expected its songwriter in chief, 35 years on creating such a diverse and edgy album has sonik kicks,Mr Weller i doff my hat,to the knockers would you have preferred the formulaic Phil Collins sorts,sticking to the same old same old,album after album year afer year,till enough is enough and celebrity in the jungle or big brother is the only hope of staving off oblivion,"evolution is the solution".
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)