Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
58
4.0 out of 5 stars
We All Fall Down
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.49


on 13 August 2015
I don't write many reviews but I just had to write one for this book. Yes this is a typical Simon Wood chase story book, and when you read it you do want to know what happens next. In that respect, Simon has the qualities to make you keep reading.

However, to be brutally honest, I started to think that the protagonists deserved to die and should have done so several times. The way they progressed in the ongoing storyline was so unbelievable, that no normal person would have even considered doing what they did. It was so far fetched as to be screamingly implausible.

I started wondering how could any normal, educated person, behave in such a totally incredulous and ridiculous way? They both deserved to die several times.

The ending was a real disappointment for me.

I will assume this book was just a poor blip and that the real Simon Wood will return on the next book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
All a little predictable the plot was ok but did not tax the brain I will try another book by
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 March 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Once again, author Simon Wood has delivered an excellent chase thriller, with likeable protagonists and fairly plausible villains. The story moves at a breakneck pace, with action set-piece following set-piece as the hero and his companion attempt to discover the truth behind a series of suspicious deaths connected to an engineering company.

Unfortunately, to ensure the main characters remain in constant jeopardy, the author has them refuse to divulge key information to the police. The reasons given for this choice seem weak and poorly reasoned for two supposedly-intelligent characters and jar against the otherwise excellent story.

However, this is the third of Simon Wood's novels that I have reviewed and I can say honestly that I am very much looking forward to the next opportunity.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
This is another absolutely brilliant book from Simon Wood. Impossible to put down and has suspense in bucketloads all the way through. As is usual with Simon's books this is absolutely believable and has well built characters. Unfortunately I cant think of anything critical to say about it other than it ended:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 9 February 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the fourth of this author's books which I have read over the last few months. He does not take the arguably easier route of writing a series of books with the same characters, but creates completely new standalone tales each time. They are not formulaic either as all of the scenarios created are quite different. This was one of Simon Wood's earlier books and it is, perhaps, not as strong as his more recent work as he has clearly refined his craft as he has gone along. It is, however, still a good read.

Hayden is introduced by his old friend, Shane, to his company as a contractor to work on an important project. However, a few days previously a scientist working on the same project has apparently committed suicide. Once Shane starts work, he has a disturbing email from a clearly distressed Shane and more deaths follow.

Shane's sister, Rebecca and Hayden work together to try to find out what is happening. One has to say they do not seem to approach the problem in the most logical way and generally adopt an ill judged go it alone style and have a tendency to trust the wrong people. They seem to be up against a totally unscrupulous group, who, somewhat surprisingly and despite their normal ruthless efficiency appear to have trouble dealing with Hayden once and for all.

The story builds up to an exciting and action packed climax. However, I did feel that that the ending was perhaps not the strongest part of the story. It all concludes rather abruptly and predictably and leaves the reader feeling just a little dissatisfied. However, overall it is a good, if a little improbable story and an enjoyable read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The journey of this story follows Hayden Duke, a design contractor who has just got a contract via an old friend for a very secretive company and is based around the San Francisco part of the world. Cue some rather unlikely suicides and a chase to see what's going on. His old friend commits suicide, there's a love interest with the friend's sister and there's the risk of the world falling apart if Duke can't sort it out.

The first chapter was a terrible start written with a dialogue which I guess is meant to be cool and modern but was lost on me... thankfully the author remembered how to write after that so don't let that put you off. However, the story is for me too far fetched without being completely over the top (eg. Bond films) and would not in my view even make a great film.

The positive of this book is that it does keep the reader interested as you wonder what will happen next but having finished the book and reflected on it, there's too many open questions and problems. Without stating anything that would spoil the story, a victim's wife wouldn't jump into bed with a potential suspect just after the victim's suicide; the lack of knowledge of what a design contractor is making would seem a little far-fetched; the result of fights between a "normal" person and an ex-army character is surprising; the body count is too high.... no, the more I think about it the more i dislike this book. I will read the author's work again but I hope they're better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERTOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 18 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've read two of Simon Wood's novels and, though I had never heard of him until then, I found them very good indeed, so I just had to get my hands on another of his books. It was fortunate that I had already digested Paying The Piper and Accidents Waiting to Happen before this one, as it's certainly not as good as those two. So what's the premise?

Marin Design Engineering is working on something classified and employs Hayden Duke on a temporary basis. A week into the work, his old college friend who got him the job hangs himself after appearing to lose his mind over something connected to the company; and he is the second employee to do so within seven days. Duke realises all is not as it seems, even more so when the MDE office is torched with all bar two employees stuck inside, followed by one of those missing - the CEO - to stick a shotgun under his chin hours later. We know who is responsible but neither the perpetrators nor the police are aware of something else we know; Hayden Duke has an encoded document file that might be able to shed some light on the why.

The prologue is superfluous and seems to be there only so the body count can be added to in a later chapter. This introductory scene could have been accomplished in two pages, instead of being four times that length, but it does enable us to have a snigger later on in a line of risible dialogue where an arrogant, streetwise late teen car thief comes out with, "This is beginning to look a little queer".

Though not as fast paced as the two stories mentioned previously, it does move along at a reasonable speed with Duke and Rebecca (the sister of the second suicide) trying to find out what it's all about before those behind the shenanigans decide their time is up. Why they don't inform the investigating detective to make things easier is a mystery; maybe it's because Duke comes across as a bit of an idiot who believes everything he is told.

Unfortunately, you'll telegraph the finale well before you get there, which does seem a bit far-fetched in all honesty. (Why do people never just shoot the person they want out the way instead of devising elaborate ways for their demise?) Still, if you suspend belief for a while, this might be worth a few hours of your time. I'm guessing this is one of Wood's earliest efforts, as his writing has improved vastly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
This is the third Simon Wood novel I have read. Borrowed it from the Kindle Lending Library. As with his other books there is plenty if action and twists and turns. Hayden is brought in on a contract with an engineering company by his friend Shane but there is a confidentiality clause that he has to sign stating that if he breaks it he will be liable to pay $10m. Shane then seemingly commits suicide, not long after another employee does the same however he had sent an email with an attachment to Hayden before killing himself. The police start to think Hayden is acting suspiciously and always seem to be one step behind as the story moves along. Shane's sister arrives for her brother's funeral and gradually she and Hayden grow close. Hayden's parents have a small part to play but this is not expanded and they then disappear from the plot. Hayden and Rebecca's lives are in danger as the bad guys come after them. The body count increases and Hayden seems to get over multiple attacks incredibly quickly (reminded me of Bruce Willis or Arnie Schwarzenneger when they just keep getting up no matter what). With so much danger around them it was a little unbelievable that they would try and solve the mystery of all the deaths on their own and try and keep the police in the dark. That said I did enjoy the plot and there was a few good twists towards the end which I will leave to you to find out rather than throw in a spoiler here!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 February 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
His usual formula - the naive protagonists versus highly skilled bad guys. I rate it lower than my previous two reads for a couple of reasons - non really bad, but they crank the suspense down. In the other books the lead character was a family man, and the need to protect his loved ones created more fear and tension in the read. Here, Duke is a bachelor and the female character becomes his love interest, but she is an equal partner in the adventure, not someone to be shielded. I also reflect whether they are too naive. I have never been in a life-threatening danger as they face but I think, as a watcher of movies and reader of books, I'd twig that bugging was going on and I'd make copies of documents and distribute them to safe places, e.g. addressed to the CIA, inside an envelope addressed to myself "Post Restante". If I failed to pick up, the mail worker would open to find a return address and forward it. They are both quite reckless and too naive in this book.
On the other hand, it is still a gripping read. Danger lurks at every corner. Who can they trust? Good or bent cop? Will they make it? Yes, a good thriller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Loved it! Twisting turning, a few red Herrings thrown in for good measure, struggled to put it down, have read a few Simon Wood books now and they have all been excellent reads, keeping you guessing till the (nearly) end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse