Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
98
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2017
I have the original VHS of this performance which is truly ground-breaking. It's a well-known repertoire to Peter Gabriel fans but delivered wonderfully with incredible gender-balance, this time, by the immaculate Paula Cole. The DVD now means I have something that should not disintegrate with time (like the VHS tape) but there is something peculiar about the digital re-mastering ( we've all had to get used to the clarity loss in sound recording for the sake of being "cleaned up") because this version seems like an animation movie rather than the direct effect of the VHS - hence, regretfully, only 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
I bought this for my husband for his birthday - we went to see this concert at the SECC in Glasgow waaaaay back in 1993, the year we got engaged and I thought it would bring back some happy memories for us both (yes - I know it was for me as well!!) Anyway, the picture quality was a bit disappointing and I had to fiddle about a bit to get the right setting for the sound. I played it thru our hi-fi on the Dolby setting and had to turn it up quite loud (ahem!! 'course you did!!) Have these been mass produced or something, 'cos I know that quite a few folk have said the picture's very grainy. However, apart from all that - I was glad to receive it - it came well packaged and protected and I'm sure hubby will love it just the same - I mean - how can you go wrong with Peter Gabriel - let's face it!! Too many favourites to highlight, but "In Your Eyes" just makes my tummy go funny!!
A fantastic concert, all the band members clearly having a ball and just great music - what more could you ask for (apart from a better picture!!) 4 out of 5 stars!! xxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Even better than the You Tube versions!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2003
I have owned this concert on NTSC Laserdisc for years and watch it over and over. I bought the DVD mainly for the 5.1 sound mix but also for a better quality experience all round. Unfortunately the picture quality is many times worse than my 6(?) year old copy on LD. Especially evident on plasma.
Don't buy if you're looking for "DVD Quality" picture.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2003
Peter Gabriel is without doubt one of the UK's most innovative and original composers and performers, and his Secret World show, performed in Modena, Italy in 1993 to coincide with the release of 'Us', is proof of that.
This truly is a show rather than a concert, complete with a telephone box, a tree that rises from beneath the stage and a giant dome that swallows up the performers at the climax. Gabriel and his fellow musicians (including David Rhodes on guitar, the brilliant Manu Katche on drums, Paula Cole on backing vocals and the inimitable Tony Levin on bass) perform a collection of tracks from 'Us' along with classics including Solsbury Hill and, of course, the ever-popular Sledgehammer. Highlights for me are Shaking The Tree (check out the fancy footwork) and the stunning rendition of In Your Eyes.
The VHS and album of the Secret World show were both released in 1994, but we've had to wait a further nine years for it to finally make an appearance on DVD. We're offered three audio options - Dolby 2.0, Dolby 5.1 and DTS - and the sound quality is superb (though apparently some of the vocals and keyboards were re-recorded for the DVD). Sadly the same cannot be said for the picture quality, which in places is pretty poor - the VHS had a grainy, documentary-style appearance which is also true of the DVD, but the DVD also suffers from blotchiness wherever the background is smokey or indistinct. The image has also been cropped in order to create a ‘widescreen’ effect.
The extra features are also rather thin on the ground - a 15min 'Behind The Scenes', a whacky 3min 'Timelapse' segment which shows the construction of the set, the concert and the set being dismantled in a series of still images, a photo gallery and a 7min documentary on Gabriel's 'Growing Up' coinciding with the release of his pretty naff new album, 'Up' (nice to see Melanie on stage alongside her dad though...)
So has Secret World on DVD been worth the wait? Undoubtedley! This is the best concert video/DVD I've ever seen, and the great sound makes up for the ropey image quality. If you’re a Gabriel fan, or if you simply love overblown high-concept concerts, this is a must-buy.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2006
This concert is outstanding, both visually and musically. I like to see a performer perform on stage, and it is fantastic to see someone like Peter Gabriel really entertain, making great use of props, gadgets and special effects.
It is clear to see that all the performers on stage are savouring the experience and it is contagious even to the viewer. All songs are performed beautifully and it is a great piece of musical history to own.
The only reason it does not have the full five stars is the quality of the picture. A shame, but it does not spoil the overall effect.
Certainly a must for any Gabriel fan, and I can only imagine that it would be an enjoyable experience for a non-fan too.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
Peter Gabriel's 1994 "Secret World" tour is the only one he has brought to Australia, and what I witnessed and thoroughly enjoyed in Brisbane, with family and friends, was a reduced stage design from the gala installation which we see in this film - but there was no scrimping on showmanship, musicianship, audio quality or lighting.

The new - July 2012 - version for Blu-ray is VASTLY superior to the 2003 DVD in video quality - it makes that DVD look more like poor VHS quality. The 16mm film has been newly transferred at 2K resolution (cinema projection quality) then each frame was fully restored and then the colours and contrasts were expertly balanced. You could not hope for better quality - the improvement over the 2003 DVD is truly astonishing.

The audio quality of the Blu-ray will sound very similar to the DVD for most listeners - because these are same high quality stereo and 5.1 surround mixes as were used on the 2003 DVD - with the improvement for Blu-ray being that the stereo track is in uncompressed PCM (rather than the DVD's Dolby 2.0) and the surround is in lossless DTS HD Master 5.1 (rather than the DVD's compressed DTS 5.1 and Dolby 5.1 options). The surround mix was made from the original multitrack tapes - and creates an enveloping and creative soundscape (it's a whole world away from that business of applying synthetic treatments to a stereo track in order to invent a phony 5.1 surround track).

The Blu-ray has the same extras as the 2003 DVD, but with a preview for the New Blood Blu-ray/DVD rather than for the Growing Up DVD, and the welcome bonus of a "Secret World" tour performance of "Red Rain". For any Peter Gabriel fan, this a must see as a state of the art memento. This is one the world's greatest bands having the time of the lives, being inventively filmed, perfectly recorded - and with the benefit of the most respectful and appreciative of audiences.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I just watched this tonight - it came quickly from Amazon.
I am going to be brutaly honest here - I wasn't expecting much.
I already had this on DVD. I was at the Glasgow concert in 1993 - it blew me away.
Anyway back to the blu ray.
I cranked up the sub and 5.1 on DTS.
Wow the soundtrack was amazing. A great vibrant 5.1 mix.
The visuals however blew me away truly - I had not noticed so much in the past - the concert looks so fresh, vibrant and current its unreal.

Really really enjoyed it- highlights were Come Talk To Me, San Jancinto, Blood Of Eden and Secret World, whilst Red Rain was also brilliant.

I can't recommend this enought to people who have this on DVD , god forbid still on VHS - the recolouring is amazing as is the definition.

Well done to all involved.

This is an amazing Blue Ray.

I have upgraded the US tour in my mind thanks to this by leaps and bounds.
33 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2004
This was truly a great concert, i should no I was at this concert at the NEC in Birmingham.
Have always owned the VHS copy of this concert, so I got the DVD when it became avaliable, but i am a bit miffed as to why the picture quality is so poor, pixilated, grainy, just like the VHS copy. The sound is good you have 3 choices, 5.1, stereo and dolby digital. This dvd says on the front that it has been digitally remastered, must mean just the sound and not the picture.
This is a very good concert, if a little let down by the picture,but well worth a viewing if your into Gabriels music, it has the favourites on there, Steam,Sledgehammer,Solsbury Hill and my favourite Diggin' In The Dirt were Gabriel sports a mini-cam on his head with some interesting results.
A great performance by everyone on the stage, all excellent musicians in there own rights.
Could have been a few more extras on this disc , but the main thing is the concert that is of true quality.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2004
The DVD release of a fan favourite live video from Peter Gabriel should have been a more prized offering. The Secret World concerts were as theatrical and dramatic as anything Gabriel has done. The staging is compelling, and it is a thrill to see how much fun musicians and audience are having.
In the end it has to be said that the picture quality of the DVD release is less than fantastic. More disappointing is the sound quality. I am familiar with both the original VHS release and the CD version, and listening to this on my pretty good DVD/hifi the sound is just not up to scratch. Tony Levin's bass in particular, always a strong point in any Gabriel live performance, is almost lost in the general mix (not an issue on the other formats incidentally). Why oh why oh why mess around with the soundtrack by re-recording/mixing certain elements of the sound? You need to realise that many of us - especially true followers of your music - welcome the rawness and spontaneity of live performances, warts and all. The concert happened 10 years ago - don't mess with it further! This version? Scrapes 4, but really guys it should have been good enough to justify 5.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)