Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
100
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£12.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2017
I have the original VHS of this performance which is truly ground-breaking. It's a well-known repertoire to Peter Gabriel fans but delivered wonderfully with incredible gender-balance, this time, by the immaculate Paula Cole. The DVD now means I have something that should not disintegrate with time (like the VHS tape) but there is something peculiar about the digital re-mastering ( we've all had to get used to the clarity loss in sound recording for the sake of being "cleaned up") because this version seems like an animation movie rather than the direct effect of the VHS - hence, regretfully, only 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2010
I bought this for my husband for his birthday - we went to see this concert at the SECC in Glasgow waaaaay back in 1993, the year we got engaged and I thought it would bring back some happy memories for us both (yes - I know it was for me as well!!) Anyway, the picture quality was a bit disappointing and I had to fiddle about a bit to get the right setting for the sound. I played it thru our hi-fi on the Dolby setting and had to turn it up quite loud (ahem!! 'course you did!!) Have these been mass produced or something, 'cos I know that quite a few folk have said the picture's very grainy. However, apart from all that - I was glad to receive it - it came well packaged and protected and I'm sure hubby will love it just the same - I mean - how can you go wrong with Peter Gabriel - let's face it!! Too many favourites to highlight, but "In Your Eyes" just makes my tummy go funny!!
A fantastic concert, all the band members clearly having a ball and just great music - what more could you ask for (apart from a better picture!!) 4 out of 5 stars!! xxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
I love this concert! Wonderful stage craft, inspiring musicianship, enchanting atmosphere! This is an old recording and does look a bit grainy on some of the low lighting shots but its well worth adding to your music library! The sound quality is great of course. I attended the "Back to Front" tour recently and thoroughly recommend getting the DVD. Faultless clarity and sound on that!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
My dad has this on vhs he actually went to see the tour originally i bought it on dvd as it had been remastered but it wasn't that good in my opinion but now on Bluray it's a different story without doubt one of the best concerts ever anyway but now it has been remastered both visually & on the audio side it is fantastic.
I play mine through an oppo 93 into a Denon 3802 amp & watching via an HD Epson projector & i can assure you you won't be in the least bit dissapointed bear in mind this was recorded on tape almost 20 years ago!
In short if you're a fan buy it if you're not buy it you soon will be!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2017
This must be at least the third copy I have bought over the years in my opinion it is the best compilation of all his great recordings and sung live
Paula Cole is fantastic a must buy if you are a Peter Gabriel fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
great dvd and enjoying it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Even better than the You Tube versions!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I just watched this tonight - it came quickly from Amazon.
I am going to be brutaly honest here - I wasn't expecting much.
I already had this on DVD. I was at the Glasgow concert in 1993 - it blew me away.
Anyway back to the blu ray.
I cranked up the sub and 5.1 on DTS.
Wow the soundtrack was amazing. A great vibrant 5.1 mix.
The visuals however blew me away truly - I had not noticed so much in the past - the concert looks so fresh, vibrant and current its unreal.

Really really enjoyed it- highlights were Come Talk To Me, San Jancinto, Blood Of Eden and Secret World, whilst Red Rain was also brilliant.

I can't recommend this enought to people who have this on DVD , god forbid still on VHS - the recolouring is amazing as is the definition.

Well done to all involved.

This is an amazing Blue Ray.

I have upgraded the US tour in my mind thanks to this by leaps and bounds.
33 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2003
I have owned this concert on NTSC Laserdisc for years and watch it over and over. I bought the DVD mainly for the 5.1 sound mix but also for a better quality experience all round. Unfortunately the picture quality is many times worse than my 6(?) year old copy on LD. Especially evident on plasma.
Don't buy if you're looking for "DVD Quality" picture.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2003
Peter Gabriel is without doubt one of the UK's most innovative and original composers and performers, and his Secret World show, performed in Modena, Italy in 1993 to coincide with the release of 'Us', is proof of that.
This truly is a show rather than a concert, complete with a telephone box, a tree that rises from beneath the stage and a giant dome that swallows up the performers at the climax. Gabriel and his fellow musicians (including David Rhodes on guitar, the brilliant Manu Katche on drums, Paula Cole on backing vocals and the inimitable Tony Levin on bass) perform a collection of tracks from 'Us' along with classics including Solsbury Hill and, of course, the ever-popular Sledgehammer. Highlights for me are Shaking The Tree (check out the fancy footwork) and the stunning rendition of In Your Eyes.
The VHS and album of the Secret World show were both released in 1994, but we've had to wait a further nine years for it to finally make an appearance on DVD. We're offered three audio options - Dolby 2.0, Dolby 5.1 and DTS - and the sound quality is superb (though apparently some of the vocals and keyboards were re-recorded for the DVD). Sadly the same cannot be said for the picture quality, which in places is pretty poor - the VHS had a grainy, documentary-style appearance which is also true of the DVD, but the DVD also suffers from blotchiness wherever the background is smokey or indistinct. The image has also been cropped in order to create a ‘widescreen’ effect.
The extra features are also rather thin on the ground - a 15min 'Behind The Scenes', a whacky 3min 'Timelapse' segment which shows the construction of the set, the concert and the set being dismantled in a series of still images, a photo gallery and a 7min documentary on Gabriel's 'Growing Up' coinciding with the release of his pretty naff new album, 'Up' (nice to see Melanie on stage alongside her dad though...)
So has Secret World on DVD been worth the wait? Undoubtedley! This is the best concert video/DVD I've ever seen, and the great sound makes up for the ropey image quality. If you’re a Gabriel fan, or if you simply love overblown high-concept concerts, this is a must-buy.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)