Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
41
3.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£49.99+ £7.00 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
...and handles 1080 60p for the first time. Having used previous versions of VideoStudio, I am familiar with the system and can say that this is the best version yet, in all areas. The major change for me is therefore the support for 50/60p files. These take noticeably longer than interlaced video, but it handles them pretty much flawlessly, including complex transitions. More codecs for both input and output would be appreciated, but I'm hopeful they will be added over time.

You will, of course, need a powerful PC to handle 1080p 60p files. My system is a couple of years old but managed it without any major problems. For 'normal' SD video or even 720p, this application flies along.

Installation is simple, the UI is good and relatively clean, and the tools and options are exactly what you'd expect in a top-end package.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
Early days in the use of this software but so far so good. Had a technical issue with editing .MOV files, most of my work is with .AVI, but this was soon sorted by the support team. I have used videostudio 2 and so much of the system was fairly familiar. I would recommend this product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
I moved from Pinnacle Studio to VideoStudio following problems with the PS software. I found that VSx5 is relatively easy to use and more flexible. I have now produced two DVDs using it and the process is fairly easy the second time around. It is quite intuitive.
One advantage of VideoStudio is the vast number of Tutorials and advice forums available so help is always at hand.
As there is a Free Trial version that can be downloaded, I would recommend anyone who is interested to try it. You will need a good up to date computer to run VideoStudio or any new video editing software.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
This software was bought for production of promotional and training videos for work. I'd previously used the X3 version for home and found that to be fine. The new version does include several useful features. However, be careful and avoid too much multi-tasking it does have a tendency to crash; just shut down as many other apps as possible and save often and you'll be fine.

The output it produces is great and can be in multitudinous forms. But HD we produce for YouTube is excellent. It certainly has more features than I'll ever get time to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Previously had VideoStudio X2 which would not work reliably with AVCHD content. Tried the eval of X5 with AVCHD and worked a treat so bought it. Was a bit concerned about upgrade process from X2 to X5 (i.e. whether to uninstall X2 first), as some people had reported issues. However, upgrade went through without problem. The only real complaint with product is that is takes forever to render HD content, but that is probably not helped by my PC not being the quickest. Overall very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
i have used VideoStudio Pro since X2 and found it a really capable program. This upgrade doesn't give a huge setp change from X4 but there are definate improvments in processing time. I went for the ultimate version as it contains extra 3rd part effects. If these were bought on their own they would cost almost as much as the entire program! The best one is the RotoPen and Boris Graffiti. Both give really incredible title and overlay effects.
Contrary to some reviews indicating support was poor i have foudn Corel support excellent. I ran into a problem with this nd had to re-install it but the extra effects refused to show up. Even teh solution on their web page didn't solve it. An e-mail to Corel support was answered within the hour and gave a solution that worked and it now happily shows ll teh extra add on effects & filters.
The integrated DVD aurthoring based on DVD Movie Factory is excellent and far easier to use than those in other products.
One big advantage is that it will import .vob files from DVD folders or disks (i.e. from non-copyright disks) This is handy for me as my hard drive recorded used with my TV will only output onto a re-writable DVD so it is handy to be able to pull this in to edit out the ads and nake into a form that can be viewed later (but minus the ads!)
All round then an excellent video editing product with a good library of effects & add-ons
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I previously tried VideoStudio Pro X4 and felt it was imperfect but with no serious flaws and easy to use compared with my normal Sony Vegas editor. X5 is a clear improvement on X4 and of course the Ultimate version offers extra effects, filters, transitions and templates such as Boris FX and Mercale. I particularly liked the latter, for minimising camera shake.

Apparently X5 is designed to take advantage of the latest Intel Sandy Bridge and AMD Fusion CPUs as well as offering some GPU acceleration, so should be much faster than X4...if you have the right processor (I don't, so can't comment). I read somewhere, though, that rendering doesn't benefit, and certainly rendering is rather slow. The excellent proxy mode carried over from X4 speeds the editing process itself - work in low-res mode and then render using the high-res source files.

One of the most significant enhancements is with footage intended for playing in a browser - the ability to produce HTML 5 multi-format output. That should mean that anything you upload to a web page will be compatible with any up-to-date browser. You can also build in target areas that become links to other pages. I didn't test this since I'm only interested in making movies to play from disc or on a PC.

There's now a screen-capture facility. This lets you make movies of what's happening on your PC screen. You can add voice-over while recording, too. As well as recording games or creating tutorials, you might want to use it to capture streaming video.

Otherwise, I'm not sure much has changed (but no longer have X4 to do a proper comparison).

As before, it was easy to get started, with the main window offering three tabs: Capture (to import clips), Edit (for timeline editing) and Share (preview and export). There's a comprehensive range of templates with custom titles, music, and transitions to get you off to a flying start. The interface is highly customisable and you can even save different versions of the desktop but I liked it pretty-much the way it was delivered. Multiple monitors are supported, if you're lucky enough to have them. The instructional videos were genuinely helpful.

Against that, there's no built-in help. "Help" takes you to the Web where you have to subscribe first. And there are idiosyncrasies that will confuse beginners, such as the confusing naming of the three video tracks as `background' tracks, and the need to press Shift with Play to play the entire timeline (or maybe I was missing something).

The fun features still seem to be present but I didn't check them out with this new version: time lapse, stop-motion (for animations, which some will love) and 3D.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
WARNING: Corel software sneaks PSIKEY spyware onto your computer, causing the system to run slowly. PSIKEY will not be uninstalled even if you uninstall your Corel products. Instructions are available on the Internet to perform a manual uninstallation.
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My setup
ATI Radeon3000 Graphics, AMD Phenom 11X4 965 Quad Core CPU 8mb 3.40 Ghz16 Gig Ram DDR3, PSU ATX 12v P4 750W

No problems installing this. Upon booting up it came up with registration which you have to give your email address to take advantage of Updates, Community support, Help, etc and a little video tutor pops up but you get a printed quick start guide and a full printed manual anyway in the box.

The Interface looks pretty much the same as before in X4 and in new features there is HTML5 and all you need to do is export your project as an HTML folder. Creating an HTML5 web page is very easy without any previous programming experience.

When using HD content its much more smoother now then the previous version

A problem did pop up as regards one of the plug ins, the NewBlue video essentials pack that was suppose to be included with this package had the serial number missing so I tried to contact them but kept going round in circles so gave up in the end. The help screen didn't help either it came up as the OOPPS blank page you get when you go to a web site thats not finished properly or some other problem. I tried the FAQ too but its full of pages and pages so tried a search for my problem but it didn't come up with a solution. You can't email them without going through this process first but I still couldn't email them after trying a search, I just don't like this practice at all.

One problem for me was the voice over feature I couldn't get it to play sound from the original video while overdubbing which is a pain if you need to do a voice over on a musical performance video to keep it in sync.

The included Winzip programme proved to be a nuisance. Had to contact winzip
Twice on this issue trying to fix an activation problem and still awaiting a fix from them but the main program is the main thing here.

The video titler proved to be a great feature with lots of styles and variations to choose from and again very easy to use as I didn't need the manual to use this feature either.

In all fairness the program worked fine most of the time and I have noticed a big increase in video FXs since the last version which is a big improvement, its more easier to use too I managed to do most things without referencing the manual apart from using the Chroma Key feature which was a little fiddly to get used to but well worth it for the results. For the asking price and anyone wanting to get into video editing for the first time its ideal and at the same time competitive with other video editors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This package provides enough to keep the budget-conscious home-video maker very happy. It provides all the usual features of video editors at this price, and presents the process in an easy one-two-three method. You get the following things in the box: two software DVDs (the second DVD is "the Ultimate Pack" DVD), a WinZip Pro licence, a getting started guide, and a user guide (also now as PDF). The previous version - X4 - contained almost identical items, but though it lacked the second DVD, it did include 3D glasses. The box does not shout about HD, as every

The first DVD includes the product, Apple QuickTime and Adobe Flash (though there are newer versions online). All the extras are now on a second DVD, and includes ProDAD RotoPen, ProDAD Vitascene v2 LE, ProDAD Mercalli SE, and Boris Graffiti 5.4. Installation is easy, but takes a little while to copy all the files over. Before you do anything after installing, I suggest you download the VideoStudio SP1 patch. It fixes quite a few bugs, and makes the whole thing more stable. For the record, X4 also had an SP2 patch.

There are a few reasons to upgrade. The main one is multi-core processor support, which speeds up the whole package, though the native 64-bit mode I was hoping for isn't here. Also new is HTML5 output. This enables you to apply attributes to videos, titles and graphics, add cue and chapter points, and so on, for better integration of videos into web sites.

Screen capture is new. There are many such tools available, but this one is integrated into the package, and so makes importing video (with voice-overs) a bit easier. DVDs may now be burned directly from ISO files, as can DVD subtitles. There are a few other minor changes, but that's what you get in this version. Also make sure you have enabled hardware acceleration in Preferences. It is switched off by default!
As with many packages these days, you have to register to get part of the package. In this case registering gets you NewBlue Titler. It is just 39MB but takes an age to download.

The software interface is almost identical to that in X4, with just a few new menu items. It is divided into three main areas. At left you have the preview panel, where you may review your movie, picture or soundtrack; at right you have the tools panel, where you may organize your content, choose titles, transition effects, and so on; and across the bottom you have a traditional timeline, with a row for each item of media in the movie project. However, you may drag these parts where you want them. I prefer the preview window on the right, so I put it there. The interface uses a mixture of drag-and-drop and clickable toolbars for feature selection and editing. This can be a little confusing to the uninitiated, but with experience you soon get the hang of how it likes you to do things.

1-Capture, 2-Edit, and 3-Share...

"Capture" is impressive and easy to use. It can capture video from external devices, such as a camera or smartphone, capture from DV tape, or digital media. If you are interested in animation, it can also be used to capture stills during a stop-motion movie-making session. For example, if you are animating an object, connect the camera to the computer, and use this software to grab a sequence of stills. To help you, it keeps a ghost of the last still on the screen as an overlay, so you can set up the next frame. That's very handy!

"Edit" is where the complications are. To make best use of this software, you really need to spend time with it, and learn how to use the features. This is crucial. This is not something you can just muddle through. If you are looking for an idiot-proof bit of software that does everything for you (and inevitably doesn't do very much), then look elsewhere. Edit is complicated because it is where your movie is assembled, cut together, and refined. It therefore includes a range of transition effects, titles, and sounds. Having a good idea of what you want to create will help you. However, If you start a video project with no idea where you are going with it, this software offers "Instant Projects" to help you build a basic movie structure.

"Share" is where you may save your project as a DVD, a DV recording, video file, a sound file, an HDV recording, export to a mobile device, and so on. You may also upload directly to Vimeo, YouTube, Facebook and Flickr, and (new to X5) YouTube 3D. You may also, of course, create a DVD, Blu-ray, AVCHD, or BD-J disc. The DVD and Blu-ray wizards are fun to mess around with, offering chapter points and a menu editor. The wizards also include a preview mode, with on-screen remote control that you may use to interact with the menus you have created, to see if they work as you expected.

"Corel Guide" provides a range of tutorial videos. These are very useful, and now don't have the intrusive background music that ruined them in X4. It also offers a range of downloadable video titles, sounds, templates and tools, some of which cost extra. I like this feature, but I've seen so many things like it over the years, which are never updated by the manufacturer, and soon become pointless. If Corel keeps adding to it, it'll be handy, but I am not optimistic.

Overall it's a great package for the money, and offers a few nice reasons to upgrade from X4. It gets your videos, sounds, and pictures into the project with ease, provides many ways to make a movie look great, does plenty on the export and disc-writing side, and comes with a decent manual. It beats the overpriced Avid Studio, but doesn't quite match my favourite - the more powerful Magix Movie Edit Pro MX Plus - both of which I have reviewed here on Amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)