Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2009
Buy this book if you admire people who walk the walk. This book i have had for two years now and I continue to go back to beceause it moves me, inspires me and reminds me there are others like me who are living lightly on the earth and doing it with such grace and beauty that It has to be the right way of living. Simply wonderfull and has blessed my life since its day of purchase thankyou Bill Coperthwaite for giving this to the world.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
This is a beautiful book, written to be read by a lake, in solitude - quietly and thoughtfully. Lovely photos and inspiration from the usual sources - Gandhi, the Nearings, Ruskin and Thoreau. A must for anyone building a library on simple living, handcrafting and dreaming of peaceful existence. Drift away.......
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
The most inspiring book I have come across in a long time.
Here we can find some simple and holistic answers to the desperate situation of our modern consumer society.
It covers a wide range of social, environmental and spiritual aspects, e.g. the
futility of joyless learning in schools. He also points out the importance of loving the work we do and not just working to earn money.
The author shows deep respect for nature as well as indigenous people and their sustainable life.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
A book of inspiration and encouragement! A book that moves those who already live as simply and naturally as possible. Wish i could have known this book earlier! Ever since buying the first copy, i have been buying more copies to give to people who are on the path searching for meaning in this unsustainable society where greed is regarded as need.

It is the best 'dish' i have enjoyed in many years that i can't help going back to enjoy it often. More importantly, it is up to each of us to make a change by starting from small things in our lives that eventually big snowballs will form.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
This is a man who has lived his life in service of those around him. He walks his talk and is a real inspriation. Well worth reading to show us all that there are alternative ways to live a fuller and more rewarding life
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
This is Mr Coperthwaites philosophy on life and handmade objects rather than any kind of a craft instruction book. It is an engaging read, I had hoped for some more craft detail, which there wasn't a lot of, but nonetheless an interesting, thought (and hopefully action!) provoking and beautifully produced book. If you are interested in alternative lifestyles, craft as opposed to mass production and appreciation of your fellow humans on this journey then this is the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Amazing book: inspiring, thoughtprovoking, beautiful pictures. Like all Chelsea Green publishings: highly recommendable! Buy this yourself and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
More of a philosophical treatise than a practical guide.
However, I enjoyed it non the less. Just wish I was in a position to put the ideas into practice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
lot of money for such a small book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)