Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
74
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2012
This short prequel to The King's Concubine is like a perfect starter dish - wanting more but able to wait for the bigger dish! Written in first person, it is full of atmosphere, easily written (no long-winded words or paragraphs) and leaves you with that lovely feeling that you can actually see and feel the characters. Anne O'Brien's talent lies with bringing to vivid life the lesser-known characters around such giants as Edward III, yet they are the ones who played such vital roles. All Anne's books have this thread and I can't recommend her books enough for lovers of historical fiction, especially for those who, like me, like to know more about the other 'players' that were around.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This short story prequel to the soon to be published The King's Concubine, sets the scene for the early years of the reign of Edward III, and his marriage to Philippa of Hainault.There's also some useful background information to the feud between Edward, and his mother's lover, Lord Mortimer.
This is a period of history I know very little about, so it was very useful to have a bit of background information, in readiness for The King's Concubine. The story is a quick read, I read it over just a couple of hours, and even though it doesn't go into too much detail, it still reaches a satisfying conclusion, and leads very nicely into The King's Concubine.

This is good taster of the style of books that Anne O'Brien writes so well....and I do so like a bargain !!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Even though this was only a short story covering the dangerous period of Edward III's reign when he was crowned king with no power, it was an interesting read. Once again being transported to this time and feeling the danger Edward and Phillipa were in. It showed their feelings of being stage managed by Mortimer and Queen Isabella. Of being short of money and surrounded by Mortimer's spies. Edward must have felt between rock and a hard place. Having to sign his uncle Kent's death warrant, to have Mortimer captured and tried and found guilty of treason and for him to suffer the most awful death. Edward must have known that his actions would break his mother's heart although with time and Phillipa's help they would come together again as history tells us that Isabella spent lots of time with Edward, Phillipa and all her grandchildren. How must he have felt knowing that his father was alive and that by his actions, Edward II would be banished to the shadows forever. A short story but lots of content. Another Anne O'Brien triumph.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2015
This is a prequel to “The Kings Concubine” and is the story surrounding the early days of marriage of King Edward III and Philippa of Hainault. Although Edward is King, the Dowager Queen Isabella and her ruthless love Lord Mortimer still hold the purse strings and make Philippa beg for every penny that she needs.
The story begins with Philippa heavily pregnant with their first son (who would become Edward the black prince). Unhappy as to how his mother and Lord Mortimer are taking control of the country, Edward decides that he has to take matters into his own hands and save England from their hands.
A really enjoyable read which has made me want to read “The King’s Concubine” to pick up the story of Phillipa and Edward again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
I have read a lot of Phillipa Gregory and Jean Plaidy but I hadn't come accross Anne O'brien before so it was good to be able to read this short story for free. I'll be ordering The Kings concubine
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
I've been reading (and loving) historical novels written by Anne O'Brien, particularly The King's Concubine. This book is about the same character's path in history and I thought it might be interesting to read another take on events, but this prequel didn't grab me enough to make me want to buy the whole book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Book is well written but unfortunately the history content is vague . Phillipa is u queen /YES and Edward loves her but as I am unfamiliar with that particular period of History I should need to further research the complete era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
This is a very short story detailing the young Queen Phillippa's view of her husband's earliest reign, as Edward III wrests power from his mother Isabella and her lover Mortimer.
Told in her usual first person style I'm afraid it doesn't grab your attention as well as it could, probably because of it's shortness! Interesting glimmers of the historical detail though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
it was a nice little short story to give an insight on Queen Phillipa before she became ill and her relationship with Edward. as i have said it was short and i wish it was a full novel because it had enough material to be so. i just wish it was longer.

this is a prequel to Kings Concubine and if you havent read it i suggest that you buy the two together.

Anne Obrien is a very talented writer and her historical accuracy combined with her ability to sotrytell creates very gripping stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
I have never read any of Anne O,Brien,s books but found to my delight that she was better than Phiylippa Gregary and easier to understand the story. She writes in normal language and I thoroughly enjoyed this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.