Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
65
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2014
I purchased Starlings on the basis that it contained a great cast. I knew absolutely nothing of what it was about, but it was good. So good I sat and watched the first disc all the way through without stopping. Disc two had a problem, but the matter was very swiftly dealt with by the seller, offering either a refund or a replacement DVD box set.

Four generations getting on fabulously under one roof. Brendan Coyle (Downton Abbey) and Lesley Sharp (Scott & Bailey) star as Terry and Jan Starling in this uplifting, funny and warm comedy-drama.
With their three kids still living at home; Charlie the football-crazy tomboy, Gravy the work-shy reptile enthusiast and Bell the recently separated eldest daughter, the Starlings house is already full to bursting. But now Granddad has been evicted from the old people’s home and there’s a birthing pool in the living room, ready for a brand new arrival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Absolutely loved this series, and actually missed the characters when it had finished. Essentially, it's about an extended family living in one house that's not big enough - and the lives of everyone within that house. It's made me laugh and cry.

There's not a lame character in this show, and wonderfully acted by everyone.

If you've not seen it, then you should.

I've been waiting 'forever' for series 2 to appear on DVD - why the delay? And I was genuinely upset when I heard that Sky had not commissioned another series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
This is one of the best DVDs of 2012 and very popular with friends I have shown it to here in New Zealand where it has not yet been shown on television. I see Season 2 has been shown on TV in England, finishing on August 20th. So why the delay in releasing it on DVD? Have pity on us colonials and release it soon!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
A wonderful show . A very good cast and storyline, very funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
My entire family has loved this gentle show about the Starling family, it's a nice contrast to the heavy, serious, screaming fare that's in fashion now. It's a welcome change of pace to see people who genuinely care for each other interact every week. Brendan Coyle & Lesley Sharp are wonderful, as per. I'm very glad Sky has renewed this show for a second series, can't wait to get the DVD.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Neither drama or comedy story line is weak
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Down to earth fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
What a delight! The characters are interesting, and it is so refreshing to watch a program where people actually care about each other. The situations represent real life interactions between husband and wife, parents and children, and siblings. Absolutely charming show to watch.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
How could you not like this family? They are real, quirky, ordinary and actually care about each other. This is the kind of character driven story that is so rare in television and film these days. It is refeshing to see a family that isn't deeply dysfunctional, hystrionic, or downright criminal potrayed on television. I don't watch much television or film because so much these days is at best trash and re-told trash. Starlings was engaging and enjoyable and I look forward to next season!
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Starlings (Series 1) is an 8-episode (about 45 minutes each episode) modern day drama/comedy about a large family (The Starlings) whose members have been brought together due to various circumstances.

It is funny and entertaining, but it also has a serious dimention to it. All the characters are excellent actors, likeable and play their part to perfection.

It is a 'light' drama, in which all family members genuinely care and have affection for one another despite the differences in their ages and degree of maturity.In the first or second episode, we see ALL the family sitting at the dinning table and enjoying a meal and socialising together, a scene rarely observed in TV dramas these days.

The pace of each episode is fairly slow, giving the viewer enough time to get to know and identify with each character.

Starlings is highly watchable giving one the 'feel good' factor at the end of every episode. One thing that irritated me as I was watching it on TV ( Sky 1 )was the interuptions making way for the adverts/commercials, but owning the DVD will elliminate this problem.
I sincerely hope and look forward to Series 2. Excellent Drama/Comedy ! Highly recommended !
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)