Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2016
Great to the point facts about World War One flows really easy to read and increased my knowledge of the war great read unfortunately very sad when you think of the loss of lives for the sake of a wrong turn by a driver
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
This book is a concise version of key events before, during and after the war. There are many facts I didn't know and I recommend it for those who want to learn these key moments.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
VERY GOOD BOOK COVERING ALL THE MAIN POINTS, AND EXPLAINING EVERYTHING VERY CLEARLY. VALUE FOR MONEY. WOULD BUY ANOTHER TITLE.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
This is a fantastic and quick summary of the main points of WW1. Anyone needing a wee reminder of this crucial piece of history should definitely consider this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
A very useful quick-read overview.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
I don't think there is a better and quicker way to learn about the WW1.I recommend this book to anyone passionated by fast story telling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2012
The History in an Hour series are proving to be very good at concise introductions to individual, large subjects, and so it is with World War One. Most people know a little about the trenches and the horrific slaughter but how many have heard of the devastating Iraq campaign or how many thousands of troops were stationed in Greece doing not a lot except making their presence felt so Greece would stay on the Allies side?

There are brief dips into the war at sea, in the air and how a young Winston Churchill was the prime mover of the disastrous Gallipoli campaign. The place were this book excels is right at the beginning as it explains why people wanted Arch Duke Ferdinand dead, how his driver's wrong turn presented the assassin with opportunity and the quick slide into war as countries were drawn in by commitments of mutual defence made in treaties signed long ago.

This is a top flight book which gives you the strategic overview of the war to end all wars, if only that last phrase were true. At the end of the book there is a brief biography of major personalities involved in the war and a chronology of events.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
Very insightful reading but also lightweight, makes a great introduction to events from 100 years ago. I would like to see more debate about the ending of the campaigns
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 August 2014
As would be expected from the title, this book is a simple and straightforward account of the history of World War One.

Any historical account that renders years of complex conflict into one hour of reading is, by definition, going to have to take a few short cuts and render the complicated simple.

But is this a problem?

In this case I think not. The aim of this book seems to be to provide a simple narrative that allows the reader to grasp the way in which the events of the war developed, without have to wade through pages of fine print analysis.

In my opinion, this book would be an excellent “first read” about WW1, giving the reader enough of a framework to move on to move complex studies. If you are like me, I much prefer to know (vaguely) where I am going when I read history – and I wish I had read this book before I had ventured into some of the longer ones I have read.

In summary, a simple introduction, which given the current memorial events deserves to be widely read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse