Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2017
Maybe the first Lady of Rockabilly but not the best. She is good but a lot of her songs sound like different versions of the same thing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Amazing never heard of her before I heard a song from an advert so googled it so I ordered this cd and now listen to it all the time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As even the writer of the booklet notes acknowledges, Wanda Jackson was born to be a country singer and spent much of her life doing just that. However, this double CD focuses primarily on her rockabilly music of the late fifties, although even on this compilation, there are some tracks that are obviously country, prime examples being her early sixties country hits Right or wrong and In the middle of a heartache, and her covers of Making believe and Just call me lonesome. There is certainly more country here than the title led me to expect. I love hearing Wanda, whatever she sings, but if you really don`t like country, you might want to look for a different compilation of Wanda's rockabilly music.

This collection contains the rockabilly tracks most associated with Wanda, including Let's have a party and Fujiyama Mama, as well as covers of classic songs of the era such as My baby left me, Lonely weekends, Stupid Cupid, Kansas City, Brown eyed handsome man and Long tally Sally. There are also plenty of less familiar songs.

The liner note writer suggests that ultimately Wanda will be remembered mainly for her rockabilly music rather than her country music. I'm not sure about that, but while I hope she is remembered for both, I wonder how much she will be remembered at all, as she never quite achieved the commercial success that her talents deserved This compilation and others show that she deserves to be remembered by country and rockabilly fans alike.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wanda Jackson, usually known as the First Lady of Rockabilly is someone always well worth listening to. This double cd pack includes fifty of her songs, and the sound quality is very good on all of them. Mainly this showcases her Rockabilly music, but also there are Country and Western, and more straight Rock'n'Roll on here as well.

The sleeve insert has information on Wanda, but it opens up and can be displayed as a poster, although it would need some 'ironing' to get out the crease marks. Even with songs that we know already sung by others, are made Wanda's own, with her distinctive voice. If you love great music, then this should be in your collection.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
great collection, not a bad song on it. Nicely presented, as a surprise bonus it has a fantastic fold out poster, if you fancy adding a touch of old school glamour to your home
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Arrived earlier that expected, packaging excellent. As always everything was top notch. Can't fault anything.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
Wanda Jackson is one of those neglected early stars of rock and roll. She's billed as the queen of rockabilly which is really a relatively modern term. In the early days, it was just rock and roll before all the various genres. This collection shows the range of her material from rockin' dance music to straight-ahead country. The only drawback for me is her voice which you would think would be stronger when you consider her contemporaries -- such as Brenda Lee and Patsy Cline. But that is minor when you consider the whole collection. I couldn't help but think she could have devoted more to blues such as Mean Mean Man which is a winner all by itself. Her classic Right Or Wrong has been covered by many artists who all followed her original. For music history buffs, this album is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Well pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)