Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2012
Whitney houston was a great singer in life and i wanted to read about her trouble married to bobby brown ,
this bio does not go into great detail about her drugs use or her life in the 2000s.
dissapointing book that starts well but ends poorly,no major information about her drug use or her divorce from brown ,i have given it 3 stars because of the start of the book but i did not enjoy reading the book....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Absolutely loved the book. It acknowledged hard times and brilliant times in Whitney's life. It didn't slaughter her about her drug use and it didn't applaud her massively. The book suited a legendary singer, it told the story how it should be told. Honestly and spectacularly top respect to the writers and editors! 1963-2012 Rip Whitney Houston
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
This is a really well put together book with a lot of detail about the life of the greatest diva, Whitney Houston.

The book starts by going right back to the origins of Whitney's grandfather, which at first, it felt that this information wasn't relevant, however, still interesting. It then goes deep into Cissy Houston's (Whitney's mother)personal and professionl life leading into and the birth of Whitney and the begining of her amazing career.

This book doesn't hold any oppinions towards the star, which I think was a very good approach. It only repeats quotes from media articles and those around Whitney throughout her career and turbulant personal life.

My only criticism is that the book seems to end very suddenly once it reaches the mid 2000's. In comparison, the first half of the book is very in depth in her begginings whereas (although included) it would have been interesting also to read in more detail about her life after divircing Bobby Brown, leading up to the release of her latest album 'I Look To You'.

Besides that, a great and easy read for any major fan of Whitney. Highly recommended.

Enjoy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
I am surprised to be the first reviewer considering the uproar surrounding her death. This book is comprehensive but really the author has just laid his hands on every single article or interview about Whitney and repeated the contents. Her early family background was interesting but the author failed to get any new information from the inner circle who really knew her. One thing that emerged was that her mother, an unfulfilled gospel singer, was really living vicariously through her daughter and this may have been behind some of her difficulties. Also Whitney's public persona was not her real self so she must have had to live with the strain of always putting on a public face. She also came over as someone who did not have much intellectual capacity and was not middle class but had to act as though she did. We really need to have a much better biography of the late great and one and only Whitney Houston that reveals who she really was.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
This book is very well written and a book I found sad. I say sad, because Whitney activated her self destruct button, so to speak. Whitney was clearly a major star who was loved by many. However, this clearly wasn't enough for Whitney, which makes me sad for her and the people she sadly left behind.
I highly recommend this book if you loved Whitney as I did.
Finally, Whitney, I hope you rest in everlasting peace xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
I thought this book concentrated on Whitney's mum (how she herself started her music career) and Whitney's early days too much.

I found it disappointing how it skimmed over the last few years and would like to have heard more about the 'come-back' that she has made.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Thought a good book felt a bit was missing over how she got into drugs was Bobby the one she looked up to for the drug thing and sadly what happened ,why did she die ? A lovely lady with so much left to give
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
Who could guess the tragedy mother-daughter? This book was written in 2009 and added some pages in 2012, but it's clear that it's not the book that tells all, and every phase of Whitney in detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
This tended to centre on her work and records she had made. I would have liked it less work oriented and more personal information instead. I found it quite light holiday reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
Needed to know in detail his life, his first steps, success and decline. I think it is written impartially and you learn the facts of his life that led to his tragedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)