Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2014
Ok so i don't know what i was expecting when i read this. I absolutely loved 'In times of Violence', the book that came before this, and when i found out there was a sequel i never knew about i couldn't wait to buy it to further the story.
Here is what i thought {SPOILER ALERT}

-I found it really depressing to think our main characters from the first book lived their lives basically living in fear inside their houses and turned into really depressing people. I know people grow and change but considering we knew them so well from the first book i was really disappointed in Jade's character who has turned into this controlling, horrible woman.
- i found it super depressing that Jade's son from the first book died. That kid made gave me something to root for when the first book ended and his dad died. it was what made it ok that he died.
-The main character in this book i didn't love so much. i found her reckless and stupid. The whole thing about taking drugs to be knowledgable is pretty stupidly done and the way she is happy to put herself down for a guy is ridiculous and that part isn't even for her cover, she is being serious.
- i also didn't like the way Jade and Marcus's friends turned out. I Can't remember their names, but the other couple who stayed in london. they used to be kind, loving people who supported Jade and Marcus and now they're druggies who act really immature.

I don't know if i was better off reading the sequel or not. Maybe my mind would have been better at rest imagining what happened to the characters of the first book, but as a stand alone book if i had known nothing of the first book, it wasn't bad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Sophi wants revenge for the death of an uncle and infiltrates a gang of bikers known as The Wolves. She gets much more than she bargained for including falling in love with the vice president. Can she carry out what she intended or is she in too deep and too loyal to betray them?

I really enjoyed this book as it was gritty and dark with a fast pace. I ended up reading it over a couple of days because I couldn't put it down. The author truly knew her subject and was able to weave a great tale to keep the readers involved in the plot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
I absolutely loved this book especially as it was a follow on from In times of violence tied them up together really well
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
Out for answers and more importantly revenge. The best laid plans can sometimes have some unusual results..... Brilliant sequel to In Times Of Violence
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2016
Ok it took my way longer than it should have done to read this book, but man am I glad I finally did! It kicks off straight away with the first couple of paragraphs pulling you in and you’ll want to carry on reading.
By the end of the first chapter we’ve gotten background on the MC and her family and understanding what’s driving her. We’ve got drugs, betrayal and violence all in the first few pages with the promise of more to come.
The story has a good pace to it, we don’t just skip from one month to the next with no knowledge of what’s happened, we get great scenes which tells us what’s happened in just enough a detail that doesn’t leave us begging for more and doesn’t drag – and moves the story on a great pace.
One of the things I loved is that when we start seeing a relationship being built, we see it being built – there’s lust, there’s passion, there’s “dates”. It’s not just straight into an unrealistic “I love you” kind of relationship that’s often seen in books.
I’m not an expert of the nature of bikers and bikers clubs, but I do know a few people in them, and this story seems to have them spot on for the clubs that don’t want to move on with the times, that are still stuck in the stone age when it comes to how they treat women, male superiority, living up to biker image and name, and the violence level is bang on.
Although I loved the story, I had one bug bear. The MC began to annoy me. She was willing to just let a man walk all over her, sleep with other men and treat her like shit. Some of the other things she lets him get away with were beyond disgusting – I know it was all for revenge, but I’d have like to have seen a bit more spirit in her – and then when the dad gets involved? *shuddering* I’d have liked to take the knife to! It’s so well written though that you can overlook the annoyance and just hope that she gets back to being a strong willed woman.
Seeing a different side to Buzz and his feelings about being a Wolf was an unexpected surprise, but a good one. It kept me hooked and wanting to read more to see what would happen and where the story line would go.
Given the choice between uncovering corruption, stopping murder, sending rapists to jail or staying with someone you love and in a family – seems like it would be an easy decision – but its plain to see through the writing of this story that it’s not as easy as we would like to think. And the story gets even more explosive than I thought was possible. Every word drawing you in, keeping you hooked, wanting to know what happens next with that feeling of anxiety in your chest that it’s all going to go wrong any second.
And then it ends and I want more! I want to read the next part in the story and find out what happens
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
I have to say that this isn’t my usual type of thing so I was slightly sceptical about reading it. However, I was gripped from start to finish! This is a thrilling tale of life in a violent criminal motorcycle gang and the book pulled no punches about the types of things that happen in that world (literally!) Sofi was one tough cookie and I do love a strong female protagonist. Her determination to get revenge for her family’s difficult history was well-written, although at times she did do things that made my mind boggle! There were a few things that happened in the book that seemed unrealistic to me, but it didn’t impair my enjoyment of the story at all and I can say I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Where to begin with this book??

I have not read any of the other books by Karina Kantas, but as it happens, I didn't have to. The name of this book intrigued me, considering the cover, which clearly identifies it as 'Biker Chick-lit' [for me anyway] I am delighted that I finally read it!

To begin with, I won't rehash the story, you can read that yourself, but be prepared for the write-up to be both accurate, but lacking! The story is FULL, and I MEAN IT, of feelz.

I loved the agonising emotions of heat, love, revenge, and doubt... Karina did a superb job in creating the feel for the environment but also the generous portions of twists.

I got MAD, I tell you, at the lead male and his stupid behaviour, but soon he crawled into my heart for reasons you will just have to find out!
I got ANNOYED at the lead female for her part in being the silliest woman I've come across in ages - but couldn't help swoon along with her!
The book is spicy, racy [and that includes the bike scenes!] which leaves you wanting more of the same.
There came a point where I screamed, and really wanted to throw the laptop around in pure frustration.... Really.

This book, while it is a MC Thriller, is also a romance that deals with the pitfalls of emotional clashes between loyalty for family, and loyalty to love.
It is fast paced [or maybe I just read it really fast because I loved it!] and the characters are developed with a healthy dollop of human nature.

If you are looking for a thrilling read, that includes the world of sordid affairs, sexy love and superb creativity - then I would STRONGLY suggest you pick this one up.

Thank you Karina for this wonderful read. Your clean, crisp and to the point style of writing is refreshing, and for someone as pedantic about reading material as I am, I couldn't ask for better!
xxx
Adri.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2017
The thing that comes across most is that the author certainly knows her subject matter and this meant the book felt very credible. There were times when I loved the kick-ass nature of the main characters, and times when I hated them and their behaviour...that said, I was invested in the story and wanted to get to the conclusion. On the whole, I enjoyed this book, however, there were instances when the subject matter made me uncomfortable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I've just read "Huntress" by Karina Kantas and what a ride!! Biker's won't be the only ones to enjoy this.
I just love this bit because its true of so many middle aged people. The young generation don't realise that their Mums and Dads were also young once.
"My father was a property developer. He spent his time sitting behind a desk, dressed in a shirt and tie. I never once saw him get his hands dirty. To think of him aged 20 greased up, tinkering with a motorbike was absurd. Yet he used to be a bad-arse biker and president of a violent gang. It was as though another world existed aside from the one I lived in, and the more I turned the pages of the book the more I wanted to experience this world. And Mum, the apron-wearing housewife; once a biker's tart, caught in a love triangle. Tragedy strikes and the lover is killed. Jeez, if I didn't know Clay better, I would have said he made the whole thing up. But proof was sitting on the table beside my makeshift bed, and the camera never lies. This wasn't a one-shot deal, a Halloween fancy dress photo. Their lifestyle, the closeness of the brotherhood was evident in the way they stood, dressed, and the expression in each of the Bikers' faces. They were proud of who they were and happy to live the life they did. I tried to imagine what life as a member of the Tyrants was like. I wondered what had happened to the 21 other members. Had they tried to cling to the image and lifestyle, like Beth and Clay? Or had they all turned into family men like my dad?" GET THIS BOOK ITS A GREAT READ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
This is the second of Karina's books I have read (I read Lawless Justice at the end of last year) and when I get through a few of the books on the shelf (I buy them faster than I read them) i'll certainly get another. I'm not going to write a review that gives away the storys ending but generally the book is about a young female journalist who infiltrates an outlaw biker gang to get revenge for her uncles murder. It is well written and descriptive, you can almost imagine being there and is the type of book thats is very easy to read and hard to put down. I will definately be reading more of her books in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here