Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2014
What's to say? It's awash with typos, skims lightly over topics, contains a lot of shameless plugs and even contains some authorial misconceptions ( my favourite was 'man functions a lot like less' - it should; man uses the less pager to display info) that said it is very easy to understand and it's very cheap - well thats why you're looking at it right?

As a linux user of some 6 years, I bought this book as a light reading alternative to a real jargon brick of a book I'm working on. The writing style is verycleR to new users and covers a broad range of commands.

Where this book falls down is in it's content. It's all over the place - lengthy detailed description of how to change file and directory ownership, almost just a casual nod to installing software. The author clearly wrote the book to sell a book, but it feels like a 1st draft. The author skims some parts because he doesn't have a full comprehension of the answer. I see he has an ubuntu guide, so my guess is there's almost nothing on package management because he doesn't know RPM, Yum (wow that read like a wikipedia first paragraph) or Yast.

This could easily be a 5* book, but the author has not put the effort in to plan it out. I did notice his categories are in the same order as a couple of lpi texts, so I figure the structure was lifted from another text. Could really do with rethinking from a beginners perspective.

All in all i enjoyed the read. It was a refresher for me and i completed it in 6 days of commuting. That said the only new thing I learned was the apropos command, but then it's the same as man -k which i did know but isn't covered. I suppose that's it; this is a great guid for understanding what a command is used for. You just might not always get told how to use it.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Well written and ideal for someone new to Linux as it leads you gently into the topic and is not full of jargon.
At this price it is good value for money. Similar information can be found on the internet for nothing but it's much better to have this on your kindle so you can refer to it when trying out the commands.
You have nothing to lose by buying this !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
The time I spend using this as an information resource is very well spent and the guide proves itself time and time again...read it and use it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Readable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Explains key commands, and options/switches, in an easy to use way. Deliberately leaves out details that won't be of use and might confuse a beginner, these can always be looked up in the man files (see the book) or googled but the key information of what commands exist and where to start is extremely useful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Written really well. It is great for people who want to become more familiar with the command line, or who are just starting.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
I really liked the style of this book. It deals with a geeky subject in a non-geeky way so it is easy to. It is a beginner's guide, not a reference manual, and its layout lends itself to that. Unfortunately there are quite a few typos which took the edge of some of the learning points.
Jonathan is not only a technical author but a novelist as well. He mentions that. That's fine but I thought adding a chapter of one of his novels to this book was going too far.
But for the price it is a worthy read for anyone needing an introduction to Linux command line.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
This is an essential purchase for anyone who wants to start using the terminal and wasn't sure where to begin. Whilst it doesn't cover everything it gives a good starting point.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
For less than £1 this is well worth purchasing. I found it a great help to get me started with the command line in puppy Linux.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 October 2015
I got this as I was frustrated with having to go through larger Linux books to find out simple commands. I have an understanding of several operating systems so were familiar with general concepts, but this little book did cover the main things required to get started with Linux. I will have to get other works to go deeper but at least now I am up an running. This is a good little starter book, for most varieties of Linux, especially that used in Raspberian with the Raspberry Pi. I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse