Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 9 September 2017
Long but fascinating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2011
This is one of a three box set,all great films you dont have to be religious to enjoy any of these films they are very entertaining,try them i think you will like them all.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2017
I have seen better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2017
Excellent opening view of the bible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2016
Arrived quickly and can't complain for the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2017
Its good DVD ,should be more clear
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2013
What a great DVD Three Bible Stories. We were glued to it right the way through, would recommend this to any one that likes these Biblical Stories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2013
My husband and I watch this together. We have discussion and share ideas during the film and its something that we hold dear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2017
not just very dated as expected but not even true to facts in the bible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 December 2006
This is an immense production, as befits such a broad scope of story as the whole of Genesis. The stars come thick and fast as you expect from a 60's biblical epic - Richard Harris, John Huston (who filled in when Charlie Chaplin declined the part of Noah), Franco Nero, Ava Gardner, George C Scott, amongst others. However the film covers so much varying ground, from a very long opening sequence of the earth being made with dramatic Stravinsky like music playing over it, to the intimate story of Abram and his wife Sara longing for a child after the time has passed when she can bear, only to be asked to give Isaac up to God, that there is little emotional impact. It's the last story (Abraham) which plays best as a movie, with effective performances and genuine story arc. The rest feels shoehorned in, with a slot given to Noah, a very short slot with Stephen Boyd (from Ben-Hur) building the Tower of Babel, Cain and Abel - the Genesis highlights as it were.

As noble as it seems to make the movie of the Bible taking as few liberties as possible (though rest assured, liberties are taken), the fact is a movie has to have a narrative that involves the viewer on some basic level - and that is where this movie fails, or at least only intermittently succeeds.

It's a grand undertaking, worth watching as a curiosity, but too overblown and all-encompassing to be a classic.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse