Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2014
Those who already know the writings of P. G. Wodehouse need no further introduction. Those who are unfamiliar with him should know that he was one of the best humorous writers in English in the 20th century. He was also one of the best writers of English. He always seemed to find the right word.

In his series of books about Bertie Wooster and his manservant Jeeves he created a collection of unforgettable characters. Bertie Wooster was a young man-about-town living on a private income. Wooster had been educated in Eton College, and at Oxford University, where presumably, like the sons of gentlemen, he obtained a pass degree. He invariable speaks in slang.
His manservant Jeeves invariably uses correct English like a schoolmaster, and one of the joys of Wodehouse is the contrast between the language of these two. Besides these are various formidable aunts who terrify Bertie, and nubile high-minded young ladies who have designs on him and who he cannot stand.
Fortunately it is in the interest of Jeeves to frustrate these young ladies to safeguard his own position. After fiendishly complicated plots, for which Wodehouse is famous, Jeeves rescues Bertie from their clutches.
Altogether to be recommended to old readers and new
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2017
simply brilliant. and nice quality paper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Most excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Just love Wodehouse - never fails to amuse
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
I lost interest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
The three books in this omnibus are: ‘Right Ho, Jeeves’, ‘Joy in the Morning’, and ‘Carry On, Jeeves’.

The first of these takes place at Bertie Wooster’s Aunt Dahlia’s country home. As ever there are complex relationships and quite a few people. Bertie determines to sort out his friends and their romantic entanglements, only to make things worse before his valet Jeeves, as ever, solves the problems.

‘Joy in the Morning’ mostly takes place in Steeple Bumpleigh, where Bertie’s least favourite aunt Agatha lives. This daunting lady doesn’t come into the story, but her second husband Percy does, as does his ward, whose nickname is Nobby. To add a bit of variety, Bertie is also plagued by the young teenager Edwin, who is in the Boy Scouts and determined to do ‘acts of kindness’ every day, whether or not the recipient wants him to…

All familiar stuff to those brought up on these stories, though perhaps bewildering to anyone unfamiliar with them. The humour is dry; I love it, but it won't appeal to everyone.

The final book of the three, ‘Carry On, Jeeves’, is a collection of short stories. Many describe incidents which were referred to in passing in one of the others. We discover, for instance, how Bertie was persuaded to give a speech (of sorts) at a girls’ school, how his Aunt Dahlia acquired the gifted cook Anatole, and how Bertie came to write an article for his aunt’s magazine.

I wondered if I would get a bit tired of the Wodehouse style reading three books in a row, but it didn’t happen at all. They make excellent bedtime reading, taking me back to a society that no longer exists. The plots are clever, if tending towards the ridiculous, and the dialogue between Jeeves and Wooster very enjoyable.

Highly recommended to anyone who likes this kind of satire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2008
Ref: Omnibus 1: This was, like many others have reported, a holiday read. Very simply this was very enjoyable and the stories flowed with ease. I am familar with the TV series so I could not get Fry and Laurrie's voices out of my head. This perhaps added to the ammusement and the general flow. All of them are far fetched and over the top but in good clean taste. The only draw back about this as a holiday read is the size and weight of the book. No regrets.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
As always, Wodehouse delivers a delicious, delectable, devilishly-observed slice of old English life. A true joy, and pure escapism. There is no hardship that cannot be eased, however temporarily, by slipping into Wooster's world, where the most trying problems are an unwanted engagement or intercepting a purloined notebook full of scandalous secrets.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2001
There is really nothing I can say about Jeeves & Wooster that hasn't already been said. The constant stream of startlingly original and side-splittingly funny similes, the dizzying complexity of the plots, the characters that you'd swear have been stolen from your own circle of acquaintances... three perfectly formed pearls of masterful comic writing. Aaaaaahhhhh.....
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse