Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
71
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.69
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2015
This is a fine delve in to the work of Proust and his life and how reinterpretation of it may be relevant for our own lives.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
not an easy read but i am sticking with it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
He's a great chap, Alain de Botton; and by contrast Proust is a weird fish: a man who never removes his fur coat and lives in his bed! De Botton's extrapolations of Proust's scribblings into the world of philosophy are considerably more interesting than the famous Frenchman's tedious, rambling novels; so rather than boring yourself senseless struggling with Marcel's meandering metaphors and wandering infinite sentences just read 'How Proust Can Change Your Life' instead. It's funny, informative and uplifting... and well written! JP :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 1999
This is a short, easy-to-read book -- which is good because it has very little to say and, if it were longer or harder, it wouldn't be worth the effort. I've never read Proust, but I have to imagine that his philosophy life wasn't as thin and banal as it sounds in Botton's description of it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
Alain de Botton is obviously a Proust fan. But reading this book made me sympathise with the reaction of publishers when La Recerche du Temps Perdu first appeared - that it was a self indulgent, overblown load of codswallop and that Proust himself was a neurotic, pathetic, hopeless individual obsessed with the details of the mundane.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2008
Insightful. Deffo going to read more of ADB's books. Comes at a different angle and solves a lot of modern day problems of living.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
I am not a good reader, but I should say that the first channel didn't get my full attention. For I while I put apart, hopefully I will continue reading it to have a better idea about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Lovely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 1998
One of the finest books I've ever read. Subtle, profound and very amusing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
If you have always fancied a bit of Proust, read this first. Its a guide book that will show you how to approach the old master!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse