Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2014
Let me start by saying this set is excellent value, I hadn’t seen any marvel animated stuff before this and the price of this made me take the plunge.

Marvel and DC are in an eternal battle for the audience, and while neither side would ever truly lose due to both owning incredibly popular intellectual property, their battles take place in the type of media they release and there are winning sides. In the live action movie world, Marvel edges ahead I think down to their impressively solid future planning, In the Live action tv series, Marvel again has triumphed with agents of shield, however in anything animated DC has rather easily surpassed anything marvel has done. These films are the clearest reminder yet of who wins in this arena, It doesn’t matter if the audience is for children or an older generation, there are better animated features out there.

Within this box set there is a range of quality, the Hulk vs episodes were good and did have that DC flavour to it as it portrays struggle well, and probably as a result of having a 12 rating. The clear and precise animation does not distract, the best animated films will make you forget it is animated whilst allowing for scenes not possible on a budget in live action. Planet hulk was good in a similar way, the irony is that the hulk animated films are the best here whilst in the live action arena the hulk films are the worst. (arguably due to its high quality peers)

The first avengers film I feel was the worst, with weird character art, a little bit of a dull story that didn’t really feel perilous or have a sense of sacrifice no matter how much they tried to say there was, and the animation was incredibly dodgy. It looked like a very cheap motion comics graphic engine that someone had sitting in their computer, and made no effort to invest in this movie.

Dr Strange I did find an interesting one, although a PG I felt like it had a mature theme to it of dealing with inadequacy, frustration and anger. It did fizzle out a bit towards the end but then I suppose it was too short a time to really have a full Dr strange story running along side his inception story.

To be really honest the others are quite forgettable, i watched them only 2 months ago but dont really remember any standout moments, the way i normally would with other animated movies.

As mentioned DC animated movies absolutely Excel over these. If you are looking for recommendations, check out the Dark knight returns part 1 and 2, Batman under the red hood, Wonder woman, and Batman assault on Arkham to name a few. All of those are not really suitable for young children however, if you do require something for that audience try the series young justice or green lantern both available on bluray from amazon.com. If marvel want to catch up, (and if they did they would dominate) they would have to invest in these avenues more by securing better animation teams and employ better story lines. The great thing about marvel is how secure their plans for future storylines are, so they should try to tie the animation line into this the same way that marvel agents of shield tied into the captain America films.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
This set is a great collection for the price paid and will keep my little avenger happy for a long time. the first film pretty much follows the plot of the recent Hollywood blockbuster but is shorter which is good for me as my little one got a bit bored waiting for anything to happen in it's larger screen version.

Top draw animated set
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Love Marvel and this was perfect to get some more out of the animation.
Only thing I weren't keen on was Dr Strange but the box came untouched, discs were in completely perfect condition and was pleased.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
The films in this set do vary in quality and you may like some more then others but having these films together in one set is easier then buying each one on it's own and is thus easier to store.

Each film is short usually about 70-80 minutes long so perfect if you've got a short attention span like me (oh look something shiny, where was I..........) and good I would imagine for showing to avengers obsessed kids (as a quick warning Doctor Strange may not be suitable for younger kids, you may want to watch it first to see if you think it will be suitable)you've got a lot of characters featured here, Iron Man (of course), Captain America, Thor, Loki, Hulk, Black Widow, Nick Fury, Giant-Man, Wasp, Wolverine, Doctor Strange (By the Hoary Hosts of Hoggoth), Black Panther and probably a few more I've left out (it's even got Beta Ray Bill for some reason), it's got enough variety to satisfy nearly every palate and even if you outright hate one of these films there is almost certainly something in this set to please.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 February 2017
8 animated Marvel movies. Ultimate Avengers sees the Avengers, Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Hulk, Black Widow, Giant Man and Wasp come together to stop an alien invasion. Not in the same league as the live action movies but a fun animated adventure based on the Ultimates comics and true to its comic book roots with some good superhero action. Ultimate Avengers 2 sees the team joined by Black Panther in Wakanda for a rematch with the aliens. A fun sequel again with good action. Invincible Iron Man sees the origins of Iron Man who is in China and accidentally awakens the spirit of the long dead Mandarin. Perhaps the weakest film in the set but it does have its moments. Doctor Strange sees the origins of the sorcerer supreme. Fun film close to the comics. Planet Hulk sees Hulk exiled by The Avengers to another planet where he has to fight in an alien gladiator arena. Based on the graphic novel, it's a very enjoyable film, one of the best in the set with good action. Hulk Vs is a double bill of short films seeing Hulk in Asgard fighting Thor and also back on Earth against Wolverine. Deadpool makes an appearance in this one. Another of the better Marvel films with good action. Tales Of Asgard sees a young Thor and Loki with the Warriors Three fighting Frost Giants. Very enjoyable animated adventure. The Next Avengers the final film in the set, sees the children of Captain America and Black Widow, Ant Man and Wasp, Thor, Black Panther and Hawkeye team up against Ultron who has taken over the world. Better than it sounds with good action and appearances from Iron Man, Hulk and Vision and actually probably the best film here. While not as good as the live action films or the Marvel animated series of the 90's this is still a fun set of animated films worth checking out for Marvel fans. Ironically while The Incredible Hulk was the weakest live action Marvel Cinematic Universe movie for me, here the two animated Hulk movies are two of the best animated movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
I am a marvel fan and having 9 animed movies all in one boxsit as me happy about this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
I just have seen two movies but they were very good

Jonas, 12 years from Sweden
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
this was a good buy happy with it and arrived quicky too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
Excellent collection of my son's favourite characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
bought as present , looks good, arrived on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse