Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
28
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2017
I usually love Johnny Depp films the reason I bought this is I seen he was in it but I didn't fall in love with this as I usually do with his movies, although the acting is good and it has some touching moments the story just isn't for me but still glad I seen it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
Didn't not work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2007
Despite what others have said about this film, it does have meaning... lots of it! This film reflects the feelings and ideas of the American Dream and the dreams of the imagination.
The film begins with a quirky, surreal-feel that continues through the first half. But matures into a gritty-realism in the 2nd.
Johnny's character struggles to decide between the destiny provided for him in his hometown or the destiny he dreams of. He's happy working with fish in the big city. But there's also the pressure of assuming his role as a car salesman. Enter: a widow and her daughter. One wants to die and come back as a turtle. The other wants to fly... desperately. Will they achieve this with Johnny's help? This starts the process of helping and hindering dreams. Watch them rise and fall, stop and start from here on.

This is a really interesting piece of film-making... don't miss it!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2004
I love this film. This is the first film that I've seen by director Emir Kusturica, and I found it visually astounding, it was like watching a moving surrealist painting. The entire cast was excellent. This is Johnny Depp's third film, following Edward Scissorhands, and you get an initial peek at the range of his acting ability, he's superb in this. The film has a very European feel to it, that's just lovely. If you like to push the envelope, don't miss this film.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2004
This is a particular favourite of mine, with a hypnotic, dreamlike quality pervading the twisted humour in an utterly unique film. Johnny Depp, Faye Dunaway and Lili Taylor are fantastic, but the film is almost stolen by the excellent Vincent Gallo. I have been recommending this film to almost anyone who'd listen for years but reluctant to lend them my old VHS copy so now it's out on DVD get it, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2001
This film manages to detach you from hard solid life in a way previously only possible if you sleep, or inhale deeply. Over two hours of visual and aural bliss - it's a brilliant brew of dream sequences which left me floating for days. Just let go, relax and open yourself to this masterpiece. BRILLIANT
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2000
This is not a film for the blockbuster viewer. No, it is not because it is 'arty' and meaningful, but it is cooky. Which is great! The music is FANTASTIC and the unusual love story refreshing. Watch out for the attempted suicide sceene go wrong. Hilarious at times, it strikes a cord, if you can suspend questions such as 'why is there a fish flying over the dessert?'
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2007
A wonderfully comic and emotionally real film, with superb performances by Faye Dunaway, Johnny Depp and Vince Gallo and Jerry Lewis. Kustirica's invention and magic realism make this film a visual and imaginative pleasure.
The film opens with a dream about an Alaskan Inuit lost in a snowstorm and closes with Depp and Lewis, dressed in furs, in Alaska, speaking to each other in Inuit - in between, the film takes place in New York and Arizona with symbolic linking of the real and dream places via a flying halibut, the moon and an Alaskan husky dog.
The story itself, of a young man (Depp) who is dragged back to his hometown for his uncle's wedding (Lewis)to a woman half his age, is unexpectedly tender. His uncle is disappointed that he will not buy into his American Dream by refusing to follow his footsteps as a Cadillac salesman and even more disappointed when Depp falls in love with an older woman(Dunaway) to the jealous annoyance of her step-daughter (Lilli Taylor). It is a film about a young man finding out who he is and how to become that person: a film about growing older and about death.
Don't be put off by some of the reviews - it is not a Hollywood film, but for anyone who admires Kustarica's films or intelligent, imaginative films in general, it is a real treat. Bonus material includes an extended interview with the producer and Johnny Depp made 10 years after the film was released in 1993 and a 12 minute deleted scene.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
I love this film. I'm collecting all Johnny Depp films. There are some very different themes but brilliant acting. Such a shame
the critics have it in for him. The commercial films do not do him justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)