Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2017
Interesting that this hasn't gotten itself a wider audience. And to be fair, I didn't watch it until it showed up on Amazon Prime. It could perhaps have achieved a wider audience if it was aimed at the 'Occupy' demographic, but it isn't particularly. It's lucid, erudite and not formed in haste. The interviewed participants aren't exclusively no-name professors from the Buttcrack college of getting noticed, they are pukka people relevant to the issue under discussion. And ne'er a Trot amongst 'em, unless you'd put Chomsky in that pen. The apocalyptic title is mainly to provide a format for the film but you may think it's not too far wrong at the end.

I wholeheartedly recommend watching it and making your own mind up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Some serious subjects here and some very interesting ideas, while I don't agree with it all, the system is failing a lot of people. I particularly liked the bit about wiping world debt, everyone keeps what they have and lets start from zero again like Germany in 1947. Great idea as at the rate we are going its not the housing bubbles that will burst its nations, the next bubble is the Sovereign Debt bubble and when that bursts its going to be really painful and will make the credit crunch look like a picnic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
This would be a good film for everyone over the age of sixteen to watch, as it gives a solid summary of the economic minefield we currently live in.

Although the film scims at a necessarily high-level over many of the modern world's economic complexities, it provides a good background to some of the key problems we've got embedded in our financial apparatus, which it's important for everyone to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
What makes this documentary so good is its thought provoking, intelligent, measured and un-hysterical commentary on what is wrong with the world's economic system. This is not a socialist movie, or a conspiracy therorist movie, it is an evidence-based argument for major positive change in the world. Watch it and give it 5 stars so that more people will watch it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Fantastic and eye opening. Scary but enlightening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Very enlightening
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
I became interested in economics and politics after watching some documentaries, but I wanted to learn more. I wanted to know how the system actually works. This film does that and more. It informs you about the modern world we live in , how we have all been taken advantage of and how we could go about changing it. You don't have to know anything about economics or politics to understand this film, the facts are obvious; it is about power and money.
The film is set out in a very refreshing way, there are interviews with 23 world experts on finance and economics, and when any economic jargon arises there are intriguing animations to explain them clearly.
This film discusses how society has been distracted not to question the banks' practices, and compares the western empire to previous empires in history and how we are seeing the tell-tale signs for the beginning of the end.
The film doesn't just talk about "banking" as the problem to the economy and the people, but also how resources, "terrorism", the military/industry complex and so on, all link to together to serve the corporations and governments.
The most interesting part of this film for me personally, was the part on Fiat money; this is the way most currencies in the world works. It allows banks to generate money from thin air and then charge interest which has lead to the de-evaluation of money, which causes inflation and again expands the rich poor divide.
Honestly, I think this is one of the best documentaries I have watched. It is a great foundation to learn about the systems we have created and how they are now failing. Extremely informative, witty, engaging but frightening as well.
The DVD also contains extras such as the making of the film and interviews.
"Don't ask for change, Demand it."
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
This film is such a thorough and well presented look at the current world situation and what to do about it that I have been fired up to talk about it and get it seen by as many people as I can. It is well balanced and well paced. The book is also excellent and fills in some of the holes. For example the film seems to imply that the returning to the gold standard would be a good thing but the book makes it plain that this is not what is being advocated.
Buy it, watch it, show it to your friends.
11 Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Condenses many of our crucial problems and makes them accessible for most people to understand. It's not perfect; guilty of (admittedly rare) emotional over-simplifications and sometimes should really delve deeper into things. But I think this is meant to be an introduction to many alternative ideas by, in particular, exposing the colossal flaws of our power structure (in particular, the inherent government sycophancy towards criminal corporations), and for that purpose, Four Horsemen is as good as anything.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse